Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars swansong of Britain's finest singer/songwriter
Many have said that on this album her voice was showing signs of the damage caused by alcohol and other abuse. Whilst her voice is definitely different on some of the tracks, on others its pretty much as always. Her "different" voice seems to be heavily influenced by Joni Mitchell of the same period.....not an impersonation but a similar style.

As on her...
Published on 20 Sep 2006 by bobm

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SANDY DENNY - Rendezvous [Deluxe Edition]
This is a re-release of Sandy Denny's 1977 album re-packaged in a gatefold sleeve with enclosed booklet and accompanying notes by Patrick Humphries. By the time she recorded "Rendezvous", Denny had (more or less) deserted her `folk' roots and even though it was produced by husband Trevor Lucas, another `folk music' stalwart, a majority of the tracks are definitely a...
Published on 7 Jun 2012 by Pete Fyfe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars swansong of Britain's finest singer/songwriter, 20 Sep 2006
By 
This review is from: Rendevous (Audio CD)
Many have said that on this album her voice was showing signs of the damage caused by alcohol and other abuse. Whilst her voice is definitely different on some of the tracks, on others its pretty much as always. Her "different" voice seems to be heavily influenced by Joni Mitchell of the same period.....not an impersonation but a similar style.

As on her previous release (Like an old fashioned waltz) she is accompanied by lush strings on several tracks.

The bonus tracks are all excellent and somewhat unusually her cover versions are up to the standard of her own stuff.

Not as good as "Sandy"...but not to be avoided either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rendevous: Sandy Denny (2012 2 disc deluxe edition) - A Candle In The Wind, 28 May 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rendezvous (Audio CD)
A few years ago I was introduced to a group called Fairport Convention by a friend. The song she played was Matty Groves, and instantly I was entranced by two things, Dave Swarbrick's fiddle, and Sandy Denny's voice. Since then I have built up a collection of Sandy Denny's albums, both solo and in groups, and these stand as some of my favourites in my collection.

She had a voice that was controlled and full of technical skill, but with a real throbbing intense passion lurking just beneath that threatened to burst free at any moment. She started out as a folk vocalist, but through her work with groups such s Fairport and her later solo albums she expanded to become so much more. Rooted in folk certainly, but overlaid with many other layers that made her unique.

This is her fourth, and sadly final, solo album. It's a delicious set of folk /folk rock tracks, with some light blues and jazz tinges around the edges. Front and centre is Denny's amazing voice as she gently leads us through a series of tales of life, love and loss. It's a gentle, almost mournful. Her singing is just magnetic, full of charm and beauty. It's an album to just put on and get lost in.

This remastered version is a pure joy. The remastering is superb, and allows you to hear the colour and dynamics in Denny's voice. There is a host of extra tracks at the end that really add to the album.

There is a pile of extra tracks on the second disc, but as with the Northstar Grassman deluxe edition I have to say that if you already own the 2005 release then there is no real reason to upgrade unless you are a serious Denny-head.

In all this is a special album. Really beautiful music to entrance you. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SANDY DENNY - Rendezvous [Deluxe Edition], 7 Jun 2012
This review is from: Rendezvous (Audio CD)
This is a re-release of Sandy Denny's 1977 album re-packaged in a gatefold sleeve with enclosed booklet and accompanying notes by Patrick Humphries. By the time she recorded "Rendezvous", Denny had (more or less) deserted her `folk' roots and even though it was produced by husband Trevor Lucas, another `folk music' stalwart, a majority of the tracks are definitely a little heavy handed. At this time I'm sure she was probably under pressure by her record label to produce a commercially viable piece of vinyl but if that was the intended trajectory it failed quite spectacularly in my opinion. OK, so there are some good moments notably her cover of "Candle In The Wind" and on a more positive note for 2012 and in keeping with disks of this nature it's the unearthed gems on the second CD that pay dividends for the hard-core fan. The bonus tracks (all fifteen of them) featuring interesting takes on some of the original album's material make for not only a pleasant diversion but `must have' if you are a complete-ist like me. Therefore we have "Full Moon" with its Swarbrick fiddle solo and a disconcerting but somehow hypnotic choral version of "All Our Days" and a paired-down piano arrangement of "Candle In The Wind" so, for me this 2-disk set proved a bit of a Marmite moment but possibly worth purchasing for the booklet and `out-takes' alone.

PETE FYFE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rendevous: Sandy Denny - A Candle In The Wind, 19 April 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rendevous (Audio CD)
A few years ago I was introduced to a group called Fairport Convention by a friend. The song she played was Matty Groves, and instantly I was entranced by two things, Dave Swarbrick's fiddle, and Sandy Denny's voice. Since then I have built up a collection of Sandy Denny's albums, both solo and in groups, and these stand as some of my favourites in my collection.

She had a voice that was controlled and full of technical skill, but with a real throbbing intense passion lurking just beneath that threatened to burst free at any moment. She started out as a folk vocalist, but through her work with groups such s Fairport and her later solo albums she expanded to become so much more. Rooted in folk certainly, but overlaid with many other layers that made her unique.

This is her fourth, and sadly final, solo album. It's a delicious set of folk /folk rock tracks, with some light blues and jazz tinges around the edges. Front and centre is Denny's amazing voice as she gently leads us through a series of tales of life, love and loss. It's a gentle, almost mournful. Her singing is just magnetic, full of charm and beauty. It's an album to just put on and get lost in.

This remastered version is a pure joy. The remastering is superb, and allows you to hear the colour and dynamics in Denny's voice. There is a host of extra tracks at the end that really add to the album.

In all this is a special album. Really beautiful music to entrance you. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed, but with great moments, 5 Dec 2008
By 
J. R. P. Wigman "Hans Wigman" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rendevous (Audio CD)
Sandy Denny's final album, like a lot of her solo efforts, suffers from the lavish use of strings and other "sweeteners", and it's hard not to compare her solo recordings with the far better suited Fairport recordings, at least in terms of overall sound. Who would not prefer "Fotheringay" to, say, "Candle in the wind"?
That said, "Rendezvous" has some great moments and should be in any Sandy Denny fan's record collection. I would like to add that, in disagreement with some reviewers, I'm particularly fond of the almost classical-sounding "All our days", which hints at ways Sandy Denny could have changed the approach to recording her songs, from marring syrupiness to a more mature and enhancing setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rendezvous - sandy denny, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rendevous (Audio CD)
excellent cd covering so many aspects of sandy's unique voice - angelic and linked so beautifully with her superbly crafted and poetic lyrics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Contains Some of Denny's Greatest Songs!, 3 Jun 2011
By 
Morten Vindberg (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rendevous (Audio CD)
"Rendezvous" was Sandy Denny's last studio-album. Though it's generally agreed that all Denny's records are of the highest quality this album is often referred to as the least succesful. This is mostly due to the fact that some tracks seem a little burdened down by too heavy orchestration. Another problem could be that the album may seem to lack the clear direction of her previous three.

Nonetheless, the album contains some of Denny's greatest songs. "One Way Donkey Ride", "Take Me Away" "No More Sad Refrains" and "I'm a Dreamer" are all classic Sandy Denny.

The album features three cover versions. The opening track "I Wish I Was a Fool For You" was written by long-time friend Richard Thompson whose great guitar playing is present on many Denny recordings. It's the most hardrocking track on the album and a great opener. The inclusion of Elton John's "Candle in the Wind" is probably a mistake; Sandy doesn't sound very inspired and the arrangement of the song is not very different from the original. Her version of "Silver Threads and Golden Needles" is much more successful, it sounds like a Denny original.

The ambitious "All Our Days" has some fine thought-provoking lyrics ( like most of her songs ), but the grandiose classical arrangement makes it seem a little out of place on this album.

"Gold Dust" shows the funky/jazzy side of Denny. The song was originally thought to be the title track and it became part of Denny's 1977 live-repertoire, along with a handful of other songs from this album.

The live album "Gold Dust / The Final Concert" released on Island Records in 1998 is highly recommended.

The five bonus-tracks are all fine. I'm particularly fond of the B-side "Still the Waters Run Deep" and her very last studio recording, the moving "Moments".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the outtakes and demos are great, 23 Oct 2014
By 
peter mackie (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rendezvous (Audio CD)
The demos, outtakes are a revelation and show what might have been had this album had better production and song selection. These are powerful songs.Full Moon, left off the original album, is one of my favourites and the version with Swarbrick is superb. Now that the de luxe version is available at very reasonable price, it is recommended to anyone put off by the syrupy strings of the original album. Disk 2 is the real deal even if the great voice is not quite what it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rendevous (Audio CD)
very pleased with cd, was a great listen very pleased with cd, was a great listen and very much enjoyed, one of my best purchaces so far thanksand very much enjoyed, one of my best purchaces so far thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars completed my collection, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rendevous (Audio CD)
Got them all on vinyl, cd is handy for car, bedroom, etc. Sandy's a niche, an aquired taste so if you're thinking of buying this you're probably already hooked and you won't be dissappointed. Great to listen again, I'd almost forgotten how good that voice was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rendevous
Rendevous by Sandy Denny (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews