Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend In Black
This is a real gem.I didn't know this DVD was coming out until i saw it in a shop today but once i did i had to have it.Why?
Well , i was dying to see Johnny doing songs from American Recordings live and i was NOT disappointed. The bulk of the set comprises he and his band doing the Greatest Hits and would be worth buying for that alone as a snapshot of the Man...
Published on 7 April 2005 by Stevie Dal

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not at his best but ok.
Johnny Cash is one of my heros and I was excited to receive this DVD. I was disappointed. The sound on some songs, especially the early ones is poor. Whether that is down to the sound mix or the mastering, I know not. The great man himself sounds tired and not particularly inspired for the majority of the performance. Although always worth watching, he is not at his best...
Published on 25 July 2007 by Musicfan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend In Black, 7 April 2005
This review is from: Live At Montreux 1994 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is a real gem.I didn't know this DVD was coming out until i saw it in a shop today but once i did i had to have it.Why?
Well , i was dying to see Johnny doing songs from American Recordings live and i was NOT disappointed. The bulk of the set comprises he and his band doing the Greatest Hits and would be worth buying for that alone as a snapshot of the Man caught late on in his career , still at a peak. The real treat for me though is when the band take a backseat and Johnny brings out the black acoustic guitar and treats us to live renditions of songs from his Classic "American Recordings" album . A real treat.He kicks off with Delia's Gone followed by Tennesee Stud , Let The Train Blow The Whistle , Bird On A Wire , The Beast In Me and then Redemption .Truly fantastic stuff . If you,re a fan of Cash in general it's worth getting but it's utterly essential if you love his first Rick Rubin produced record.
I'll be playing that album and watching this disc 'til i die !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Cash at Montreux, 8 Sep 2005
This review is from: Live At Montreux 1994 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I'll have to give this dvd 5 stars, despite the fact that JC sounds a bit weary and tired, especially during the first songs. He obviously has some health-related voice problems. Maybe from the jaw-operations. But the fine thing with this concert is that he just gets better and better.
The tunes that really open up this dvd for me are the tunes he does alone with his guitar, the stuff from his "American recordings" album. Now this is where his uniqueness as a performer shines through: that inimitabe intimacy, that direct rapport with the audience that very few performers have. And his voice suddenly resounds and rumbles and quivers as it should! It is not that the other performances are bad, but they are more routine stuff, and I don't think JC adds anything to them that make them stand out from his other excellent performances of those same songs. The band is fine: David Roe is very good on the upright bass. Wooton and Holland are solid, they can't make mistakes. JCs son plays rhythm guitar like his life depended on it and June Carter comes out for "Jackson" and a sing-along version of "Will the circle be unbroken". The concert ends aptly with a fine version of "The Next Time I'm in Town". Cash's sense of humour is also displayed, f.x. in the duet with June on "Jackson". Highly recommendable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hello, He's Johnny Cash, 11 April 2006
This review is from: Live At Montreux 1994 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The recent Walk The Line biopic following the early career, self destruction and ultimate redemption of Johnny Cash does not do the Man In Black full justice. Whilst the brooding presence of Joaquin Pheonix ticks many boxes,including a passable imitation of "that voice", a few minutes into "Johnny Cash - Live at Montreux 1994", you'll be captivated by the strutting, commanding aura of the man himself.
This concert, filmed whilst Cash would have been in his early sixties, spans every age. From the early Sun Records songs (Get Rhythm)to Ring of Fire (co-written by June Carter), Ghost Riders in the Sky, right up to his latest - American Recordings, produced by the impossibly bearded Rick Rubin.
Cash & The Tennessee Three are joined by John Carter Cash on various acoustic guitars throughout the performance, along with June Carter on Jackson (of course) and Will The Circle Be Unbroken.
What must surely tip anyone having any doubts as to whether to purchase this DVD or not, will be the promise of the midsection of this uniquely beautiful show. Alone with just his trademark, black Martin guitar and a voice sculpted by God himself, J R Cash sings the songs that reinvented him in the publics eyes and pathed the way to his recent 600% rise in sales following the movie. There may never be a sadder lament sung than Delia's Gone.
The sound takes a few tracks to settle down and although the crowd are enthusiastic, it is part of a festival and not the "young long haired" element that would venerate Cash following his Glastonbury appearance.
There are no reasons why this is not worthy of five stars that I can see. It is something that I return to constantly to find inspiration and entertainment from and will certainly be of interest to the curious and the knowledgeable alike. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stripped Back Cash, 2 Jan 2007
By 
R. W. Humphreys (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At Montreux 1994 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Shot n 1994 at Montreaux Jazz Festival. Johnny was not even top of the bill as he referred several times to Dwight Yokum coming on after him. It was a very tight performance and with a stripped down band - a mean black hattted outlaw looking Bob Wooton, John Rowe on standup bass, WS Holland on drums and John Carter Cash on acoustic guitar. Johnny had a little set when he featured songs from the American albums - just him and his big black Martin guitar. The rest of the act was well chosen with mostly early songs like Get Rhythm, Guess Things Happen That Way, I Walk The Line. Johnny did something I've known about but not seen him do before - explain how he put a piece of paper between the frets and strings of his guitar to create a snare drum snappy sound on his early records - he showed exactly how he did this and played to demonstrate it in action. The familiar Orange Blossom Special two mouth harp sequence came over very well and full of energy. June Carter came out and did a duet with Johnny on Jackson and followed that with Will The Circle Be Unbroken. June looked marvellous for her age and it made me very sad to realise that within ten years of this performance both she and Johnny would have passed on. The love between these two never fails to show through. We will not see their likes again. June even took the trouble to speak to the audience in French.

All in all a very nice dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not at his best but ok., 25 July 2007
By 
Musicfan (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Live At Montreux 1994 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Johnny Cash is one of my heros and I was excited to receive this DVD. I was disappointed. The sound on some songs, especially the early ones is poor. Whether that is down to the sound mix or the mastering, I know not. The great man himself sounds tired and not particularly inspired for the majority of the performance. Although always worth watching, he is not at his best. He is very impressive on the newer songs and that is by far the best part of the DVD. This is a must for Johnny Cash fans who want everything by the great man. For those wanting a concert performance by Johnny Cash at his best, I would recommend the 'Live in Austin' DVD. It goes back a few years but it is far superior in terms of sound and performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sun master shows his class even at 62, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Montreux 1994 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Looking for my first Johnny Cash DVD after beginning to build up my Johnny Cash CD collection I studied the reviews of current DVD's available before making this choice, and also many of them on Youtube first.

Austin City Limits looked to be a strnng favourite but was on the expensive and short side for as the only new copy was available from Germany. In watch Glastobury on Youtube this was pretty good, but Johnny at times seemed to have a slight throat problem. So I went for this Montreaux concert noting some said the sound was a bit week on Johnny's microphone.

I can see a slight point here as I thought this on the opening "Folsum Prison Blues", and on the "Hello I'm Johnny Cash" after "Get Rythmn", but after that, I am pleased to report that I did not find any soft sound problems from Johnny's microphone. Also, there is a calrity to the sound of the acccoustic intstruments throughout, so any negative comments on sound quality I found to be be exaggerated.

Some said tha the standards were deleivered with inspiration. Again I would not agree, remmber Johnny was well into his 60's at the time.

In fact it's a great perfomance from one of the Sun master's and no matter where you look you can't get better than those pioneer's who learnt thet craft at Sun. Elvis, Roy, Johnny all irreplaceable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so good performance, 23 Aug 2007
This review is from: Live At Montreux 1994 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The reason for my comment is that a lot of people give this concert DVD
5 stars, but Cash was capable of giving much better show infront of
also better audience than this one.
He is obviously tired besides being in not so good health at this show.
Picture is great, but sound is a bit mellow in my opinon, but that's
matter of taste.
This concert is not bad at all, just don't expect too much after reading
other reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Man inB lackat his best, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Montreux 1994 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
A vastly under rated song writer, but this man is behind many songs we take for granted. This performance from 1994 I rate as one of his best, along with Glastonbury. Worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars live at montreux dvd1994, 15 Feb 2012
By 
Jack Pittam (middlesbrough England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Montreux 1994 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is an excellent dvd that also features johnnies wife some classic songs it was bought for a friend and we watched it to check the quality and it really is worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing, 2 April 2009
By 
P. J. Beasley (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At Montreux 1994 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The middle section, with just Johnny and his guitar is magical, but the numbers with the band are slightly disappointing, because his voice is not as powerful as it was and the amplification of his voice is not quite loud enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At Montreux 1994 [DVD] [2005]
Live At Montreux 1994 [DVD] [2005] by Johnny Cash (DVD - 2008)
12.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews