Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coyote Ugly: a pleasent escape
Well regardless of what any other reviewers may say, this film certainly is entertaining. Okay, okay if you are looking for a film with some deep meaning or an example monumental filmmaking go watch Battleship Potemkin but if a simple laugh and a giggle is all your after this film is for you.
The storyline is indeed a little predictable but nethertheless Coyote Ugly...
Published on 6 Sept. 2005 by selma_hepburn

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice music
The storyline is the pretty basic, girl wants to make it in showbiz, with a twist. The music is nice as well as the dances on the bar.
All in all, it's a nice film to see from time to time when one wants to just sit back and relax.
Published on 28 Jan. 2010 by Rosemay


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coyote Ugly: a pleasent escape, 6 Sept. 2005
Well regardless of what any other reviewers may say, this film certainly is entertaining. Okay, okay if you are looking for a film with some deep meaning or an example monumental filmmaking go watch Battleship Potemkin but if a simple laugh and a giggle is all your after this film is for you.
The storyline is indeed a little predictable but nethertheless Coyote Ugly serves its purpose as a romping teen flick to the upmost!!! Its got some nice looking women for the men and some bitchy yet powerful female figures for the women, not to mention a reasonble male love interest.
Other reviewers comment on the fact that no one seems to be served in the bar and that they are all sober, well if you are looking for a realistic portrayal of bar life why don't you go sit in one with a video camera taping the ambience until an angry bodyguard throws you out thinking you are some strange pervert with a bar fetish!!! Realism is not what this film is aiming for a pleasent glimpse at the struggle of a song writter in New York, and if anyone finds the punters sober I suggest they watch the scene in which some of the bar maidsare near attacked by a hoard of drunken sailors on leave.
Anyway, all in all this film is perfect for a uplifting evening in. No it won't challenge your intellect and change your perception on life but it will provide a great escape from a hard day which has to be equally as valuale!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 28 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
I thought that this film was brilliant because it has excellent soundtracks on it and I also thought that it kept you going throughout the film that you could never be too sure on what was happening next.I thought that it was so good that I ended up going to see it in the cinema three times and renting it out on video a number of times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get ready for a wild ride., 8 Dec. 2001
Pioneered by Leann Rimes 'Can't fight The Moonlight ' video (the song that Violet herself supposedly writes) this movie has it all . Thrills , spills , Romance and comedy . When the idea of dancing on bar is thought of , you probably think of half naked girls dancing around a pole. But this movie has no nudity (which is good if you want to watch it with your younger sister) and a good plot. Very heart warming . Plus if you like Adam Garcia , the just wait for the saucy bar strip scene. With a fab soundtrack to acompany the movie this certainly does make you smile. So grab a comfy place on the sofa , a load of popcorn and get ready for a wild ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish I worked in this bar..., 1 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Coyote Ugly [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This film is a must-see. With gorgeous women for the lads, and an upbeat girl-power can-do message for the girls, you cannot fail to enjoy this movie.
A pumping soundtrack and brilliant choreography make you want to start dancing on the Coyote Ugly bar with the stars. Unknown Piper Perabo is obviously destined for great things (think younger Sarah Jessica Parker) and Adam Garcia is well sexy as the prime australian rib she auctions off. Tyra Banks makes an appearance and Maria Bello gets her arguably most important role to date.
The message behind this movie goes something like: "life may suck at times, but it can be fun if it sucks with the right people". This is the film for all the underpaid, under-appreciated gophers of society. We do what we have to to get by and Coyote Ugly shows that all of us can make it.
Anyhow, with all the extras on the dvd (outtakes, documentaries, character/actor profiles) this has got to be in your collection, for girlie or guy nights in: either way you won't forget it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic must see film for everyone, 3 July 2001
This review is from: Coyote Ugly [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This film is absolutely brilliant. I first of all was a bit wary of watching a film full of gorgeous girls but it turned out to be a really heart warming film with some very exciting moves behind the bar. Also for the women who want to watch this film we musn't forget the very lovely Adam Garcia who does some very interesting moves of his own on the bar!! This film has a great storyline and is full of very entertaining characters. It is definitely a must see film. It's got something for everyone - not its not a girly film!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Film!, 9 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great girly feel-good movie, bought as a present for my sister for Christmas. Definitely a must see! Haven't seen the extended cut version but more for your money is always a bonus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take a chance ..., 27 May 2004
By 
* "jensonbutton" (Norfolk - United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Coyote Ugly [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
After watching this film for the million'th time last night - I just had to defend this film as it does not deserve the critism its received. Its surprising really, as none of my friends had even heard of it.
Its a film for both the girls and the boys. It has the love storey for the girls and for the boys, girls dancing on a bar with water thrown on them (get my drift)!
Violet Stanford is a small town girl from New Jersey who travels all 42 miles over to New York to persue her career as a songwriter.
After weeks of rejection she finally finds work, but in a Bar. The most famous of New York Bars "Coyote Ugly". She is given a chance but there is more obstacles to overcome. But, I can say that she manages to win the heart of the most attractive (Austrialian) guy in New York City - played by Adam Garcia.
Finally, Violet's dreams are brought to reality, when the great LeAnn Rimes releases one of her songs - "cant fight the moonlight".
FANTASTIC FILM, FANTASTIC CAST, FANTASTIC SOUNDTRACK
Buy it, rent it but watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coyote is far from ugly ....., 29 July 2002
By 
J. Lovatt "Raven Elf Tinjot" (Abingdon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
..... in fact, Coyote (Coyote Ugly) has got to be one of the best films I have ever seen. But, from all of the other glowing reviews, I guess you already know that. So here's why:
Many critics have said that Coyote Ugly is a long way away from telling the accurate story of real-life Lil and her bar in NYC where the girls dance on the bar and wear small amounts of clothing. Well, of course it is; it's a chick flick, not a documentary.
Here in England on the 'other side of the pond' the themetune sung by Leann Rimes was on the radio before the film appeared in cinemas, but trailers were all over the country, and any female over 12 years of age was talking about the latest teen movie and the cast of hot newcomers. And with good reason.
Coyote Ugly is a tale of growing up (the film starts with Violet leaving her hometown to try and get her lucky break as a songwriter in NYC), falling in love (enter Kevin, or Mr O'Donnell as he is first introduced, the Australian guy with the connections Violet needs, but doesn't make use of), and of giving up everything to follow your dreams (Violet leaves her friends and family, takes a job she seems far too innocent for, and spends a lot of money to try and get somebody to sing her songs).
The film is accompanied by a great soundtrack featuring the likes of Leann Rimes (who dubbed all of Piper Perabo's singing), and includes songs such as "All She Wants To Do Is Dance" and "Unbelievable" - an eclectic compliation, like the musical taste of most young people. My only criticism is that I don't like the over-poppy 'Boom', and would have liked to see the song that Violet repeatedly sings along to on there instead.
In short; Coyote Ugly is a feel-good movie for anyone with a job they really need, a heart, a dream, or even a love for a "romantic comedy". And if you want to watch it with a guy, go ahead, he may well mot mind seeing the coyotes dancing on the bar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of 'feel good' fun, 30 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Coyote Ugly [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
When i saw the advert for this movie i wrote it off immediately as a film just for men to ogle dancing women on a bar, but i was so wrong! It is romantic, dramatic, funny, sexy and touching. It really does have just about something for everyone. I have enjoyed this film every time that i have seen it. Buy it and see what i mean...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a wicked chick flick with a kick!, 18 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Coyote Ugly [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I saw this film quite a while ago at the cinema and when it came out on dvd i was eager to buy it. The story line is different and the music is wicked! I found myself singing the songs a lot after watching it the first time, and then even more after i'd watched it at least 5 times. This film is a definate "must see".buy it!!:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coyote Ugly [DVD] [2000] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£7.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews