Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's got balls!
It's difficult to explain to the uninitiated exactly how much you NEED to own this DVD. Most people seem to view AC/DC as all that's bad about heavy rock, yet they are so badly missing the point it's untrue.
This is the simplest form of rock imaginable (barring the Ramones) and yet it is done to such great effect, with their own style and panache that...
Published on 30 Nov 2005 by Mr. M. L. Hawes

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars hmmm
One of the best rock bands of all time. That's why it is so sad to see these desperately embarrasing videos/mimed performances. I have seen AC/DC live four times between 1984 and 1990 and they were awesome. This compendium of cheese does not reflect this at all. And yet still there is an irrepressible energy and watching Angus even on these sad videos still brings a smile...
Published on 22 Sep 2006 by Max Bondo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's got balls!, 30 Nov 2005
By 
Mr. M. L. Hawes "Mitchmusic" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ac/Dc: Family Jewels [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
It's difficult to explain to the uninitiated exactly how much you NEED to own this DVD. Most people seem to view AC/DC as all that's bad about heavy rock, yet they are so badly missing the point it's untrue.
This is the simplest form of rock imaginable (barring the Ramones) and yet it is done to such great effect, with their own style and panache that you cannot fail to be drawn into their world.
Each track rolls into the next with a killer opening riff, the growl of Bon Scott or Brian Johnson and then chugs it's way through to a fantastic chorus. OK, it's not Radiohead or Pink Floyd, but if you want to party you wouldn't be sticking one of their DVD's on.
No, instead, this Christmas treat the family to some High Voltage Rock n roll. You'll find your miserablist friends may scarper to the other room for a dose of Andy Williams, but the throng that remain will have broad smiles on their faces, quickly emptying glasses and a sudden appearance of air guitar.
For those about to rock....we salute you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really is a long way to the top!, 4 Aug 2005
By 
Lee Davison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ac/Dc: Family Jewels [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Crown Jewels, well maybe and maybe not - was there no recording of Shoot to Thrill anywhere? That would have been the icing on the cake for me personally but all in all some fantastic videos of a great band. Bon Scott as Heidi with a grinning juvenile Angus was like something out of a Hunter S Thompson book - certainly one girl you wouldn't want to take home to the parents! What a shame as I believe he had the charisma, whilst Brian has the voice. (Hint to get the same effect down 30 pints of Newcastle Brown and smoke 50 fags in a row. The next morning you'll have a voice like Brians!)
It is a great collection of some great songs and with some beers and friends makes a great couple of hours of entertainment. It's for the already converted though and not for everyone. However, one thing shines through them all, the entertainment, no spandex clad, cucumber shoved down your tights, stuff here, just a man dressed up as a schoolboy.........erm perhaps best not to analyze that. I am still waiting for a college to offer a degree in ACDC's music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AC-DC Family jewels a must for any fan, 23 April 2005
This review is from: Ac/Dc: Family Jewels [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is a must have dvd for any fan of acdc , especially someone like myself who is at the younger scale to acdc .
basicallyas most will by now realise its a 2-disc dvd set . disc 1 the bon scott years and disc 2 brian johnson years . first thing that struck me was the price from amazon !!! you would expect to pay twice this price in any high st store , excellant value for money . whilst most hardcore acdc fans will have seen a lot of the footage , for the price alone it makes another addition to your collection , at a very affordable price .
The quality of the case for the set is similar to the new re-mastered cd"s which includes a 24 pages booklet with many pics . allthough i would have preferred a stronger case than the flimsy one . without spoiling it before you see it , it basically includes all the classics plus a few rare appearences . and also all the past line-ups .
overall a great value for money 2-disc set , with the only down side being the mis-leading description about tv appearences , which i was expecting interviews and a bit of chat from the guys , which is even rarer than the videos . well worth the money though ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where have they been hiding this stuff?, 27 Mar 2005
By 
U Dick "heavy-duty" (Stevenston, Ayrshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ac/Dc: Family Jewels [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I can`t praise this DVD highly enough. AC/DC have really dug deep into the vaults to come up with enough to keep even the staunchest fans happy while showing newcomers what all the fuss is about. For years the only Bon Scott visuals were contained in the out-of-sync and occasionally out-of-tune "Let there be rock" film and it is great to know that so much footage of the band with Bon exists. His succesor Brian Johnstone is also fantastic and all eras of the band (up until 1990) are comprehensively documented.
The sound (stereo 2:0) isn`t much to write about but the pictures are a revelation. Some of this stuff was recorded for Australian TV 30 years ago, although you could never tell. "Baby, please don`t go" from `75 with Bon dressed up as a cigarette smoking schoolgirl is worth buying this set for on it`s own. All in all there are forty songs, twenty each from the Bon and Brian years respectively. Every album gets at least two songs featured so there is something for everybody. From the lip-synced early TV performances of "TNT and "Dog eat dog" to the massively expensive "Mad max" styled promo videos for "Who made who" and "Thunderstruck", the band have served up a feast to sate the fans appetite in what has been a pretty lean time for fresh AC/DC product.
I have no hestation in recommending this DVD to anyone, whether they are a big fan of AC/DC or not. This is up there with "Led Zeppelin DVD" in terms of seeing a part of rock history that you thought you`d never see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential purchase, 28 Mar 2005
By 
stephen cuckson (leamington spa, warks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ac/Dc: Family Jewels [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
having watched the new dvd a few times this is an essential purchase for acdc fans
disc 1 starts with the groundbreaking video of bon in drag on baby please dont go and runs through lots of early promos,live clips and television shows which have only been available before on bootlegs,just check out the video of show buisness its suberb stuff so great to have them in this quality
disc 2 has all the brian promos,rare clips plus the home videos fly on the wall,clipped and who made who including 4 promos from back in black and 2 promos from flick of the switch which are suberb
a lot of this stuff i havent seen before and at 2 and a half hours is a must have
4 promos form back in black,highway to hell.early shows from countdown,footage from the glasgow apollo,rock goes to college,and those legendry promos for its a long way to the top,let there be rock all in suberb digital quality,and for the price, an essential purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I would give it 6 stars, 20 Sep 2005
This review is from: Ac/Dc: Family Jewels [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Despite the blinkered hard core fans that dismiss anything post Bon this delivers. A band that have rocked on an on and still kept their credibilty as a functioning, driven metal machine. This DVD anthology archives the Scott years and (although glossy as the eighties were) awsome videos from the Johnson era. Angus young has never lost the RAW edge, you only have to sample any track from the Stiff Upper Lip album to appreciate this. Well packaged, good sound, great value!!! If you are an AC/DC fan there is no compromise betwwen the eras it all rocks. Almost as much as thunderstruck live at Donnigton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 20 July 2006
By 
Birdman (Dalton in Furness, Cumbria, UK.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ac/Dc: Family Jewels [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I totally disagree with the previous reveiwer - this DVD is truly awesome.

I have been aware of AC/DC for many years, but apart from "Rosie & Let there be rock", was largely unaware of thier early back catalogue, i.e the Bon Scott years.

Stand out tracks include the opener, "Baby please don't go", featuring Phil Rudd being highly amused at Bon's antics dressed in drag, & smoking a fag, to the seeming bewilderment of the Oz audience; The video for "it's a long way to the top", which involved bringing the Melbourne traffic to a standstill; and the stunning live rendition of "Riff raff", recorded at the Glasgow empire.

To my untutored mind, the Bon Scott years are the most impressive, disc 2 being mostly video's of thier later hits, these bring the music to life, however, and the whole package represents an essential purchase.

If there is overdubbing - so what?, If you are a fan, buy and enjoy, if you are not a fan, buy anyway - a fan you soon will be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars hmmm, 22 Sep 2006
By 
Max Bondo (Huddersfield) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ac/Dc: Family Jewels [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
One of the best rock bands of all time. That's why it is so sad to see these desperately embarrasing videos/mimed performances. I have seen AC/DC live four times between 1984 and 1990 and they were awesome. This compendium of cheese does not reflect this at all. And yet still there is an irrepressible energy and watching Angus even on these sad videos still brings a smile - he is one of the most compelling performers I've ever seen. Much better to get Live in Paris (Bon Scott, around 1979), it's a brilliant gig albeit pretty badly lit and for some reason the sound is slightly out of synch with the video - this can be rectified quite easily if you have a friend handy with a computer. (Why do these companies knock out stuff that, with a little bit of care, could be so much better??)

And that animated fly.... who in the name of All That Which Does Not Rock thought that was a good idea???!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Gonna Walk All Over You!, 3 April 2005
This review is from: Ac/Dc: Family Jewels [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Very rarely does a rock band release footage of themslves that is quite as precious as this. It's simply that for thirty years AC/DC have believed in sound as appose to vision,or have they? Releasing this stuff now is almost like opening King Tut's tomb for the first time, the treasures contained are simply staggering. The band grow from the grubby riffing upstarts on 70's Aussie t.v shows, into (just 6 years later)a huge prowling worldwide sensation. To see just how capable AC/DC were by '79s Highway To Hell is testament to their brilliance.We all know what happened next, if it hadn't then god only knows how great they could have been. For the truth is even after the tragedy of losing Bon they still continued upwards, for a while anyway. The much bigger budget afforded them during the Brian Johnson years is, I think, highlighted by the basic rehearsal room riffouts that represent '84s Flick Of The Switch album. Simple and spectacular as the desert day is long, and in my view the most under-rated work of their long careers. As the visual history lesson draws to a close, the clips we see are much more familiar to our young eyes, most being available in one form or another for years. The fact is if you've ever enjoyed an AC/DC record or concert in your life, then this chronicle of their small screen career will make you smile widely. Don't dither, do yourself a favour-BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A kick in the family jewels, 10 May 2005
By 
The Fault - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ac/Dc: Family Jewels [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is such a disappointing DVD. Believe me, I am an AC/DC fan, owning several albums and the decent Live At Donnington Castle DVD. When I heard about Family Jewels being released and being a comprehensive video history of the band needless to say I looked forward to buying it. Wish I hadn't have bothered now!
Family Jewels does feature a lot of classic AC/DC tracks throughtout the years and is spread onto 2 discs. The first disc is the Bon Scott years ranging from 1975 to 1980. Disc 2 features Brian Johnson on vocals with promo sets and music videos ranging from 1980 to 1990.
So why is it so shockingly disappointing? Well, for starters most of the video clips on here are so atrociously dubbed it defies belief. A prime example is the last clip on disc one - shot just 10 days before Bon Scott's untimely death. AC/DC are playing live on a TV show but the whole thing is dubbed and is even out of sync at times. It just doesn't fit and it ruins the whole thing.
AC/DC are a great live act bursting with energy but this DVD just feels so flaccid in comparison. It borders on dull. I for one will stick to my Live In Donnington DVD (although I hear that's been dubbed to a certain extent!!! Will they leave nothing alone!!!). As for Family Jewels, it will be left to collect dust on my shelf. I want to like it because it does show to a certain extent how the band have progressed through the years. But this release, to me, isn't what the band is about. It lacks the charisma and energy the band ooze. A huge disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ac/Dc: Family Jewels [DVD] [2005]
Ac/Dc: Family Jewels [DVD] [2005] by AC/DC (DVD - 2005)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews