Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oscar Peterson Trio 1977
If you like jazz even remotely then buy this and if you love jazz then buy this because you will love this recording. This recording is unusual because Oscar Peterson is accompanied by both the Legend that was Ray Brown on bass and Neils Pederson also on bass. Neils also gives a brief interview in the extras of this recording which helps make this a great introduction...
Published on 31 Jan. 2005 by R. Phillips

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
gok
Published 7 months ago by Dennis Huggard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oscar Peterson Trio 1977, 31 Jan. 2005
By 
R. Phillips "Redhead" (Asia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like jazz even remotely then buy this and if you love jazz then buy this because you will love this recording. This recording is unusual because Oscar Peterson is accompanied by both the Legend that was Ray Brown on bass and Neils Pederson also on bass. Neils also gives a brief interview in the extras of this recording which helps make this a great introduction to Oscar Peterson and Jazz at its Best. How can I make such a statement? Well my wife who knows little or nothing about jazz is now hooked after listening to this recording. She now listens to most of my other jazz records with little or no complaint!
If in doubt when you first listen/watch this recording fast forward to the last track and be amazed at Oscar, Ray and Neils rendition of Sweet Georgia Brown. Oscar plays like he is on another planet, quite outstanding, whilst during this last performance on the DVD both Ray and Neils look on in amazement at Oscar's skill and virtuosity.
I've got many of Oscar's CD's already and to discover I can now buy his music on DVD is even better. I just wish Night Train, my favorite album by Oscar, was also on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest, 5 Nov. 2004
By 
S. J. Buck - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A wonderful DVD, by a Jazz Musician at the height of his powers.
Witness the stride Piano on Indiana, taken at incredible tempo.
Beware (but don't be put off) this is not a tradional trio. In fact it is Oscar with both Ray Brown and NHOP. After 3 solo Piano numbers the bass players generally alternate their playing, so most of the time it is really a duo.
I strongly recommend this disc together with all the other Norman Granz DVD's. Oscar also plays on the Roy Eldridge DVD as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 15 Mar. 2005
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oscar Peterson - Solo '75 - Norman Granz Jazz At Montreux [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
On this form it is hard to disagree with the back cover of the DVD which says that Oscar Peterson could rightly claim to be the greatest Jazz pianist of all time.
The uptempo stuff is simple amazing, both on a technical level and the through the swing he generates playing solo. The camera angles (better than on the two bass player trio DVD) give great insight into Oscar's amazing techique. At high tempos just watch his left hand....
Oh and by the way the ballad playing is also brilliant as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 7 Oct. 2006
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful DVD, by a Jazz Musician at the height of his powers.

For example the stride Piano on Indiana is incedible and played at an amazing tempo. Beware (but don't be put off) this is not a tradional trio. In fact it is Oscar with both Ray Brown and NHOP. After 3 solo Piano numbers the bass players generally alternate their playing, so most of the time it is really a duo. Towards the end of the DVD they play Sweet Georgia Brown and during this Neils and Ray look on in astonishment as Oscar goes into overdrive and burns the Piano up - its that good!

I strongly recommend this disc together with all the other Norman Granz DVD's. Oscar also plays on a number of the other DVD's in this series as well so its worth looking out for those. In fact the whole series is a goldmine for Jazz fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime jazz, 12 April 2008
By 
Erik Preben Pedersen "Jazzbum" (Espergaerde, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After an initial beautiful solo performance Oscar Peterson introduces the 2 bassists, Ray Brown and Niels H.O. Pedersen, whom he has named the 2 most complete bassists he has ever worked with - and what a performance that follows!
Even though the DVD is called the O.P. Trio, it's actually more a duo performance, as the bassists alternate their backing of O.P., and it's a joy to listen to Ray Brown's robust swinging and organic tone. NHOP swings no less and with his 5 fingers technique he brings his solos to another and higher level within bassplaying.
Sadly none of these masters are with us to-day, so don't miss this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Op at his best, 6 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oscar Peterson - Solo '75 - Norman Granz Jazz At Montreux [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is my favourite DVD of OP as the camera is largely focused on his hands over the keys so you can really see his brilliant virtuosity. The whole approach is simple and ungimmicky e.g. no extreme close-ups, no tracking shots all around, no fancy edits - just what I like. Well done whoever called the shots on this production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish there is more than 5 stars to rate this DVD, 23 May 2006
By 
Aveen A. Ameen "Aveen Khattat" (Irvine, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I listen to jazz and like it.. but not my favourite music style... hubby purchesed this DVD.. and when I watched it with him I was WAWed, really WAWed... its AMAAAAAZING by all means.... I'm a big fan of Oscar Peterson now and I wanna buy all his CDs and DVDs ... lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oscar at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
gok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oscar Peterson - Solo '75 - Norman Granz Jazz At Montreux [DVD] [2005]
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews