Customer Reviews


232 Reviews
5 star:
 (177)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutly spine-tingling!!
This is without a doubt, the best film I have ever seen!!! The special effects are fantastic and the direction by Ron Howard combined with the power of the amazing actors, makes this film a MUST SEE MOVIE!!
I've seen it nearly 20 times and it still, to this day, makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up!!
A powerful, gripping, amazingly directed, superbly...
Published on 13 Jan. 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars check your internet before purchasing through instant video.
The film itself is fantastic and as a family we have watched it many times over the years. My daughter had to watch a space film for school homework and as it wasn't planned to be on TV we decided to buy it. As we had bought a new HD TV before Christmas we thought buying the HD version on Amazon Instant Video was a good idea. It wasn't, it was only in HD when there were...
Published 4 months ago by Pearsonperson


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutly spine-tingling!!, 13 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Apollo 13 [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This is without a doubt, the best film I have ever seen!!! The special effects are fantastic and the direction by Ron Howard combined with the power of the amazing actors, makes this film a MUST SEE MOVIE!!
I've seen it nearly 20 times and it still, to this day, makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up!!
A powerful, gripping, amazingly directed, superbly acted, brilliant film!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent bonus material, 1 Jun. 2006
This review is from: Apollo 13 (2 Disc Special Edition) [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
We all know how good this film is. But what you may not know is how good the bonus material is. There are interviews with the real astronauts and recording of the actual radio transmitions from Apollo 13. Many of these were used to help with the script.

The film - 5 Stars

The extras - 5 Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly remarkable film of a truly remarkable story, 2 May 2014
By 
David P (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Apollo 13 [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
There really cannot be anyone on the planet who does not know the ending to this story, so to be able to create a film that still manages to keep you on the edge of your seat throughout and then bring a feeling of such elation at the end is a massive achievement. Of course this also means that you can watch this film many times over and never tire of it.

If you lived through the Apollo era, and Apollo 13 in particular, this is a wonderful reminder of the awe and excitement we all felt as we watched all these brave explorers. If you didn't, this is a wonderful insight to the so recent and yet so different era of what we would now consider primitive technology, where men climbed in to a craft little bigger than a caravan with computing power so much less than we all now routinely carry around in our pockets, and travelled to the moon. The love and attention to detail in the making of this film is impressive in itself, and a testament to how what these people achieved is still regarded 40 years later. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story telling of an actual event, 28 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Apollo 13 (2 Disc Special Edition) [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
Considering every living being in the civilised world knows how this ends, Ron Howard has done a masterful job in maintaining suspense through to the end. Although some of the dialog is a bit jingoistic, the film really portrays the Herculean efforts that were made by the 'Tiger Team', led by Gene Kranz (brilliantly played by Ed Harris) and other unsung heroes (although Kranz and others received the Presidential Medal of Freedom for their efforts). It also tells of the pressure felt by the three astronauts during their ordeal, a quarter of a million miles from home. All in all an engrossing depiction of one of the most momentous events of space exploration. If you want drama, buy this and enjoy. If you want the solid facts then read the book “Lost Moon” (now published as “Apollo 13”) by someone who was there, Jim Lovell, Commander Apollo 13, co-written by Jeffrey Kluger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthey Upgrade, 14 July 2010
By 
Mrs. L. J. Harold "Mandalas" (Peterborough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again , my review is about the Blu-Ray and not the film its self..
I was a little duboius at fist as this film has allot of old NASA film stock cut into the film and mixing that with moden filmstock would give obvoius drawbacks when creating a perfect 1080 P picture that runs smoothly.
That said , I ate my words because this transfur is indeed close to perfection..
The resolution has been sharpend to a tee and the the colour looks vibrant catching the time period of the 1960's Eastman colour used in almost all moives and polaroids of that time.
The space effects now look sharper and REAL , with deeper backs and moon shots better than any genuine image taken through-out the late 1960's and early 70's.
Allot of work has gone into improoving the final print and it works.
The sound also is crisp with the now standard DTS HD master , then given the 5.1 domestic finshing to set your frontroom wall shaking during "blast off"..!

But for me the detail in costume and prop's always gives me the most pleasure , the fabrics weave can be seen in the sweaters ,and even the time can be clearly seen on all of the lovely OMEGA watch's worn by the crew and NASA staff.
I great movie improoved to a FANTASTIC movie , worth the money and the 1080 treatmant !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great dvd and movie!!, 18 Jan. 2001
This review is from: Apollo 13 [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
The DVD is brillient and really interesting it tell's you everthing about the movie it even has jim lovell and his wife decribing ever shot of the film telling you whats real and isn't. the movie everyone should know by now it tells of the ill fated flight of apollo 13 to the moon and the way everyone at nasa got the crew back home. Whats brillent is that everyone knows the ending but you still enjoy the film again and again. Worth having in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exhilarating recreation., 25 Jan. 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Apollo 13 [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This is a recreation of America's third NASA mission to land on the moon in 1970, and the subsequent disaster that almost befell the mission........

Director Ron Howard and his producer Brian Grazer, made a top draw picture about an incident that everyone knew the outcome too. That it engrosses and thrills to make the inevitable denouement a mere component of a whole, is quite a fabulous achievement. Sure it can be said that it lacks a certain political appendage {RE:The Right Stuff}, but for the duration of this picture we are wowed by the design and construction on offer. It would have been easy for Howard to use stock footage of real NASA missions, but all sequences are recreated by the makers with astonishingly impacting results, thus adding authenticity to the palpable tension when things go belly up.

Howard was wise in his choice of leading man, who better than Tom Hanks {Jim Lovell, who's memoirs the script worked from} to portray a bastion of Americana?, nobody, because Hanks is perfect, as are Bill Paxton {Fred Haise} and Kevin Bacon {John Swigart} sitting either side of Hanks, a couple of bona fide solid and respected actors you could not have wished to have. Down on the ground the acting is also exemplary, Kathleen Quinlan as the fraught Marylyn Lovell is fantastic, with Ed Harris {Gene Kranz} and Gary Sinise {Ken Mattingly} adding emotional weight to the unfolding drama. With Howard reining in his trade mark sentimental flourishes, Apollo 13 relies on its story and its craft to steer it safely home, and safely home it gets, just like the men of Apolo 13. To give us a punch the air joy that comes as much out of tension relief as it does because of raw human emotion, quite a picture indeed. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all-time favourites!, 19 Jan. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apollo 13 [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite movies! Starring Tom Hanks, Bill Paxton, Kevin Bacon and an all star cast. It has been less than a year since man first walked on the moon, but as far as the american public were concerned, Apollo 13 was just another 'routine' space flight. Until these words peirced the imense void of space: 'Houston we have a problem'. stranded 205,000 miles from Earth in a crippled Spacecraft astronauts Jim Lovell (Hanks) Fred Haise (Paxton) and Jack Swigert (Bacon) fight a desperate battle to survive. Flight director Gene Kranz (Ed Harris) and a heroic ground crew race againt time-and the odds- to bring the 3 men home. It's a breathtaking adventure that tells a story of courage, faith, and ingenuity thats all the more remarkable becuse it is true! The special effects are pretty darn cool. I can't believe that none of the footage of the liftoff is completely original. If you want to demonstrate the power of your home system, this is the chapter for you. Its got amazing sound and visuals. I also love the fact that in the interior spacecraft scenes they are actually floating around in there, and not held up by wires (They did this using a KC-135 weightless environment aircraft). It definitely adds more credibility to this film. The movie is overall fantastic accomopainied by great music from James Horner(who did Titanic and the Perfect Storm). In my opinion, anyone who likes great movies or who is interested in space flight or adventure SHOULD BUY THIS MOVIE!!!!!!!!!! You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A truly human story despite all the technology, 1 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Apollo 13 (2 Disc Special Edition) [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
APOLLO 13 is one of those films you either love or hate, and how you respond to it seems to depend on how important you feel that the story of humanity's quest to reach out into space actually is. However, as a fictionalized account of a true story about trying to survive against all the odds there's precious little to beat it.

The semi-documentary style is a really effective way to tell the story and as such gives a lot of technical insight into the fascinating story of America's quest to put men on the moon. The attention to detail in the production design is phenomenal with both mission control and the spacecraft hardware being recreated in loving detail. Sadly, such meticulous attention to detail cannot extend to some of the finer points of the script because the nature of telling a five day story in just over two hours means that the scriptwriters by necessity have to play around a little with - and add "drama" to - the actual events and personalities involved. Whether such a compelling story needs drama adding to it is debateable, but I suppose that that's just part of the art of moviemaking. In-flight disagreements, dream sequences and the fact that a number of outstanding members of the NASA staff are compressed into fewer characters, are all examples of liberties made to make the story more "cinematic", but despite that, all the essentials of what remains a truly human story despite all the technology are still there and you are left with a vivid and lasting impression of what happened during what many consider to be NASA's "finest hour". Ron Howard proves, once again to be a master at manipulating the emotions as you are carried along with the plight of these brave men, their families and their support staff and you'd have to have a heart of stone not to be moved by the ending.

This "special edition" includes 2 commentaries. Ron Howard gives you the Director's opinions from the point of view of a film production on the first and the second is from the perspective of the astronaut played by Tom Hanks in the film, Jim Lovell and his wife Marilyn which adds a much more "real world" perspective on the proceedings. The documentary package on disc 2 is excellent with a 58 minute piece on the real flight of Apollo 13, a 48 minute NASA piece looking at a wider history of spaceflight, and a 12 minute US television piece about the mission including short interviews with some of those involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AN ACTION PACKED STORY OF SURVIVAL AGAINST ALL THE ODDS, 15 Nov. 2000
This review is from: Apollo 13 [VHS] [1995] (VHS Tape)
Apollo 13 tells the true story of a failed space mission which took place less than a year after Louis Armstrong touched down on the moon. Stranded 1000's of miles from home in a crippled spacecraft, Jim Lovell who is played brilliantly by Tom Hanks, Fred Haise (Bill Paxton) and Jack Swigert (Kevin Bacon) fight to keep alive.
Back on earth a heroic ground crew which includes astronaut Ken Mattingly and flight director Gene Kranz battle desperately against time and all the odds to bring their astronauts back to earth.
Famous for it's phrase, "Houston We Have A Problem" Apollo 13 has been excellently portrayed by director Ron Howard. It is an exciting film that tells a story of survival, faith and courage. Because the film is based on a true story the emotions and moods that are created are all the more effective. These range from despair and desperation all the way through to joy and relief. Apollo 13 is a feel good film and by the end you will find yourself willing the disabled spacecraft back to earth.
The quality of acting is very high but Tom Hanks particularly stands out. Apollo 13 compares very well to many of Hank's classic films, but credit has to go to director Ron Howard. As mentioned earlier he has transformed a real life event into a dramatic film that has so many twists and turns, it will leave you squirming in your seat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Apollo 13 (2 Disc Special Edition) [1995] [DVD]
£4.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews