Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Predator - One of the coolest ever Hollywood monsters!
Predator 1 is one of the most enjoyable action movies I have ever seen. For me it reminds me of a time when Arnie was at his peak and nothing could stand in his way whether it be 7ft tall monsters from outer space or indestructible cyborgs from the furure. Predator displays some neat suspense, mega violence and such a cool monster. It can see the heat of our bodies and...
Published on 23 Jun 2001

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Word of warning!!!!!
Beware! The original films picture quality is awful. Its not been remastered and is like an old VHS tape. If you want a remastered copy buy the 2007 definative version, but you'll have to buy the two films seperately.
Published on 23 July 2007 by Sapien


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Predator - One of the coolest ever Hollywood monsters!, 23 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Predator 1 is one of the most enjoyable action movies I have ever seen. For me it reminds me of a time when Arnie was at his peak and nothing could stand in his way whether it be 7ft tall monsters from outer space or indestructible cyborgs from the furure. Predator displays some neat suspense, mega violence and such a cool monster. It can see the heat of our bodies and hunts us down for sport, for his amusement; what a great creation. Predator 2 is just as good a movie as the 1st, less on the suspense, more mindless violence, and the Predator displays an even more awe inspiring weapons arsenal! However, what lets the movie down is inevitably the lack of Arnie. However Danny Glover does some pretty credible work as the tough as '20ft thick hardened steel' cop going up against an almost indestructible foe! I have a gripe though. I've seen Predator 1 many times on VHS and I've noticed some cutting of some scenes of the attack on the camp at the beginning and an edited death scene for one of the main characters 3/4 way through. And why are there little or no extra features!!! God I hate it with DVD and film studios do that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE definitive Predator Collection (Region 2 Review), 20 Aug 2005
This review is from: Predator / Predator 2: Special Edition Collection (2005) [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
**WARNING: POSSIBLE FILM SPOILERS AHEAD**
This boxset contains the 2 disc special edition versions of both films in their individual cases, in a very nice box sleeve(4 discs in total).
The first Predator movie is an action classic, with it's then pioneering in-your-face, first-person action sequences, setting a standard for action movies of the late 80's. This is also one of Arnie's best movies after the Terminator films(bar number 3), with some great "dialogue" between Arnie's character Dutch and Dillon, played by Carl Weathers - not forgetting Arnie's one-liners like "knock, knock" and "stick around".
The DVD itself is faultless, with a direct digital transfer from the original negatives and 5.1 and DTS sound options. Features wise, on the first disc you have an audio commentary from the director, and on the second disc there's a great collection of behind the scenes featurettes(including some great interviews with the cast - trust me their on-set stories are priceless!), deleted scenes and outtakes.
Now, Predator 2 is not really a sequal, but a different story invloving the Predator, set in Los Angeles in the then future 1997. The film stands up on its own as a solid action movie, with a great performance from Danny Glover in the lead. It has that infamous scene with the "Alien" skull in the trophy room of the Predator ship, which spawned the Alien Vs Predator comics, and ofcourse the inevitable movie.
Again the DVD is faultless, great picture quality, 5.1 and DTS sound. Two commentary tracks, one from the director and the other from the writers. Second disc features an all-new documentary with new interviews, various behind the scenes featurettes, including special effects.
This boxset is an excellent additon to the collection any action movie fan and/or DVD collector. Two big thumbs up!

RATINGS
Predator - FILM:10/10 - DVD:10/10
Predator 2 - FILM:8/10 - DVD:10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a couple of Corkers!!, 19 July 2005
If you like plenty of action, gore, violence and creatures then you just cannot fault these movies.
Predator alone is a great film blending espionage, action, gore, horror and suspense in a full on man vs alien encounter. Yeah, there isn't really a big story but would you really want one. You get all the action you can handle and you really start to feel for Arnie when he just can't get rid of the thing.
Predator 2 was very under-rated and provides a great alternative in surroundings from the jungle to the big city. This is also full or gore, action and suspense and is also a worthy edition to any DVD stack in your front room.
Definately not for the squemish, to get these two films in a bundle pack is worth every penny and I demand that you invest in this DVD very quickly.
Those looking for drama, romance or a bit of a thriller, stay well away, you won't find that here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It cant get any better then this!, 23 April 2005
This review is from: Predator / Predator 2: Special Edition Collection (2005) [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
I knew if I waited long enough that 20th Century Fox would release these movies that the DVD age could be proud of. 'Predator' is one of the best sci-fi thriller flicks around, better then The Matrix Trilogy! 'Predator' is packed full of special features that where long overdue. Theres an Easter Egg feature on the second DVD in this set but i wont ruin it for you. One of Arnies best films, next to 'T2' and 'Commando'. 'Predator 2' which i nickmaned 'Urban Jungle' doesnt deliver as well as the original did but its still a good film to watch. This is also packed with special features on 2-discs. 4 DVDs in total, its worth a buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two real classic films, let down by DVD, 21 Jun 2001
These two films are in my top 10 favourite list and i've watched them endlessly on VHS. I was praying that one day they would come to DVD so I could add them to my collection. At last they did, but my, what a disappointment. There are no real extras on the Discs, and essentially all you are getting are the films. While not a bad thing, because the films are what you buy DVDs for, in this case even the films haven't escaped punishment. There are one or two scenes in the original film which have been cut. Most noticeably, the famous scene where Arnie impales one of the enemy soldiers with his 12inch combat knife and tells him to "Stick around". These cuts will undoubtedly go unoticed by anyone who hasn't seen the films, or has only seen them once or twice, but for a true Predator fan, its a disappointment. Lastly, the digital process itself has resulted in showing the age and limitations of the films special fx. The famous Predator camoflauge being the main culprit.
All in all, these are still two of my all time favourite films, but I won't be buying them on the DVD format because it simply isn't worth it. I have them both on VHS, and if anyone else does, then you really don't need to buy them on DVD. But, if you don't have them, and better still, if you've never seen the films, then this is a great purchase and you won't be disappointed. The 4 stars I give are simply for the films, nothing else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Word of warning!!!!!, 23 July 2007
By 
Sapien (Maidstone, GB) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Predator / Predator 2: Special Edition Collection (2005) [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
Beware! The original films picture quality is awful. Its not been remastered and is like an old VHS tape. If you want a remastered copy buy the 2007 definative version, but you'll have to buy the two films seperately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars two predators for one, 7 Dec 2009
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
PREDATOR (1987) - running time 106 mins

An elite military rescue unit, led by Dutch (Arnold Schwarzenegger - Governor of California) is sent into the jungle of an enemy land to retrieve a senator whose helicopter has been shot down. It soon becomes apparent that this is more than a rescue mission and they have been lied to by Dutch's old friend Dillon (Carl Weathers).

As the action kicks up as their invisible adversary starts to pick them off one by one.

Also starts Jesse Ventura - ex-wrestler and Governor of Minnesota.

There is a commentary on this disc.

PREDATOR 2 (1990) - running time 103 mins

It is unusually hot in Los Angeles and the gangs are at each others throats and the police on the street have their hands tied by those above them. Add to this the arrival of a Predator and a secret government agency trying to trap it, and Detective Mike Harrigan (Danny Glover) and his team have an all out war on their hands.

Also stars Bill Paxton (as Jerry Lambert) whose character is similar to that of Hudson from Aliens. Gary Busey plays the government agent Peter Keyes.

Extra for the film is a theatrical trailer.

Both films have English subtitles.

I really liked Predator when I first saw it, Predator 2 I really disliked - the intervening years must have mellowed me because I watched it again (first time since seeing it in the cinema in 1991) and found that I enjoyed it as much as the original Predator film.

There is a good mix of action and sci-fi in the films and the character building in both allows you to feel you know the characters before the Predator strikes, thereby giving you a feeling involvement in the film as you hope your favourite will survive.

I recommend these films - whether or not you are a sci-fi fan (which I'm not). Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Couple of great movies., 7 Sep 2004
Predator is unsurpassable! An amazing film, building up tension and suspense, looking through the eyes of an unknown killer. Predator 2 does also have its benefits in as much that it includes more details of the species but I believe there is less focus on the predators themselves and more on the drug war. There are slight errors also contradictions of the predators abilities between 1 and 2 but overall can't complain to much. Two great films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subtitle Information, 1 Oct 2007
By 
Ahmet Saral (Ankara,Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Predator / Predator 2: Special Edition Collection (2005) [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
It is not mentioned in the product details but after receiving the item I realised that there are some subtitles in different languages. It is written at the bottom of the box which is as follows:

PREDATOR 1:
Crotian, Czech, Dutch, Finnish, Hewrew, Hungarian, Icelandic, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Swedish, Turkish, English for the hearing impailed

PREDATOR 2:
English for the hearing impailed

The box set is magnificant. I cannot tell how it looks like in my archive shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Predator/Predator 2 together in one set!, 5 Nov 2007
By 
Predator was a great film back in 1987 and it still is now! Here we have Arnold Schwarzenegger heading the cast, who plays Dutch in charge of a squad of commandos sent on a mission to a Central American jungle to rescue airmen that have been captured by Guerillas. But there is something hidden in the jungle, which is invisible to the human eye and isn't from this earth, the creature is known as the Predator an alien which hunts rare species and human beings are the latest species that he's discovered. He has a cloaking device which enables him to blend in with the jungle and that makes it easy for him to pick off the commandos one by one till only Arnie and a female hostage are left fighting for survival.

Predator 2 is a worthy follow up to the first Predator movie, the first time the Predator struck terror in the jungle, this time he comes to L.A. and uses that as his hunting ground. Danny Glover heads the cast as Lieutenant Mike Harrigan of the LAPD who's fighting the war on drugs, but just recently the top drug lords have been murdered in a brutal and sadistic style. Harrigan's superiors warn him to stay off the case but he can sense that something's wrong. And his suspicions are confirmed when he finds that the person behind the killings is the Predator. Can Harrigan stop the Predator before it's too late?

These are some great films on these discs, I reccomend these to anyone who's seen the Predator films. Avoid the single disc edition of the first Predator film, because the content has been so heavily cut it feels fragmented!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Predator / Predator 2: Special Edition Collection (2005) [1987] [DVD]
£3.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews