Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars10
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2006
I never bother to write reviews, but felt I had to on this occasion, as this album is just so good and deserves far more sales that it has achieved.

In a world where every other rock/indie band sounds the same, Louis XIV are a breath of fresh air.

If you think that tapping of toes, nodding of head, and smile on face, are signs of an excellent album, then for your own sake, buy this.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2008
Stunning & audacious without ever sounding over-stretched. Reminds me of Iggy Pop at his driven best. Comparisons to T. Rex et al are right on the money too. Very impressed after just one listen. Is this the sound Prince was striving for but never quite found in the early eighties?

Actually, comparing them to these other artists isn't going to do Louis' justice. They are amply good enough to stand on their own without their needing to kow-tow or be pigeon holed by wannabe journo's (guilty!) on Amazon.

Hugely musical, hugely entertaining and with the depth and assuredness of really good musicians playing really good music!
I recommend you buy it for home, car, ipod or what ever.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2005
This album is completely different to anything else I've heard before. I heard 'Pledge of Allegiance' on a snowboard DVD and I've been hooked ever since. You need to listen to them yourself to hear their unique sound. Buy it now!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2011
I got this album on the strength of the other reviews and the cheap price of a good second hand copy but having listened to it I would have gladly paid full price. It's a gem of intelligent attitude rock very reminiscent in places of Richard Hell and the Voidoids. Catchy and challenging by turns, never boring, great listen that will bear playing over and over. I will now be chasing up their other stuff, buy it, it's great!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2006
please do your ears a favour and just buy this and listen too a sexy,leather trouser wearin` good album
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2011
Brilliantly sleazy.

Remember Dogs D'Amour? Well imagine that they were good, bring them up to date and you've got Louis XIV.

It's properly illicit rock'n'roll. Sex and drugs and minor perversions. Fantastic.

Oh, and the CD looks like a 7" (5") single - nice touch.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2005
somewhere between the Rolling Stones, T Rex & The Rocky Horror Show, yes it sounds a bit odd but just have a listen. i wasnt too keen at first but the more i listen to it the more i want to listen to it! its amazing, to have a look at the video for the new single go to- [...] and click on the "finding out true love is blind" link and have a listen for yourselves.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2005
this is a whole new revolution of music. i adore this album! even though it isn't available in the UK yet, it is worth the money because there is nothing quite like this band's unique musicality :)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
Excellent Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
great thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)