Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Its a real grower, and you've gotta love it!
For those who have American hi-fi's older stuff, will know that the 'Art of lossing and american hi-fi' albums are an old school sort of punk, which does it really well for the band. However 'Hearts on Parade', is a mix of slow, yet uplifing punk, with some awsome lyrics. Almost every track is a love song, with some smooth basslines and great melodies. It is a different...
Published on 23 Mar 2006 by funeralforfriend

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars time for a U-turn guys,you're losing it.
Well if this was their first album and the self-titled 2001 album was the current one that would make much more sense.This isn't that good,ok tracks 3-5-8 are very good but the rest is just OK or like track 4 awful.They seriously need to get back to their roots, ignore other influences ,forget trying to create a commercial success and do what comes naturally-ROCK.
Published on 6 Dec 2005 by G Y.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars time for a U-turn guys,you're losing it., 6 Dec 2005
This review is from: Hearts On Parade [Us Import] (Audio CD)
Well if this was their first album and the self-titled 2001 album was the current one that would make much more sense.This isn't that good,ok tracks 3-5-8 are very good but the rest is just OK or like track 4 awful.They seriously need to get back to their roots, ignore other influences ,forget trying to create a commercial success and do what comes naturally-ROCK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its a real grower, and you've gotta love it!, 23 Mar 2006
This review is from: Hearts On Parade [Us Import] (Audio CD)
For those who have American hi-fi's older stuff, will know that the 'Art of lossing and american hi-fi' albums are an old school sort of punk, which does it really well for the band. However 'Hearts on Parade', is a mix of slow, yet uplifing punk, with some awsome lyrics. Almost every track is a love song, with some smooth basslines and great melodies. It is a different aproach, but they pull it off really well. I would recommend this album to any AHF fan who wants to here some new awsome material. Classic punk at its best, give it a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A horrible ill-advised mess, 17 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Hearts On Parade [Us Import] (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of this band since they started, and saw them support Bowling For Soup recently. They played a couple of new songs which sounded pretty good (Geeks get the girls and Separation Anxiety) so I decided to get he new album on the strength of it.
What a disappointment! While it's quite normal for bands to mature and for their music to evolve, this album is a mess of ill-advised experiments with new styles. They can't decide if they want to be Maroon 5 or The Clash circa 1982, and end up sounding tepid and banal. It's all a horrible mess with none of the new ideas working properly.
They were never the most original band, but at least they were good at what they did - and if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taking their music forward, 25 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Hearts On Parade [Us Import] (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of American hi-fi for quiet a while now, and i own both their previous albums, and enjoy them both very much. When i first heard this i thought - is this it? But after a few more listens i realised how diverse and different these new treacks really were.
They've definately taken a step forward with this new album, giving it a distinct style that they can call their own, with stand out tracks being, geeks get the girls and where did we go wrong.
This albums been in my cd player ever since i bought it. I actually downloaded the japenese import about 9 months ago, yet i felt i owed it to the band to go out and support them by buying their record - its really that good!
EmOtiConMan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rocking On, 4 May 2005
By 
Mr. M. Easthope "Munky" (Bromley, London. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hearts On Parade [Us Import] (Audio CD)
I downloaded this album about 6 months ago. I already own their previous two albums, and all i can say is that they just keep getting better. There are a lot of catchy songs on this album and i have grown to love it. if you are a fan of American Hi-Fi i recommend this album to you, it's an excellent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute pop rock *genius*, 25 Oct 2005
This review is from: Hearts On Parade [Us Import] (Audio CD)
I think someone's been passing round the wacky popcorn here, to the point where i'm absolute gobsmacked.
American Hi-Fi's debut album is a slice of alsolute fried gold, big rock, genius production by the incredible Bob Rock, a masterpiece. But why would you want the same thing over and over again.
Herein lies a band with wiiide taste in music and have the guts and songwriting chops to try and do albums *different from the last*. Hearts On Parade is just genius singalong pop rock wonderment, I hear elements of Robbie Williams, Blur, The Hives, Fountains Of Wayne, Maroon 5 - loooads of stuff in the mix! Once again an album of so many different contrasts & colours within the cd and the only dissapointment i've had is when the album finishes. Then it's straight back on. Again.
All this is wrapped up in Butch walkers lush, tight production, which hops, skips and throws out glittery goodness throughout.
Loved and adored more than cake. Genius. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars rock gone pop?, 12 May 2005
This review is from: Hearts On Parade [Us Import] (Audio CD)
I was looking forward to this album, as i have the first 2 which were very good in my opinion. But this album seemed to be a real let down, I don't know where they went wrong, maybe it was the pop sound it has to it.
Don't get me wrong there are still about 3 good songs on the album, but is that really worth your 10?
It's been in my cd player a few times but won't be going back.
Probably a good album to listen to if you are new to American Hi-Fi, but won't keep old fans coming back for more.
Go buy senses fail - let it enfold you or something better instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hearts On Parade [Us Import]
Hearts On Parade [Us Import] by American Hi-Fi (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews