Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 'loser' that's anything but, 18 Mar. 2005
By 
This review is from: Welcome Home Loser (Audio CD)
Having been a fan of BFB since hearing a Peel session a while ago I always look forward to their releases with eagerness and 'Welcome Home Loser' meets all expectations. BFB's wry look at life through the adoption of the 'Americana' style should not work considering they hail from Cambridge but they just do it so much better than anyone else on the planet. Welcome Home Loser is a strangely uplifting journey through dark relationships, alcohol, drugs, inner fears and self doubt all delivered with a healthy dose of honest cynicism which leaves you one minute smiling like a goon - the next quite touched by it's honesty. The musicianship itself is great and the styles varied enough to keep a wide variety of listeners happy. Listen to the closing track and sing along if you are in need of 'primal therapy'. You'll feel much better afterwards!
Buy this immediately and check out the back catalogue which is full of gems that deserve much wider recognition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best yet from Cambridge favourite's sons, 9 Mar. 2005
By 
P. LONGWELL (Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Welcome Home Loser (Audio CD)
This is the 2nd proper album from TBFB, well-known to the Cambridge and London music scenes. All their releases so far are worthy of investigation, but I suggest starting with this and working back through 'Cold Water Songs' (containing the party-pleasers 'Don't Leave That Woman Unattended and At The Back Of The Chapel) to the debut mini-album 'The King Will Build A Disco'.
As usual, there is some skewed brilliant songwriting, Steve Adams sings about falling in and out of love, then picking himself off the floor after the latest punch to the heart. 'Living In Sin' contains beautiful dovetailing harmonies from Inge Thomson, while opener 'Happy Days Are Here Again' (a long-term live favourite) and 'Where The Hell Is My Baby' appear to have Jay Williams whooping and swooping with varying degrees of enthusiasm. The latter contains the best use of a glass smashing in a song for many a year. Jay's finger-picking throughout is better than ever, particularly on 'John Belushi'. 'Yer Little Bedroom' begins like Neil Young's 'Southern Man' before taking off, fuelled by Mick Roman's always spot-on drumming and then slowing and settling like someone recovering from a panic attack. This is the best album to date, from the band John Peel once introduced as the 'Froken Bramley Band'.
Never mind 'alt-country', this is 'main-course', and it should be served daily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 16 Aug. 2006
This review is from: Welcome Home Loser (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful band - dry, wry, cynical, kind, funny and beautiful to listen to. Having just seen them live for the first time I am hooked on their relaxed and seemingly effortless but joyful playing and their terrific humour. The tongue in cheek element keeps the music from being sentimental but it is always essentially human and real, even when the lyrics are about some of the grimmer aspects of life and love. Give it a whirl if you are a grown up who has been round the block a few times and knows that life is a bit of a dark joke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome this Loser into your home, 6 Sept. 2005
By 
J. G. Bolton (Manchester, Lancs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Welcome Home Loser (Audio CD)
Please be assured there isn't one loser of a song on this album.I bought this after hearing an earlier song from "Cold water.." and was immediately hooked by the sheer infectiousness of TBFB.It's a classic make no mistake!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Home WINNER!!, 27 Sept. 2005
This review is from: Welcome Home Loser (Audio CD)
Whoah! These guys not only put out one of the best sounds in Cambridge, they put out some of the best sounds in the South East. A rare mixture of incredibly touching songs (I used one of the songs when I broke up with my girlfriend) and some real stompers to get the blood flowing!
I've seen these guys play live and they don't just play, they PLAY! and this is in evidence on this fifth album they've now put out under the auspices of there record label.
The bonkers song on the album is 'Honest Man's Blues' and I can tell you, when I'm dancing to THIS one it feels like I'm at one of the best concerts EVER! But I keep going on about there live gigs, I should be talking about the album.
Steve Adams has crafted some exquisite lyrics, weaving them through a musical fabric that is best described as eclectic and charming. The band, as always, deliver exquisite music to the beat of Mick's drumming (brilliant), the throb of Gavin's bass (amazing) and the strumming of Jay's guitar-strings (oh my god, where'd they find this dude?!), bringing, yes, some of the best music to us. Howd they come up with this stuff?!
So where to next BFB? America!?! I actually met one of the guys at a gig in Cambridge once and he was a pretty good guy, so theres another reason!
My recommendation is simple: buy the album.
Cheers, Dave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS ALBUM DESERVES 6 STARS!, 11 Oct. 2005
By 
J. Fraser (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Welcome Home Loser (Audio CD)
Yes, it is THAT GOOD - these are some of the most perfect, melodic songs created in recent history. On the one hand 'Living in Sin' is a hilarious account of being obsessed with a satanist (haven't we all been?) but on the other, the quiet delights of something like 'John Belushi' will just stop you in your tracks. I have bought this album for so many of my friends who were all amazed that they had never heard of the Broken Family Band before. GENIUS - enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars emma charles, 9 Aug. 2006
By 
This review is from: Welcome Home Loser (Audio CD)
come on emma love. brighten up. listen to it again. here's the deal... just do one thing for me. listen to john belushi again and tell me the instrumental part doesn't do anything for you and i'll know you've just ended up in the wrong place and should go back to your coldplay albums where it's nice and cosy and they...er...mean it, man.

some people. mmmpfffmmmmmffffff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing broken here, 19 Jan. 2008
By 
John Arundell (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Welcome Home Loser (Audio CD)
Clever, witty lyrics delivered in an oh so soothing fashion: the fact that this band are not more widely known is a sad indictment of the music buying public, but the loss is theirs and theirs alone as they are missing a real gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Alt country album ???, 11 Mar. 2005
This review is from: Welcome Home Loser (Audio CD)
I have always guarded Broken Family Band secretly after discovering them on the rough trade country compilation a few years back there songs are fantastic it's a wonderful feeling of smug satisfaction sitting on the train listening to them whilst others are afflicted with lesser tunes.
Welcome Home, Loser is their second full-length album, after the majestic Hot Water Songs. To be honest I was dreading hearing this could it possibly be as good as its predecessor? Would it have songs as good as Devil in the Detail or Hitting Woman or Mardi Gras Rescue? The good news is the album is breathtaking.
Songs like 'living in sin', 'coping with fear' & 'where the hell is my baby' really shine and are altogether a much darker experience than before, without sacrificing their trademark humour and wicked sarcasm. The soundtrack to the best black comedy never made, lets hope Broken Family band personify the song writing craft of Smiths & are the best Alt-country band (despite being British and having only played one gig in the US)
Buy this you will not regret it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Welcome Home Loser
Welcome Home Loser by The Broken Family Band (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews