Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Staywell 400 Cat flap
Bought as a replacement for our previous Staywell 21 Catflap (20 year old!) Chose because no mains or batteries required and hoped it would fit in the existing wall opening, which it did with only minor adjustment.
Was concerned about the strength of the magnet on the cats collar, visions of cat bringing in pieces of metal; none yet :)
Took cat 2 attempts to get...
Published on 6 Feb 2011 by Mr. Derek Gray

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A liitle more design input needed please...
We have had this for 12 months, and it's a good idea in theory, but it does NOT stop intruder cats from coming in, because the lightweight flap does not always become locked by the catch. I am thinking of replacing it for a micro-chip model, which seem more robust. We find the battery needs replacing every 3 months to give it half a chance of working properly. Sadly, this...
Published on 15 Mar 2012 by J. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Staywell 400 Cat flap, 6 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. Derek Gray (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PetSafe Staywell Deluxe Magnetic Cat Flap (Misc.)
Bought as a replacement for our previous Staywell 21 Catflap (20 year old!) Chose because no mains or batteries required and hoped it would fit in the existing wall opening, which it did with only minor adjustment.
Was concerned about the strength of the magnet on the cats collar, visions of cat bringing in pieces of metal; none yet :)
Took cat 2 attempts to get used to the new flap, after that she has been going in and out every hour like its a new toy! We did rub it all over with her blanket don't know if it helped.
One small improvement proposal; it would be useful to have a setting where no collar needed, might help timid cats get used to it. (small piece of tape over the latch works)
Overall, what do I know, the cat likes it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cat Flap, 6 Feb 2011
This review is from: PetSafe Staywell Deluxe Magnetic Cat Flap (Misc.)
Easy to fit product, which is now being used by the cat after a few training attempts as the noise of the magnetic release frightened her at first. she now comes and goes as she wants to, which is great for both of us, but is lazy as she still needs an indoor toilet, especially on wet cold days! It has kept the other cats out of the house. Unlike my previous flap it is draft proof. A real must for cat owners and their cats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Staywell Catflap, 10 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PetSafe Staywell Deluxe Magnetic Cat Flap (Misc.)
I found this product simple to fit and the instructions where very easy to follow.
My cats started using it straight away, i am very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A liitle more design input needed please..., 15 Mar 2012
By 
J. Williams (Wigan, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PetSafe Staywell Deluxe Magnetic Cat Flap (Misc.)
We have had this for 12 months, and it's a good idea in theory, but it does NOT stop intruder cats from coming in, because the lightweight flap does not always become locked by the catch. I am thinking of replacing it for a micro-chip model, which seem more robust. We find the battery needs replacing every 3 months to give it half a chance of working properly. Sadly, this is not a product which I can whole-heartedly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Staywell/Petsafe Magnetic 4 Way Locking Deluxe Cat Flap, 2 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PetSafe Staywell Deluxe Magnetic Cat Flap (Misc.)
This was fitted on a new PVC door and is really quite good. The cat has always had a cat flap so we just upgraded and got the Deluxe model for the new door. She uses it just as well as the old one. The only drawback is the white plastic rim around the clear door section doesn't appear to attach and just 'flaps' about and doesn't really serve a purpose. If it's very windy it rattles. On the picture it appears to be attached to the clear door section but we can't seem to sort it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good for metal collections, 18 May 2011
By 
star-struck (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: PetSafe Staywell Deluxe Magnetic Cat Flap (Misc.)
Had catflap now for 14 months and have to replace as now broken and have visitors!

Problems over the last year:
1 - leaking water if heavy rain
2 - 4 way switch always been too stiff to use but haven't had to use it much anyway
3 - Bit temperamental and cats sometimes look miffed unless persuaded to try again
4 - Had it since they were kittens so they learnt at early age how to use - but as they were small and magnets very heavy they had a lot of problems getting magnets stuck to washing machine/fridge/chairs/radiators etc. Amusing though!
5 - Magnets collect a lot of metal rubbish from outside - I have a good collection of nails/paperclips/etc.
6 - Now plastic switch is not resetting itself and either stops letting the cats in or lets every cat in - which is why I have to replace it asap.
7 - No switch on it to allow cats in if magnets/collars missing - essential if have run out of spares (which are expensive).

Am now looking into microchip mechanisms as don't feel this is the best solution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Staywell Catflap, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PetSafe Staywell Deluxe Magnetic Cat Flap (Misc.)
Very disappointed with this purchase.The sizing of this catflap on the Amazon website did not correlate with the actual size of the catflap once it had arrived..it was smaller!!.The correct sizing of this product is crucial when you wish to put it into a door as a replacement where there is an existing catflap hole(even if the sizing difference is by some mm)!!....so be aware.Also the catflap door plastic is clear,which does not show up very well on the photo.I had to end up returning this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does as it should, 10 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PetSafe Staywell Deluxe Magnetic Cat Flap (Misc.)
After a bit of training without the magnets (taping down the catch) our two cats quickly learnt how to use this cat flap and were off to venture the great outdoors! We were able to fit it snuggley in to our wooden back door, which had a hole in already, easily and hassle free. Secured in place with 2 screws the product itself seems sturdy and well made. The same can also be said about the door, which is semi transparent plastic apart from around the Staywell logo that is clear.

After several months some other cats have been peeking in so we have started using the magnets. Apart from the cats taking a little while to get used to wearing the magnet itself they have adjusted to using it well and it hasn't seem to have affected their access through the cat flap. Initially they were a little startled by the magnetic lock, which makes a bang after being attracted by the magnet, but it hasn't deterred their entry. Maybe the previous non-magnet use has given them the confidence to continue through regardless, so it might be something to note for anyone with a cat who has never used a cat flap - get the cat used to using the cat flap before introducing the magnet that might scare them away.

Overall, very pleased with this product, can't fault it apart from the loud magnetic lock that could startle most cats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Staywell Magnetic Cat Flap, 3 Feb 2012
This review is from: PetSafe Staywell Deluxe Magnetic Cat Flap (Misc.)
Excellent product - a replacement for one a rouge "visitor" managed to break. Just need my beloved cat to persevere - just 5 minutes ago she managed to get in on her own using the magnet (otherwise my husband and I have been "door - persons" for about a week!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good Product, 21 Feb 2009
By 
J. McGuinness (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We bought this catflap for our cat but within a week of installing it, two other stray cats had managed to gain access by clawing at the door and opening it that way or by forcing the door through. The magnetic collar produces a thud in the catflap that frightens my own cat away from it. A complete and utter waste of money. Think again if you want to keep out other cats because this product is simply not up to the task.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PetSafe Staywell Deluxe Magnetic Cat Flap
£20.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews