Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
137
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2005
There is music you love, and there is music you LOVE. Sure we all like listening to loads of different bands, but it is very rare that we pick up a CD by a band who we aren't too familiar with, and then feel the need to put that album in our list of all time favourites after just a few spins. Fiercer than the creature on the front of the album, Ascendancy has already earned a place at the top of my collection - and that's a long distance from the floor.
The album incorporates a variety of styles into 12 monstrous tracks. If you like fast heavy music then buy this album. If you like a blend of melodic and hardcore vocals then buy this album. If you would like to hear a classic metal sound updated with originality then buy this album. If you've got long hair you can throw around then you must buy this album, and for those of you like myself who don't have long hair, buy this album anyway - you wont be disappointed.

Energetic and Addictive, Trivium's Ascendancy stands a good chance of earning album of the year status, even though were not even a third of the way through. There is a good blend of heavy and melodic tracks which are inevitable for fans of Killswitch Engage and Shadows Fall with tracks such as 'Drowned and Torn Asunder' and 'Like Light To Flies', but also you can make comparisons to classic metal influences - I can hear signs of Maiden and Metallica drawn in but this is no clone, this is the product of four guys who obviously have a strong passion for what they do and have produced a CD which will set high standards.
Although these guys are only just making their mark in the UK, I think this album will earn them high respect from a lot of metal fans, just listen to 'A Gunshot To The Head Of Trepidation' and you can picture thousands of fans singing along. This band can play their music, words won't help describe it as much as listening to the band will- so my recommendation for you all is to get this album (i'm sure I've made that clear enough!)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2006
Remember when Trivium released Ascendancy and sent a little shock wave through the metal scene and are now selling out massive venue's accross the UK? Its amazing what a year can do for you! making covers of many magazines and going on tour with the likes of Maiden says alot!! As well as playing a career definign set at download on the saturday morning!
What hasn't been said about the album? Pull harder and Like Light To Flies were some of the best songs of 2005.
Add an awesome song in Washing Away Me In The Tides is a nice edition. Fits in nicely with the orignal album.
Where this special edt album shines is in the videos and live footage from the astoria in london.
For once a band doesnt just release an extra song or re-release an old album from before they were "big". Its a nice change and the videos as well as live footage are top notch and very well put together!!
How to make a great album better? Do this :)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2006
Hmm, at the risk of incurring the wrath of everyone else on here, I must say that this record is overrated, as are the band. I bought this, perhaps foolishly, on the strength of 'Pull Harder...', which is a belter, but after a few listens lost interest. Basically I grew up on Maiden and the 'tallica (no, I'm not some jaded old bastard; I'm 23) and this really adds nothing new for me. They are a VERY competent band technically, and fairly decent songwriters, but this record loses its initial appeal very quickly. As a live band they're the same, to be honest: extremely slick, tight and aggressive, but leaving little lasting impression.

Go and buy Iron Maiden's 'Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son' and Metallica's 'Ride The Lightning' and then wonder who the hell these Trivium fellas were anyway...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2006
Triviums re-released 'Ascendancy' album is a well worth buy for any serious metal fan! The original 'Ascendancy' album was amazing as the sales suggest but this new version offers loads more. For one there is loads of well fimled live footage which shows those who havnt had the privalage of seeing Trivium live how good this band realy are. Included on this special edition album is a new previously un-released track 'Washing Away In The Tides' which in my opinion is one of their best to date. Also present on the disc the video for 'Rain' (My fav Trivium track!!!) which kicks ass! Honestly from a metal fan to a metal fan buy this album. You will not regret it!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2006
Trivium kick ass!! and so does this album
Unlike bands like Bullet For My Valentine, which I got bored of very quickly, I find myself listening to this album over and over again. It's just brilliant!
With a combination of awsome guiatr riffs, pounding vocals, and powerful lyrics Ascenancy is the best album ive heard in a long time.
If you like proper metal music you WILL love this.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2006
Okay, first things first. I may be biased. I am a HUGE Trivium fan. I've seen them numerous of times live. Put that aside, it is HOW I became a Trivium fan that counts here. Before I saw them for the first time I'd only heard their first single "Pull Harder On The Strings Of Your Martyr" Well picture this, a cloudy miserable day at Donington,UK. Its June 2005 and 40,000 metalheads unwillingly walk towards the mainstage with massive hangovers which won't leave them for a few hours at least. The End Of Everything kicks in (the intro to this album) and the chant of "Trivium, Trivium" begins. The band open with a song I later find out is called "Rain". All I can remember is the whole crowd becoming a huge mosh pit for the whole set. "Pull Harder On The Strings Of Your Martyr" kicks in and the whole place goes mental. I've gone to gigs and shows for years and I've never seen a reaction like that. So, spellbounded by the awesome experience I'd just witnessed I decided that I would purchase a copy of their second album (at the time I thought it was their debut). As their live performance did at Donington that day, the CD starts off with the somewhat bewitching intro of 'End Of Everything'. This leads into the ferociously heavy 'Rain' which basically sets the tone for the whole album. Its heavy, fast, sometimes melodic and furious fretwork involvement. 'Pull Harder...' is one of the finest metal riffs written in the last few years. 'Drowned and Torn Asunder' and the huge chorus in the album title track 'Ascendancy' pave the way for the two highlights of this album. For me you won't hear a better 7 minutes of metal until Trivium release 'The Crusade' in October later this year. 'A Gunshot To The Head Of Trepidation' intertwines advanced solo's, fist pumping crowds and a melodic chorus which really shines through as Trivium's finest moment on this CD. 'Like Light To Flies' follows on with a superb metal riff. I particularly like the chorus here, it works extremely well. 'Dying In Your Arms' is a more melodic song which shows that Trivium can write for a wider audience (aka commercial success). 'The Deceived' returns us to the ferociousity of the whole album (this is the song where 6 circle pits started at Donington in 2005) and finishes with 'Suffocating Sight', 'Departure' and 'Declaration'. In these last 3 songs in particular you can hear the bands influences shining through. The likes of Metallica, Megadeth and Iron Maiden have been seen as the pinnacle bands of heavy metal and thrash. This band could go all the way and release many albums full of heavy metal quality. Or they could do what many bands did after the heyday of nu metal, and fade away. I hope its the first, they have the raw talent and for their age are fantastic musicians. Buy this album!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2005
Just to say Trivium are pure metal, the guitars are outstanding
they work well in every song, going from screaming in the verses to very melodic singing.
With the screaming it's very throat-killing and just makes you think how much he loses his voice on tour but with the singing it's probably the most melodic I've ever heard.
The lyrics are also well thought through there not about broken relationships (what most bands resort to) lyrics are basically like this: Disintegration constituents to decompose of the parts/A malformation utopia systematic unity can't be achieved.
What the hell that means!!
Unlike ember to inferno (also very good) this album has the long 6 minute songs but I was suprised at songs like dying in your arms and departure as they changed there own style of screaming (verses) and singing (choruses) and mixed it up making more variety.
It is also amazing these guys are 19 years old, if l would of heard this without seeing the band I would of swore they were veterans of metal.
The stand out songs to me are: Rain, Pull harder on the strings of your martyr, Like light to the flies, gunshot to the head of trepidation, dying in your arms and departure.
This album is for people who like there metal hard yet also melodic (not just sceaming all the way through).
I believe they can probably do better in the future but this is bloody professional, band of the year.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2008
With this album Trivium show two things:

1)That with some good production and a respected record label, you can make an album much better than your minor label debut (although Ember to Inferno is still a great album).

2)They prove (along with Bullet for my Valentine) that 'metalcore' doesn't have to be lame with a camp frontman dancing around screaming like a 3 year-old girl.

This special edition is much better than the regular version becuase of the bonus DVD with part of a live concert and some music videos. I will come to that later. First, lets do a track run through of the CD:

The End of Everything - An instrumental opener with lots of dark-sounding piano and classical guitar. 5/10

Rain - The first 'proper' song with a nice riff and some good screams. However, one of the riffs in the song sounds a lot like 'Heaven and Hell' by Black Sabbath ;) oh well. 7/10

Pull Harder on the Strings of your Martyr - Fantastic song that is still used by them to end their live sets. Great drumming from rhythm machine Travis Smith who is probably the second best player of double bass pedals of all time (just behind the great Tommy Aldridge) and with a nice chorus. 9/10

Drowned and Torn Asunder - A standard metal tune with good guitar harmonys and a good solo. Not very memorable though. 6/10

Ascendancy - A good title track (usually they suck!) with a good sing-along chorus. 7/10

A Gunshot to the Head of Trepidation - My favourite song on the album. Great riff, drumming, solo and lyrics. Also, the chorus is just great to shout along to and the breakdown fantastic for live. 10/10

Like Light to the Flies - Another fantastic song however it is slightly different to the single version. Matt Heafy's solo in this song is also my favourite solo of all time (just infront of Ritchie Blackmore's one in Rainbow's 'Tarot Woman'). 9/10

Dying in Your Arms - A 'nice ballad' attemp by Trivium. It works quite well giving the crowd a break from moshing at their live gigs. 8/10

The Deceived - Another pretty decent song with a good chorus and guitar work from Corey Beaulieu. 8/10

Suffocating Sight - A much shorter and faster track. A sort of attempt at thrash metal here which doesn't quite do it for me. Again, not very memorable. 6/10

Departure - Another fairly standard metal song. 7/10

Declaration - A 6mins+ album closer with a grea riff, solo and lyrics. 8/10

Washing Away Me in the Tides - A bonus track for this edition. Ok but nothing special. 7/10

Now the reason you want to buy this version rather than the standard one is because of the DVD. The 5 songs from the concert recorded at the London Astoria are the highlight of this package and really showcase how good Trivium are live. The 4 videos on it are ok but I usually find the Trivium videos generally are pretty lame and boring so you will probably only watch these once. However, it is interesting to watch the 'Like Light to the Flies' video to see how much the song has been changed for the album. That video also features their old bassist Brent Young instead of current bass wizard Paolo Gregoletto.

Overall I gave this product 5 stars because of it's brilliance. While every track may not be a hit, as an album it is fantastic. The DVD is also worth having until they inevitably release a full concert DVD which I hope they do!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2007
This band has some serious talent, they can play their instrument flawlessly despite them being relatively young.

The End of Everything:

A melodic keyboard intro, flows well into rain, but becomes skipable very quickly. 4/10

Rain:

Brilliant opening riff, pounding double-bass drumming, which is continued throught the song, with yet more great riffs. 10/10

Pull Harder On The Strings Of Your Martyr:

Again great drumming, beautiful intro. great catchy chorus. 10/10

Drowned and Torn Asunder:

Not as good as the previous two tracks, but still good. 8/10

Asendancy:

Brilliant title track, not as brutal as rain, but shows that matt can sing well with a great chorus. 9/10

Gunshot to the Head of Trepidation:

Awesome track, love the lyrics, brilliant guitar work. 10/10

Like Light to the Flies:

Not much lyrical content, but what there is si preformed amazingly. 9/10

Dying In Your Arms:

A short anthemic track, which is much lighter than the rest of the album 9/10

The Decieved:

A good solid track, nothing special, 8/10

Suffocating Sight:

Great riffs, fast beat, brilliant, 9.5/10

Departure:

A slow tempo compared to the other tracks, but great vocals and as always awesome musicianship. 9/10

Declaration:

Simplier to Departure, great lyrics, 9/10

not quite as good as the previous album but better than their last, in my opinion, but still a great album.

overall: 9.5/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2005
This album is the album i have been looking for.
This is the only metal band i have heard which mixes lots of different styles of metal and comes out with something good.
but its not just good...its fantastic.
For a band so young to come up with some of the best music i have heard in years is incredible.
They mix many styles of metal including hardcore,emo,nu,thrash perhaps even some death metal creeping in there too.
I like metal to be powerful and aggresive in the verse but in the chorus i like things to become more melodic and this album does it perfect. I enjoy good solo`s and the ones on this album are superb. Matt and Corey really are talented guitarist`s. The drumming on the album is crushing and brutal.
But what really does make the album is Matt`s singing. He puts howard jones (Killswitch Engage) to shame. Really aggresive vocals but incredibly melodic vocals in the choruses. It`s great to finally see a metal vocalist who can sing really well.
A true Superb album from start to finish.
My favorite song on the album is "A Gunshot To The Head Of Trepidation".
If you like bands like Killswitch Engage,Lamb Of God,Shadows Fall and Chimaira you will love this.
Trust Me!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)