Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing some excitement back to life.
It must be twenty years since I bought a record on its release date, after counting down the days, but I did it for this one on the strength of the 'Honest Mistake' single and some rave reviews, and I have not regretted it.
This is one of the best debut albums I have ever heard, with not a single duff track on it. Like some of the other crop of new acts the bass is...
Published on 15 Mar. 2005 by A. Skudder

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's A Grower
When I first head An Honest Mistake on the radio I became convinced this band were going to be something special.
I eagerly snapped up the album when it came out but I was really dissapointed with it at first. The first single is without doubt the strongest song on the album and the rest of the album fails to come up to the same standard.
Having said all that...
Published on 6 Mar. 2006 by Panther777cat

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just love this one!, 1 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bravery (Audio CD)
I first saw The Bravery on 'The Friday Night Project' on Channel 4 and MUST GET THIS ALBUM! I think the band are refreshingly different from the usual stuff around. The album is great, especially 'an honest mistake'. I really cannot say anything negative about this CD, I just love it! Even my dog likes to listen to it, but she has good taste like me....!! ha, ha!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a band, 26 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bravery (Audio CD)
I went to see the bravery at the glasgow school of art this february. What a gig! Most of the tracks on this album are great. with only a few that i'd consider filler. Stand out tracks are An Honest Mistake, Fearless, Out of line, unconditional and my fave swollen summer.
Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my fave new band, 17 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bravery (Audio CD)
fantastic band.i've heard every song from their not yet realised album and all i can say is GREAT!!!
honest mistake is the best song i've heard for a long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possible my favourite album...EVER!!, 6 April 2005
This review is from: The Bravery (Audio CD)
At first, like most other 'indie' albums I was rather sceptical that other songs on this album would be as good as 'An Honest Mistake' or 'Unconditional', but when I first listened to the album I can safely say that there IS NOT ONE BAD SONG!! I mean, fro the love of all that is holy and pure, The Bravery absolutely rock!!
The Bravery are quite like The Killers but it has been a while since I've heard music as goos as this. Personally, my favourite tracks are Fearless, Tyrant and Give In but I oculd easily say that any of the songs are my favourites ^_^!!!
So press 'Add To Basket'..because you should!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much hype?, 28 Aug. 2005
By 
This review is from: The Bravery (Audio CD)
This was made out to be one of the best albums of the year, from an amazing new band, but after buying it you'll realise that it's a bit of a let down. Many of the songs sound so similar, you forget which one you're listening to. However there are a couple of really good songs (an honest mistake, swollen summer)...but the rest just don't live up to the hype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow!, 18 Mar. 2005
By 
steph "steph428" (usa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i have to say this album is worth more than they are charging for it! the lyrics in songs like tyrant and fearless are brilliant and sam endicott is obviously very talented. i think every song is not only amazing and you never get sick of having it on constant replay. one of the best albums i own definately worthwhile of being top in the bbc sound of 2005 pole. buy this..or else
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just doesn't do it for me, 5 May 2005
This review is from: The Bravery (Audio CD)
This album just seems to melt in with all the other similar genere productions coming out at this time.
It lacks the freshness of the Kaiser Chiefs, the subtlty of Athlete and any of the enigmaticness of say the Scissor Sisters.
Without taking the album apart piece by piece, it is just one of those that I have put on 5 or so times and not really been taken by anything in particular by the time it ends.
There are much better performances out there. As inoffensive as this album is, its never going to really hit the spot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fanbloodytastique!, 12 Mar. 2005
This review is from: The Bravery (Audio CD)
i dont actually own the album cos it aint released yet?!
BUT i have been listening to it solidly on [...]
everyone go listen and then u will realise how great this band is!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This years best album??, 7 May 2005
This review is from: The Bravery (Audio CD)
After all the hype surrounding this album i bought it the day it came out. Unfortunatly it was a huge mistake, this album just seems to lack originality. the majority of there songs sound the same and only a couple of them were worthy of putting on repeat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing honest about this mistake, 8 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bravery (Audio CD)
The Bravery's debut album is a huge disappointment. The best two tracks on show here have already been released, An Honest Mistake being the pick of the bunch. Elsewhere it's post New Order, post Killers (without the quality pop tunes) and New Wave tosh throughout. The issue isn't what the band is trying to achieve, it's that the whole debacle is executed with the flag at half-mast. So effortless, it's actually no good. If you like the formula buy The Killers album (again)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bravery
The Bravery by The Bravery (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Stir the Blood
Stir the Blood by The Bravery (Audio CD - 2009)
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7)   

The Bravery - The Sun And The Moon Limited Edition Cd + Dvd - Includes 3 Exclusive Accoustic Performances From Sxsw With Interviews
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (10)   

With Love And Squalor
With Love And Squalor by We Are Scientists (Audio CD - 2005)
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (25)