Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ascendancy... Trivium Bite Back
After the hugely successful "Ember To Inferno" album on LifeForce records, Trivium signed up to RoadRunner for the recording of "Ascendancy", and was 2005 a year to remember.

The behemoth begins with "The End of Everything", a classical introduction with hidden power and dignity. It's a milestone saying "We're back".

The first 'real' track on the...
Published on 5 Jan 2007 by The Crusade

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant band, horrendous vocals
I bought 'Crusade' as an introduction to the band, and what a brilliant album. I was swayed by the reviews which said that Triviums' first album 'Ascendancy' was even better so I ordered it from Amazon. On listening to the second track I thought my CD player had gone wrong and had a recording of someone being sick on it. But no, this was the vocal style that unfortunately...
Published 21 months ago by kevind


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ascendancy... Trivium Bite Back, 5 Jan 2007
This review is from: Ascendancy [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
After the hugely successful "Ember To Inferno" album on LifeForce records, Trivium signed up to RoadRunner for the recording of "Ascendancy", and was 2005 a year to remember.

The behemoth begins with "The End of Everything", a classical introduction with hidden power and dignity. It's a milestone saying "We're back".

The first 'real' track on the album is "Rain", which runs straight from the previous track, into a brutal yet melodic dance of riffs and moshing-material.

"Pull Harder on the Strings of Your Martyr" was the first track released before the album came out, and it hit, hard, people were blown out of their seats. Trivium were back heavier than ever before. It was no longer a game.

"Drowned and Torn Asunder" has a nice melody to the chorus, and the vocals are amazing. "Ascendancy" didn't stand out much for me, however it means a lot to the band, at how they had "ascended from the ashes" and became bigger than ever.

"A Gunshot To The Head of Trepidation" is possibly the greatest track on the album. It runs fast, hitting everything in it's way. The video on the bonus DVD is terrific as well.

"Like Light To The Flies, an old Trivium live classic. It hits back with new effects and a jaw-dropping solo. "Dying In Your Arms" is questionable to some people... it is, in itself, a good song, Trivium just wanted their own "Fade to Black" type track, and I think they succeeded.

"The Deceived" is an old favourite of mine. Back bigger and better, it runs fast through your veins and makes your heart throb intensley. Heafy's growling vocals add to the power in this one.

"Suffocating Sight" makes a nice change, it's original and heavy, something never done before. However the keyboard effects slightly let it down.

"Departure" is an excellent song. Built on depression, letting people know that they're not the only ones, there is a light at the end of the tunnel... pure brilliance.

"Declaration", however, has to be my favourite track on the entire album. A 7 minute colossus that shows off everything Trivium has to offer. Riffs, solos, hard vobals, melody, darkness, the full works! Brilliant.

"Washing Away Me In The Tides" didn't do that much for me, but for a bonus track, it is very good.

The DVD's live performances are not superb, but that's only because you have to be there yourself to truly understand. The music videos are all fantasticly creative too. The added DVD is one of the best bits of the whole "Ascendancy" special edition.

In conclusion, this album receives 5 stars from me. It was near perfect, with a few things to be tweaked here and there, but, also considering the young age of the band, this is a masterpiece of metal history. Trivium truly will be the next Metallica.

x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taken back in time & loved it, 14 Feb 2006
By 
G. Gibb "gibby" (west lothian) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ascendancy (Audio CD)
Being a 36 year old i thought the time of good old thrash metal had passed.Growing up in the 80's was what it was all about obituary,morbid angel,repulsion bands that did something special.
For the last 15 years we have lost that.
I have been going to buy this cd so many times because of the reveiws and that wee sticker on the front, but its to easy to follow those reveiws that don't mean anything apart from give the record company the cash and you will listen to this once.
How wrong can i be about trivium what a cd old school guitars and drums that obituary would be proud of.
The only minor downside would be a little to much mike patton type vocals (nothing wrong with mike patton) but stick to the growling and full on vocal assault.
Anybody that loves grindcore & good thrash metal will love this. What a welcome change from the drivile we have listened to since scott burns took a back seat.
IM HAPPY SO SHOULD YOU BE, BUY TRIVIUM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pull Harder On Your Special Edition, 15 Mar 2006
This review is from: Ascendancy [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Remember when Trivium released Ascendancy and sent a little shock wave through the metal scene and are now selling out massive venue's accross the UK? Its amazing what a year can do for you! making covers of many magazines and going on tour with the likes of Maiden says alot!! As well as playing a career definign set at download on the saturday morning!
What hasn't been said about the album? Pull harder and Like Light To Flies were some of the best songs of 2005.
Add an awesome song in Washing Away Me In The Tides is a nice edition. Fits in nicely with the orignal album.
Where this special edt album shines is in the videos and live footage from the astoria in london.
For once a band doesnt just release an extra song or re-release an old album from before they were "big". Its a nice change and the videos as well as live footage are top notch and very well put together!!
How to make a great album better? Do this :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triviums re-release, BUY IT NOW!!, 15 Mar 2006
By 
ayesha smart (leeds, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ascendancy [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
there is a bonus DVD included in the package, with live footage videos and also videos that they have released along side previously unreleased 'Washing Away Me In The Tides' which is definately worth a listening to. the CD is amazing and deinfatly a well worth buy here a little track by track :
‘The End Of Everything’ was a contrasting way to start the album, its soft, subtle sounds prepare you for what your ears will shortly be experiencing, piano, guitar, and an eerie, gothic vocal backing.
‘Rain’, this is a great song, full of solos, full of the classic guitar. After that soft intro, you hear this, heavy, a contrast to the previous song.
‘Pull Harder On The Strings Of Your Martyr’, the drumming is the first thing that kicks you, and yes, it does kick you, this song is amazing, it features in the menu for the Roadrunner United DVD and grabs your attention. If you like guitar shredding then this is perfect for you metal fans out there
‘Drowned And Torn Asunder’ has a soft, slow riff to start with portraying Heafy’s vocal skills as pure heaven, which has made this song one of the most memorable.
‘Ascendancy’, the title track, and in its place it is perfect, the guitar was stupidly good, it has a slightly different feeling to it; the rhythm variates more from verse to chorus with different tempos.
‘A Gunshot To The Head Of Trepidation’, is a masterpiece of its own, again it has some stunning, and crowd-pleasing changes in speed, and a variety in tonal features, especially when the second part of the verses kicks in. There is a sense of teamwork shown in this song which is evident when the guitarists and bass play together as one.
‘Like Light To The Flies’, has a Metallica feel to it, old style heavy metal, straight in with a rampagent sound and thins out to a more melodically tuneful line in the chorus. When this song was originally recorded they still had the original bass player, though there is no audible difference as the trademark duo of Heafy and Beaulieu keep the style going. This song is a lot more powerful than most, with a slow and loud guitar solo, which is also possibly one of the longest.
‘Dying In Your Arms’, is the UKs favourite hit and not only that but mine. The softer sounds produced by tha band clearly show the extreme ranges of what they can do, comparing this with lets say the Decieved. the guitar intervals sounds divine and even the small pharases of screamin could not wreck the song.
‘The Deceived’, this is possibly one of the heaviest songs, at least in the verses anyway, with non-stop double-bass playing and an extremely heavy bass line that sounds like the lowest key on a grand piano. The chorus is one of the most memorable, different to the song but awesome.
‘Suffocating Sight’, this song has a fairly heavy intro and then you hear the song fully kick, very seriously. The drumming suggests unnatural ability and the verses are inspiring. You will be given time to breath in the catchy chorus, which will make the hairs stand up on the back of your neck when accompanied by the guitar at the end.
‘Departure’, has a slow beginning corss oving rhytms within the time signature. Its has a very soft beginning, but later on as it picks up and gets going, the drums, vocals, and guitars meld together into a masterpiece. The chorus is perhaps one of the nicest and most awe inspiring. Heafys vocal quliaties are amazing, you can hear the full extent of his voice, from strong and harmonic to the more gruff metal qualities
‘Declaration’, one of the better songs for drumming, this song is the longest, running in at seven minutes. What better way to end an album with a song that exploits all of their abilities in such a great way
There is no question this band have progressed so far and most likely to carry on either further. Each member noticeably tries to keep the other members involved, and they are very good at pleasing the crowds of people who have come to love them. All fans can do now is buy tickets, and await The Crusades
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing... again!, 15 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Ascendancy [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Once again Roadrunner have re-released another gem! this album was great the first time around and now with the bonus track "Washing Away Me In The Tides" and of course not forgetting the amazing live footage on the DVD its become much better! For all of the people who missed out on seeing them on tour this time round this should keep them satisfied untill they get the chance to see them. This should be part of your CD collection whether you own it already or not, go out and buy it, you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plain Awesome..., 13 Jun 2008
By 
G. Lewis "Hatter456" (Saltash, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ascendancy [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
With this album Trivium show two things:

1)That with some good production and a respected record label, you can make an album much better than your minor label debut (although Ember to Inferno is still a great album).

2)They prove (along with Bullet for my Valentine) that 'metalcore' doesn't have to be lame with a camp frontman dancing around screaming like a 3 year-old girl.

This special edition is much better than the regular version becuase of the bonus DVD with part of a live concert and some music videos. I will come to that later. First, lets do a track run through of the CD:

The End of Everything - An instrumental opener with lots of dark-sounding piano and classical guitar. 5/10

Rain - The first 'proper' song with a nice riff and some good screams. However, one of the riffs in the song sounds a lot like 'Heaven and Hell' by Black Sabbath ;) oh well. 7/10

Pull Harder on the Strings of your Martyr - Fantastic song that is still used by them to end their live sets. Great drumming from rhythm machine Travis Smith who is probably the second best player of double bass pedals of all time (just behind the great Tommy Aldridge) and with a nice chorus. 9/10

Drowned and Torn Asunder - A standard metal tune with good guitar harmonys and a good solo. Not very memorable though. 6/10

Ascendancy - A good title track (usually they suck!) with a good sing-along chorus. 7/10

A Gunshot to the Head of Trepidation - My favourite song on the album. Great riff, drumming, solo and lyrics. Also, the chorus is just great to shout along to and the breakdown fantastic for live. 10/10

Like Light to the Flies - Another fantastic song however it is slightly different to the single version. Matt Heafy's solo in this song is also my favourite solo of all time (just infront of Ritchie Blackmore's one in Rainbow's 'Tarot Woman'). 9/10

Dying in Your Arms - A 'nice ballad' attemp by Trivium. It works quite well giving the crowd a break from moshing at their live gigs. 8/10

The Deceived - Another pretty decent song with a good chorus and guitar work from Corey Beaulieu. 8/10

Suffocating Sight - A much shorter and faster track. A sort of attempt at thrash metal here which doesn't quite do it for me. Again, not very memorable. 6/10

Departure - Another fairly standard metal song. 7/10

Declaration - A 6mins+ album closer with a grea riff, solo and lyrics. 8/10

Washing Away Me in the Tides - A bonus track for this edition. Ok but nothing special. 7/10

Now the reason you want to buy this version rather than the standard one is because of the DVD. The 5 songs from the concert recorded at the London Astoria are the highlight of this package and really showcase how good Trivium are live. The 4 videos on it are ok but I usually find the Trivium videos generally are pretty lame and boring so you will probably only watch these once. However, it is interesting to watch the 'Like Light to the Flies' video to see how much the song has been changed for the album. That video also features their old bassist Brent Young instead of current bass wizard Paolo Gregoletto.

Overall I gave this product 5 stars because of it's brilliance. While every track may not be a hit, as an album it is fantastic. The DVD is also worth having until they inevitably release a full concert DVD which I hope they do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great Trash/Metalcore album, 27 May 2007
By 
R. Lovett "gamemakerjason" (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ascendancy (Audio CD)
This band has some serious talent, they can play their instrument flawlessly despite them being relatively young.

The End of Everything:

A melodic keyboard intro, flows well into rain, but becomes skipable very quickly. 4/10

Rain:

Brilliant opening riff, pounding double-bass drumming, which is continued throught the song, with yet more great riffs. 10/10

Pull Harder On The Strings Of Your Martyr:

Again great drumming, beautiful intro. great catchy chorus. 10/10

Drowned and Torn Asunder:

Not as good as the previous two tracks, but still good. 8/10

Asendancy:

Brilliant title track, not as brutal as rain, but shows that matt can sing well with a great chorus. 9/10

Gunshot to the Head of Trepidation:

Awesome track, love the lyrics, brilliant guitar work. 10/10

Like Light to the Flies:

Not much lyrical content, but what there is si preformed amazingly. 9/10

Dying In Your Arms:

A short anthemic track, which is much lighter than the rest of the album 9/10

The Decieved:

A good solid track, nothing special, 8/10

Suffocating Sight:

Great riffs, fast beat, brilliant, 9.5/10

Departure:

A slow tempo compared to the other tracks, but great vocals and as always awesome musicianship. 9/10

Declaration:

Simplier to Departure, great lyrics, 9/10

not quite as good as the previous album but better than their last, in my opinion, but still a great album.

overall: 9.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trivium!!!, 15 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Ascendancy [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Triviums re-released 'Ascendancy' album is a well worth buy for any serious metal fan! The original 'Ascendancy' album was amazing as the sales suggest but this new version offers loads more. For one there is loads of well fimled live footage which shows those who havnt had the privalage of seeing Trivium live how good this band realy are. Included on this special edition album is a new previously un-released track 'Washing Away In The Tides' which in my opinion is one of their best to date. Also present on the disc the video for 'Rain' (My fav Trivium track!!!) which kicks ass! Honestly from a metal fan to a metal fan buy this album. You will not regret it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trivium Rule!, 7 Mar 2006
This review is from: Ascendancy [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
If you don't already own this album then what the hell are you waiting for?! From blasting drum beats, to shredding guitar duels, this album has everything that the doctor ordered. Many people have said that it's too ambitious for a band of their age and experience...they'd be wrong. Opener "The end of everything" sets the tone and atmoshpere that every classic metal album requires, buliding the suspense to breaking point as "Rain" kicks in to tear your ear-drums apart. Unlike many albums by many bands, I have to say that I honestly like every song as much as each other- there's no "favourite track" on this album. As if that wasn't enough, the live DVD showscases what you're missing if you've been stupid enough to miss out on seeing them live yet (come on - like you EVEN have an excuse!).Although the electrifying atmosphere that's present at every Trivium gig can't truly be captured on film, this DVD does it's best to show this. If you haven't already purchased the original "Ascendancy", then make sure this is the next CD you buy. If you want to own a classic album that metal-heads are gonna talk about for years to come, then you need to have this in your collection.Seriously...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could have been legendary..., 12 Jun 2006
By 
This review is from: Ascendancy (Audio CD)
..if their vocalist sang properly.

I bought this after being recommended by amazon as something i'd like. When it arrived, and i saw the photo of the band behind the CD on the case i did instantly think "oh great, screamo" but when i heard the guitar licks, i was pleasantly surprised that this band obviously had a lot of quality in there. I am listening to the album again now for only the 2nd time and i can already hear the quality oozing out of the riffs, but it is such a shame about the vocals. I hate "cookie monster" vocals, and that for me spoils this record. I wouldn't play this to my more mainstream friends for a good reason, because they'd laugh at the rediculousness of the vocals, which is a shame because the guy can sing very well when he's trying.

At the end of the day all you need to know is this. If you dont like metal don't buy this. If you like metal but dont like screaming then you might want to hear a few songs before buying. If you like metal and love it when your hear someone go "ROOOOOOOOUUUUURRRRGOREMORUAOUGHHHHHH" then this will jump to the top of your favourite album list.

To clarify, i HATE screaming, but i gave this album 4 stars.

The guitar work is fantastic for most of the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ascendancy
Ascendancy by Trivium (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews