Customer Reviews


165 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This IS the Director's Cut!
Just to let everyone know this is indeed the Director's Cut of Daredevil, and a nice release it is too.

Matt Murdoch is a morale driven lawyer in New York by day, but at night he transforms into a superhero, Daredevil, a man guided by sound alone, as he lost his sight during a toxic accident as a child. He's in love with Electra, but he has to make things...
Published on 30 July 2009 by DL Productions UK

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marvel still on form
Before i went to see this film i was a bit sceptical about the thought of Ben Affleck being this type of character, he just never seemed suited to it. I was wrong however as he played the role very well, even the blind bits. In fact, all of the actors played their parts well, even though some like Jennifer Garner (who is sooooooooooo fit) as Elektra and Michael Clark...
Published on 10 May 2003


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This IS the Director's Cut!, 30 July 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Daredevil [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Just to let everyone know this is indeed the Director's Cut of Daredevil, and a nice release it is too.

Matt Murdoch is a morale driven lawyer in New York by day, but at night he transforms into a superhero, Daredevil, a man guided by sound alone, as he lost his sight during a toxic accident as a child. He's in love with Electra, but he has to make things right before he can make things work between them. With the difficult task of staying anonymous, he has to fight crime, and stay a sympathetic lawyer during the day.

This is a fantastic director's cut of Daredevil, totalling 2hrs and 13mins in total. Yes, there are unecessary scenes in my opinion that don't really add much to the story, but the remastering, the sound and the atmosphere really does make this film worthwhile. Knowing blind people in my everyday life I bet they'd love to be Daredevil, and I think a bit of us all whether we've got partial sight or not, we really wish we had his sound perception.

The Blu-Ray is fantastic, simply, and the picture is very good, with 30MB/s average. The 5.1 mix is actually terrifying at times because it's like it was happening in your living room. I also enjoyed the featurettes, and the commentaries with Mark Steven Johnson. There's also quite a lot of music video on this, 3 in total and a look at the music of Daredevil. Really this BD disk is packed to the very edge with goodies and I reckon you can easily spend 4 hours in total with the disk.

Impressive on all counts, shame we didn't get audio description, especially as it's about a blind superhero!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The DD Perfect Cut, 22 Jan. 2007
By 
This review is from: Daredevil (Director's Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
The reason for Marvel's success was because Stan 'The Man' Lee (the man reading the paper at the crossing in the film) attempted to put his super heroes in the real world. His readers were able to get to know and understand his characters, they did have feelings and they did tend to get hurt against the baddies. Marvel heroes spent most their time outside their costumes, because at the end of the day they had real lives to lead and being a super hero would no doubt complicate issues much further.

As an old Marvel fan I was somewhat disappointed with the first film. It got DD on the big screen so it was worth watching, but it didn't do this character any real justice. The Directors Cut, however, does. I debated whether it was worth paying the extra shekels for a few extra scenes, but it's though the whole story has been re-written. Or rather how the story should have been put together in the first place and is no doubt worthy of a sequel (alongside the Black Widow).

Well worth a butchers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marvel still on form, 10 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Daredevil [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Before i went to see this film i was a bit sceptical about the thought of Ben Affleck being this type of character, he just never seemed suited to it. I was wrong however as he played the role very well, even the blind bits. In fact, all of the actors played their parts well, even though some like Jennifer Garner (who is sooooooooooo fit) as Elektra and Michael Clark Duncan as the Kingpin didnt really have much to do, which is a surprise as they were both major characters in the comics. And one thing you can tell is that Colin Farrell had a laugh playing Bullseye, he just seemed to have fun with the role.
This film is also very faithful to the comic book in terms of Daredevil's origins and manages to get the story accross without confusing the viewer and does so in an entertaining way thankfully. One gripe i do have though is the fight scenes, they are too dark and not the best either, nothing compared to the fight scenes in the Blade films or the more recent X-Men 2 which were both top notch. The main example in Daredevil being the final fight with i wont say who, but this lasts for about 2 mins, and these people are supposed to be two great fighters for crying out loud and they fight for 2 minutes! Also, every fight scene just seemed flat, you never got the sense that these were two desperate fighters who had to win or they would lose more than just the fight, and only one of them lasted more than a few minutes, and this was a shame because just when the fights were starting to look interestin and entertaining, they ended. I feel that with better fight scenes that this film could have really been special because the characterisation and story telling were more or less spot on.
However, it is still a dark, gritty and entertaining movie that fans of the comic will be more than happy with, i've never read the comic in my life but still knew the characters and so i enjoyed the movie a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Director's Cut For The UK Hopefully!, 13 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
I got the director's cut a couple of days ago, but my TV not being up to much I was stuck with it in black and white, but still this is a great film. I enjoyed the original release but the director's cut has so much more, the storyline is less rushed, the added sub-plot is great with some excellent, funny moments that shouldn't have been cut and above all, there's actually some character development! There's no end of great scenes between Matt and Foggy, thinking of the dog story, whereas on the original release there were none and some great moments, especially those with Coolio in them, all of which were cut. There's less of Elektra which makes the film work much better. All in all brilliant and hopefully it will be released here soon so I can enjoy it in colour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have seen this, honest!, 16 Mar. 2005
By 
Mr. T. D. Bonds "telboy007" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daredevil (Director's Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
Didn't think this was coming to the UK so bought the US version of it and all I can say is why didn't this version of the film get released at the cinema?
I used to be a massive fan of the Daredevil comic book and the theatrical release of Daredevil left me crying. It was terrible. But this version is so so much better.
The story flows better, far more character development and inter-action between Matt and Foggy. There is also a good balance between the lawyer and the vigilante in this version as well.
All in all a huge improvement. The theatrical release I would give 2 out of 5, this is definitely a 5 out of 5. Throw that first version in the bin and buy this instead, you'll be happy you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daredevil, Elektra, Bullseye and Kingpin, 29 July 2011
This review is from: Daredevil (Director's Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
Daredevil is a very under rated movie, and isn't considered a success. Why the Daredevil film seemed to fail as a popular film and gained no sequels, I've no idea. In my opinion the film should be regarded as highly or more so than the Spiderman, Superman, Iron Man, Batman or X men films. I've watched Daredevil several times now and have loved it since my first viewing of the theatrical cut. The Directors cut which is now available on DVD makes the film even better. This film is exellent. Ben Affleck is a good fit for Daredevil, Jennifer Garner is gorgeous as Elektra, Michael Clarke Duncan is huge as the Kingpin and Colin Farrell plays the best role of his career fantastically as Bullseye. The music to the film is also perfect combining score music and Rock expertly. The screenplay is also very good with memorable lines. The overall plot is great as well as it incorparates Daredevils origin and one of the Daredevil comics most epic tales all in a two hour movie very effectively. This is something almost all other comic film adaptions fail at doing. This is a top movie and one of my all time favourites that can sit proudly with others of its genre. Not only can it sit proudly with others of its genre, it's alot better than many. For example the Spiderman trilogy, the Hulk Films, the Hellboy films and Wolverine and the X men films are all brilliant comic book films, but I think Daredevil over all is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 20 Dec. 2006
By 
This review is from: Daredevil (Director's Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
I was slightly sceptical that the new cut of "Daredevil" would actually be a big improvement on the theatrical version, but I was pleasantly surprised.

This is great stuff, and probably the best of the "Marvel Heroes" features, certainly the most adult.

Here is a sense of the real character, a sense of pain and loss and tragedy. There is unbelievable action, and brilliant acting. Ben Afleck is fine as the emotionally tortured Matt Murdoch, as is Jennifer Garner as Elektra. The characters of Bullsey and the Kingpin are well played, and are credible bad guys, while David Keith as Matt's father gives a brief but impressive performance as Battlin' Murdoch.

A new subplot has been added, and the emphasis taken away from the love story element, which provides more drama for the central theme of the troubled vigilante's crusade against crime as a lawyer by day and masked hero by moonlight.

All that said: why oh why wasn't this version released at the cinemas. It is bravura action film-making, but it also reveals the darker side of the character. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Huge Improvement, 14 Sept. 2005
By 
MR PAUL TIPPETTS (NAILSEA, NORTH SOMERSET United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Daredevil (Director's Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
After being very disapointed with the original cut of Daredevil, i was a little sceptical about watching the directors cut. However this version of the film is a huge improvement. The action sequences are great and the film has a much darker feel to it. I highly recomend the directors cut and hope people are not to put off by the not so good original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love superhero movies..., 24 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Daredevil [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
and this one is one of my favourites; Superman is just too strong for his own good in my opinion, and Spider-Man was nowhere near dark enough. In fact, the only superhero movies that I like more than this are Batman and Batman Returns (the classic Tim Burton ones). This film is imperfect, that's for sure; certain characters (such as Elektra and Kingpin) are underused, I found the whole flashback thing rather annoying, and sometimes the soundtrack feels out of place. On the plus side, however, it stays close enough to the comics to satisfy nerds without getting bogged down in too much detail as to Deredevil's past, it is deliciously dark, has some great fight scenes (especially those involving Bullseye), features decent performances from Colin Farrell and Jennifer Garner, has Jennifer Garner (in vaious eye-popping outfits), and even throws the odd bit of humour into the proceedings. Not a classic but thoroughly enjoyable nonetheless, with some good extras on the second disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give The Devil His Due, 25 Aug. 2006
By 
M. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daredevil (Director's Cut) [DVD] (DVD)
I am angry. Perhaps incensed is closer to it.

Five minutes ago the credits rolled on "Daredevil (Directors Cut)" and here I find myself feeling perhaps the most effected I have EVER been after watching a movie. Sad, but true.

I remember the joy I felt having watched "The Matrix", not having a clue what the movie was about and loving every second of it. I remember the sheer respect for Peter Jacksons vision at the end of each "Lord of the Rings" film. He had done what they said could not be done. Likewise, I remember the shock, the surprise at the end of every M. Night movie I have ever seen.......but anger??? Disappointment, but never anger. Until now.

I am a comic book fan. No secret. I clearly remember my anticipation with the theatrical release of "Daredevil", just as I clearly remember thinking as I left the cinema "That was entertaining...but it could have been a better movie".

Pure and simple, The Directors Cut is THAT movie.

The original film was clearly edited for the Spidey market. This made no sense considering the Daredevil comic was never meant to be a Spiderman comic. Why should the film be any different? Daredevil is to Spiderman what Tim Burton's vision of Batman was to the 60's ideal of the same icon. Dark, brooding, gothic. The additions found in the re-edit are nearly all in this vein, expanding and adding to the nuggets of (black) gold found in the original release.

Surprisingly, the addition of over 30 minutes of footage does not make the film seem any longer. The extra scenes add depth, character and a greater understanding to the feel of the film. Side line characters are given not only dimension, but an actual reason to exist within the story.

Additionally, the additions (ha!) break up parts of the original film that always felt rushed or too close together. A good example of this being the murder and burial of Elektra's father.

Oh, and the ending of the film now makes far more sense!

Interestingly there are also some subtractions. The removal of the cheesy love scene actually makes the relationship between Daredevil and Elektra far more believable and ten times more tragic in the end.

And so I return to my anger. Why was this version of the film not released in the cinema? It is a far superior movie in every way to the one most people know as "Daredevil" and it is a shame that a difficult time will be had in trying to get people who dismissed the original to watch the superior version of the film.

In conclusion, the question that fuels my anger.

How come "The Punisher", the poorest of Marvels recent adaptations (and movies full stop for that matter!), is receiving a sequal, whilst Daredevil must sit on a shelf, waiting for the memory of the theatrical version to diminish before there is any chance of a "Daredevil 2"?

(Please don't make reference to the "Elektra" outing. It doesn't count!)

They had it right first time round, they just failed to show people they did.

Truly, there is no justice in this world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daredevil (Director's Cut) [DVD]
Daredevil (Director's Cut) [DVD] by Mark Steven Johnson (DVD - 2005)
£7.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews