Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great musical with great music !
The story of Ruth Etting is well known and Doris Day who incidentally bares not the slightest resemblance to her plays the part magnificently in this 1955 spectacular.

The wonderful musical numbers are arranged and conducted by the late great Percy Faith who Doris Day specifically requested the studio to hire for the job,even though the studio bosses already...
Published on 23 Nov 2006 by Captain Kirk

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars love me or leave me
Having purchased the item I found when I received it that it clearly says on the cover NoT TO BE USED OUTSIDE OF THE USA OR CANADA.I then had to go through the process of returns which entailed sending it back to the States just so inconveinient.
Published on 16 Feb 2011 by penny


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Doris Day performance, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a film- the story of Ruth Etting - that is completely different from the other lighter performances by Doris Day of whom I am a great fan. It is dramatic and she is so well matched by the unlikeable character portrayed by James Cagney. I have always thought that this is one of DD's best films and have watched it many times. The musical numbers are great and span many styles. Thoroughly recommended for Doris Day fans but don't expect the usual more lightweight musical films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dorris Day at her most serious!, 31 Dec 2013
By 
Juan Carlos Mateo (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Me Or Leave Me [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This film is about love and obsession, about being rejected and also about being a control freak. It goes back to the fraise 'the road to hell is paved with good intentions'. Doris Day had it all and serious acting was one of those attributes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cagney & Day are great, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Peter Ludley (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst biographies on film are alrered mostly for dramatic effect 'Love me or Leave Me' is an excellent film. Fine acting by Cagney & also Doris in a dramatic type role. The songs are great. Also a bit of humour. The film is well worth viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great classic, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film, both actors at their best. All about a girl who wants to go places and will use anyone to get there, a touching and gritty film. If you like James Cagney and or Doris Day, its well worth putting in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love me or Leave Me DVD, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent Doris Day film in one of her best and lesser known film roles. A must for any Doris Day fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars my rating of love me or leave me, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ithought doris,s voice was not up to her usual standard of some of her other dvd,s that i have got
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved the film, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this film for my mumshe loved it. what a great actor james cagney is i always enjoy his films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Me Or Leave Me [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
As usual, excellent service and product, very pleased with it, I shall order more from the same site in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good story and fabulous singing from Doris Day, 24 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Doris Day classic in every sense. Good story and fabulous singing from Doris Day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars love me or leave me, 16 Feb 2011
Having purchased the item I found when I received it that it clearly says on the cover NoT TO BE USED OUTSIDE OF THE USA OR CANADA.I then had to go through the process of returns which entailed sending it back to the States just so inconveinient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Me Or Leave Me [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£8.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews