Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!
Having watched a fair few music DVDs, there is a tendency for some acts to come across as bland compared to their albums. Not the case here! Mike Rutherford has formed a band that does more than justice to his solo work and with the highly talented, yet very much underrated Paul Carrack on vocals, this is quite simply a beautifully crafted live show with feeling and...
Published on 16 Mar. 2005 by S. Nock

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed
Very dissapointed with the audio on this whoever mixed it should go back to school, however a solid performance from the guys and worth a look.
Published on 13 Jan. 2010 by Musicman 100


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 16 Mar. 2005
By 
S. Nock "Respighi" (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mike & The Mechanics - Live At Shepherds Bush [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Having watched a fair few music DVDs, there is a tendency for some acts to come across as bland compared to their albums. Not the case here! Mike Rutherford has formed a band that does more than justice to his solo work and with the highly talented, yet very much underrated Paul Carrack on vocals, this is quite simply a beautifully crafted live show with feeling and passion. The vocals are exemplary, and all musicians gel to provide a wonderful sound, crisp and brilliantly presented. The highlight was the rendition of Living Years which brought a tear or two to my eyes, and the rest of the tracks, well, they're not far behind. One of the best music DVDs I have. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Awsome Show!!!!!!!!!, 14 Aug. 2005
By 
StevieO (N. Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mike & The Mechanics - Live At Shepherds Bush [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is the first time I have seen these guys perform,and what a show!!!!!!!!!!!
Led by the incomparable Paul Carrack,who in my mind is the most underated vocalists around today,he gets better and better.Having seen him a few times on his solo gigs,this man is a gem.Being a drummer myself,I find the whole band awsome in their approach and delivery.
Each song carefully crafted,the sound is superb,what more can one ask for.This should be seen to be believed.With a very mixed audience,young and old,it just shows they appeal to large number of people.
All the hits are there,Another Cup of Coffee,Silent Running,and the best,The Living Years.Buy this one now,its worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch!, 1 May 2007
By 
Michael Bermingham "mjbermingham" (Birr,County Offaly,Ireland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike & The Mechanics - Live At Shepherds Bush [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
As a long time fan of both Genesis and Mike And The Mechanics I find this concert to be top notch.Recorded at Sheperds Bush Empire its pure class from start to finish.The venue, being smaller and more intimate than most, makes for a magical and very personal performance.

Paul Carrack is in fine voice and with superb backing from the band the result is a tight and perfect show.Most of their well known songs are included.Personal favourites for me are 'Word Of Mouth' and Mike Rutherfords gorgeous 'The Living Years'.The late Paul Young is also remembered with a fine rendition of 'Beggar On A Beach Of Gold'.

Overall a concert of fourteen tracks with four off their album 'Rewired', all superb particularly, 'Perfect Child'.Simply class and highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally wonderfull!!!, 3 April 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike & The Mechanics - Live At Shepherds Bush [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Well if like myself you are a true Mike and the Mechanics fan then this is a must for you!! The first release of a M and the M dvd ever!! and this is great.The concert was filmed in Sheperds bush London.The sound is excellent offering a choice of dts 5.1 or 5.1 or dolby stereo.Good to see Gary Wallis,Jamie Mosey and The original Mechanics drummer back here too!(Peter Van Hooke!!)The backing singers are brilliant too! watch out for an attractive blonde that almost distracts you from the show itself!!lol!(A great voice as well!!I'm in love!! lol)
Brilliant,great sound and as always a brilliant gathering of high class musicians!
(with respect to the late great Paul Young)
Buy It now!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 10 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike & The Mechanics - Live At Shepherds Bush [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I love watching this DVD: the music is good and you can see everyone in the audience clearly. They're enjoying the concert and joining in. Yes, on ' A Beggar on a Beach of Gold' the sound balance is a bit off, but it's still good. On the whole this is a very entertaining concert and some of their songs are quite moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exemplary musicianship, 26 April 2014
By 
BobM (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike & The Mechanics - Live At Shepherds Bush [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Having watched Paul Carrack live on his current UK tour, and being familiar with Mike and the Mechanics (I, like many, have their greatest hits album in my CD collection), and not even realising that Carrack was the current lead vocalist, I was inspired to buy this DVD.
What can be said other than Rutherford, Carrack and the other musicians making up the Mechanics are very good indeed.
With a smattering of greatest hits and some less well known (to the masses at any rate) songs, I was impressed with everything.
Completely in harmony with one another, with a complementary male and female backing singer combo, not a bad moment.
Sound and video quality was first rate.
The extras include a relaxed interview with Carrack and Rutherford, coupled with behind the scenes snippets, which is also well worth a watch.
You won't be disappointed, in my opinion, with this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Concert, 15 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike & The Mechanics - Live At Shepherds Bush [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Very good concert. Professional. Full range of their music/hits.
DVD worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mick and the mechanics, 27 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike & The Mechanics - Live At Shepherds Bush [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
dvd of this brilliant group live act and promo videos worth every penny of the cost I didnt realise how good they were until I saw the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good addition tomy library, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike & The Mechanics - Live At Shepherds Bush [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Big fan of Mike and the Mechanics and Paul Carrack but I didn't think this was as good as some had said. Luckily I have tickets to see them in a couple of weeks and whilst I really rate Paul Carrack I think the new vocalists Mike Rutherford has found are really up there.
Really good dvd for their fans to enjoy many times over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mike and the Mechanics, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike & The Mechanics - Live At Shepherds Bush [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
A great pity Paul Young was by now no longer a part of this his vocals and on stage presence sorely missed however Paul Carrack is on great form and the songs old and new are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mike & The Mechanics - Live At Shepherds Bush [DVD] [2005]
£14.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews