Customer Reviews


138 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good quality, strong & sturdy cat flap...
Customer Video Review     Length:: 3:29 Mins
The Staywell 300 Four-Way Locking Cat Flap is a run-of-the-mill standard cat flap without any fancy electromagnetic or micro-chipped collars for your cats to wear in order to gain access. Basically, the cat flap has no security device on it at all, so any cat is able to open the door. However, depending on where you live etc, this may not be an...
Published 17 months ago by Chris Hall

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Locking?
Bought this a couple of months ago and it took one of the neighbourhood cats less than two days to figure out if you bash one side of it (opposite corner to the locking mechanism) the whole plastic door will pop out rendering it useless, cats are currently using our home as a party pad during the day as the flimsy door finally broke after refitting a few times. Now having...
Published on 8 April 2011 by PKILC


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good quality, strong & sturdy cat flap..., 28 July 2013
By 
Chris Hall "DLS Reviews" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Staywell 300 - 4 Way Locking Cat Flap/Door - White (Misc.)
Length:: 3:29 Mins

The Staywell 300 Four-Way Locking Cat Flap is a run-of-the-mill standard cat flap without any fancy electromagnetic or micro-chipped collars for your cats to wear in order to gain access. Basically, the cat flap has no security device on it at all, so any cat is able to open the door. However, depending on where you live etc, this may not be an issue for you. We've previously had but the magnet and the microchip cat flaps - but where we live now, we don't really need these added security functions.

As stated, although the cat flap offers no real security with regards to other cats being able to use it, the door can be unlocked/locked in four separate ways - fully locked, fully open, open for entering only, open for leaving only. This can be quite handy if you don't want your cat going out again once they've come back in (or vice versa).

Installing the cat flap is relatively easy - although it does depend immensely on what sort of door you're planning on installing the cat flap into. Annoyingly, the backdoor where we wanted the cat flap to be positioned is a double-glazed door, with double-glazed glass making up both the upper and lower panels. Furthermore, because the door is quite old, the panel thickness isn't one of the new standard thicknesses. Therefore, in order to be able to install the cat flap, I first needed to remove the lower glass panel (easier said than done), put together my own 23mm thick plyboard panel (using 2x pieces of plyboard and some wood for spacing), paint the wood with 100% weatherproof paint, put the door back together, and then I was finally good to go!

With all that annoyingly time-consuming preparation over, the actual installation of the cat flap hardly took any time at all. Simply measure-up where you're going to have the cat flap (there's a handy A4 guide to use for getting this right) mark it on the door, drill four holes, cut away the square for the cat flap, and then screw it all in place. Honestly, it's as simple as that.

The product includes all the necessary screws and fastenings that you'll need - although I would recommend also using a little superglue if you need to use the included tunnel section (which you will unless your door panel is only a few millimetres thick).

The Staywell cat flap is incredibly sturdy - constructed from a good strong hard-plastic that can take the knocks and bangs of cats bursting in and out, or trying to force the door open when it's locked. The door also seals nice and tight when closed, with a small magnet positioned at the base of the door, which means that it won't keep blowing open when it's windy out.

This is actually the third Staywell cat flap we've had and I've installed (we've just left them in the doors when we've moved house) and it's the one cat flap manufacturers that we trust. Never had a problem with them. They look okay, a doddle to install, and they're built to last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works well when the cat eventually gets the idea, 22 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Staywell 300 - 4 Way Locking Cat Flap/Door - White (Misc.)
Every cat flap you read reviews about appears to have problems (mainly with robustness) but at least this one has a replaceable door. It is also the deluxe model, which looks a bit better than the basic one from the same manufacturer. Complaints that the cat can open it even when locked seem unlikely with this model; the lock seems quite secure and the door is stiff. I can imagine that, if you part-lock it for one way operation, some cats will work out how to hook it with a claw and get through the other way.
If your cat seems not to want to use it, be patient and gently persuasive. Hold the flap open (preferably in the correct direction) while the cat jumps through - and keep doing that when you've had more than enough of it! It took our 13-month-old nearly 3 weeks to start going out on her own and has not yet made the logical leap to realising she can come in as well. If we hook the door inwards just a little she'll now squeeze into the gap and come in, so I think it will only be a matter of time before she works it out. I hope so, because it cost us the thick end of £300 to replace the toughened, double-glazed door panel, so we could install the thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Locking?, 8 April 2011
This review is from: Staywell 300 - 4 Way Locking Cat Flap/Door - White (Misc.)
Bought this a couple of months ago and it took one of the neighbourhood cats less than two days to figure out if you bash one side of it (opposite corner to the locking mechanism) the whole plastic door will pop out rendering it useless, cats are currently using our home as a party pad during the day as the flimsy door finally broke after refitting a few times. Now having to find a more secure magnetic upgrade with hopefully a heavy duty flap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 7 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Staywell 300 - 4 Way Locking Cat Flap/Door - White (Misc.)
This is my second Staywell cat flap. In nine years it would appear nothing has changed. I was loathed to buy another one, but there is simply nothing else out there with a tunnel. This is simply poor design: barn-door engineering at its worst. The tunnel comes in two pieces, but the joints are sloppy and not water proof, and require silicone sealant to finish them off. Without sealant, rain water will get through and into the wood of the door. The moulding of the flap housing is evidently multi-purpose: designed to be used in several different variations of the same product. This leads to an untidy appearance. Then there is the hole in the base of the housing which accommodates the lock, but which is exposed when open. In very wet weather, rainwater gets through to the door behind (very clever!). Finally, as mentioned by other reviewers, the once clear plastic of the flap has been obscured with a frosted finish, with just a small area left clear, in which they have stuck a large logo, further obscuring the cats view. This is important for timid animals like to be able to see what's on the other side, before venturing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the job!, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Staywell 300 - 4 Way Locking Cat Flap/Door - White (Misc.)
The set had all the parts needed, very easy to fit and does a perfect job! It has a heavy-ish door which doesn't get blown open by gusts of wind, but is easy for your pet to push open. It's a great cat flap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cat flap, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Staywell 300 - 4 Way Locking Cat Flap/Door - White (Misc.)
excellent cat flap easy to use and fit and no complaints from my 3 cats getting in and out. second one in 8 years only replaced because plastic goes yellow after a few years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Cat Flap, 7 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Staywell 300 - 4 Way Locking Cat Flap/Door - White (Misc.)
This cat flap is really good!Sturdy and can keep out neighbouring bullies of the cat variety!Very easy to fit and mostly cleanable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great pruduct A++++++++++++++++, 16 Oct 2011
This review is from: Staywell 300 - 4 Way Locking Cat Flap/Door - White (Misc.)
great product good seller easy to deal with delivered on time cats love it can come and go as they please now thank you very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's a basic cat flap!, 11 May 2011
This review is from: Staywell 300 - 4 Way Locking Cat Flap/Door - White (Misc.)
One other reviewer has pretty much hit the nail on the head with this one. I'm going to repeat it solely to emphasise the point already made so that it isn't coming from just one person. The main issue in my view is that the door is very flimsy. It took my two cats (actually large kittens) about two days to figure out how to bash down the door to break out when the cat flap door's theoretically locked. As a previous reviewer has stated, the door only really locks to one side so if a cat wants to prise the door open from the left side, well if a kitten can do it, it can't exactly be that much of a challenge really. If you are looking for a basic cat flap and don't really intend on using the locking function, this will probably be fine. The only thing to warn you about is that I know now that I will be replacing mine as it's just not suitable for my purpose, but now the added complication is I just don't know how likely it is that a different cat flap can be installed into the hole which is now cut into my door!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Will leak water in heavy rain, 12 Jan 2014
This review is from: Staywell 300 - 4 Way Locking Cat Flap/Door - White (Misc.)
While effective at letting the cat in and out, the design of this product is dire. The flap is on the inside of the door and there is nothing to stop water/rain blowing in from the outside into the tunnel of the cat flap. Furthermore, there are various joints in the tunnel that require silicone sealant or water will leak through and dribble onto your doormat- nice !

The intelligent designer also put the locking mechanism right at the bottom of the cat flap so there is a hole in the cat flap tunnel to allow the red rotating latch to close the flap. Consequently, in heavy rain water will be blown into that hole and drip down the inside of the door.

Lastly, there is a terrible draught blowing through ours with lots of space around the flap for air to blow in.

Install this at your peril, unless you don't mind a wet door mat and constant cold draught.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews