Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent third solo album from Sandy
Having recorded one album with the Strawbs, three with Fairport Convention and one with Fotheringay, Sandy Denny embarked on a solo career, during which she recorded three albums before returning to Fairport Convention and recording a further album. She then recorded a fourth solo album, released in 1977, before her career was cut short by her premature death in...
Published on 30 Mar 2009 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worht Exploring
It took me a while with this album but it grew on me more ballady than Sandy's work with Fairport but still full of good songs and some excellent muscial work as well.

If you liked the slower side of her work with Fairport you will enjoy thuis collection although it is not up there with Liege and Lief or Rising for the Moon in my opinion
Published on 10 Aug 2009 by S. Fox


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent third solo album from Sandy, 30 Mar 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like An Old Fashioned Waltz (Audio CD)
Having recorded one album with the Strawbs, three with Fairport Convention and one with Fotheringay, Sandy Denny embarked on a solo career, during which she recorded three albums before returning to Fairport Convention and recording a further album. She then recorded a fourth solo album, released in 1977, before her career was cut short by her premature death in 1978.

This 1973 album is described in the liner notes accompanying the expanded 2005 edition as a beautiful album, suffused with a late summer reflective romanticism. Well, that's one person's description, but as I write this on a snowy February day, anything to do with summer seems to be a long way off. Actually, it's a great album to listen to at any time of year, and the songs are definitely of the mellow, romantic variety.

Taking the nine tracks on the album as originally issued first, Sandy wrote seven of them herself. The other two are songs that were in her father's record collection. One of them, Whispering grass, had been an American top ten hit for the Ink Spots and became a UK number one hit for Don Estelle and Windsor Davies in 1975. The other is a Fats Waller song, Until the real thing comes along. I love Sandy's covers of these songs, but it is her own songs that are what this album is really all about. From the opener (Solo) to the closer (No end), each track is brilliant. The title track cheekily begins with a line from another famous song by declaring that roses are red and violets are blue, but the rest of the song is much deeper than that other song.

Three of the four bonus tracks are alternate versions of tracks that appeared on the main album , these being At the end of the day (without strings), the title track (live version with Fairport Convention) and No end (solo piano version). The other bonus track is an original song (King and queen of England) in demo form.

This is a classic album from a singer who is better appreciated now than in her lifetime. Never mind the folk-rock tag often applied to Sandy's music, this is mellow, romantic music at its finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars timeless classic!, 13 July 2004
Ive not heard this album in over 30yrs,mainly due to the fact that my vinyl copy lies dormant in my brothers home in Australia!
So I was so delighted to purchase a rare CD of the album.
It goes without saying Like an old fashioned waltz is a refreshing diversion from the brilliant folk standards set by Sandy and the other Fairport ensemble,although most of the boys feature heavily on this album.
Sandy Denny's outstanding vocal talents are a tour-de-force,with excellant orchestral arrangements by Harry Robinson and great production by Trevor Lucas.
Nine great tracks bear testament to how good this album truly is,
a timeless classic,with a mixture of lush,panoramic ballads such as the title track Like an old fashioned waltz and At the end of the day thru to the gutsy melodic Dark the night, even a Sammy Cahn classic features (until the real thing comes along).
What a loss Sandy Denny is to folk but as they say the music lives on.
A classic,worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like and Old Fashioned Waltz: Sandy Denny - More beautiful music from England's premier chanteuse, 19 April 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like An Old Fashioned Waltz (Audio CD)
A few years ago I was introduced to a group called Fairport Convention by a friend. The song she played was Matty Groves, and instantly I was entranced by two things, Dave Swarbrick's fiddle, and Sandy Denny's voice. Since then I have built up a collection of Sandy Denny's albums, both solo and in groups, and these stand as some of my favourites in my collection.

She had a voice that was controlled and full of technical skill, but with a real throbbing intense passion lurking just beneath that threatened to burst free at any moment. She started out as a folk vocalist, but through her work with groups such s Fairport and her later solo albums she expanded to become so much more. Rooted in folk certainly, but overlaid with many other layers that made her unique.

This is her third solo album. It's a delicious set of folk /folk rock tracks, with some light blues and jazz tinges around the edges. Front and centre is Denny's amazing voice as she gently leads us through a series of tales of life, love and loss. It's a gentle, almost mournful. Her singing is just magnetic, full of charm and beauty. It's an album to just put on and get lost in. There are oddities here, a cover of Whispering Grass seems like an odd choice, but it's a beautiful, mournful version that conveys the sadness of the singer at the betrayal, and is far superior to the Don Estelle/Windsor Davies version, lifting ot from the novelty song and making it a masterpiece.

This remastered version is a pure joy. The remastering is superb, and allows you to hear the colour and dynamics in Denny's voice. There is a host of extra tracks at the end that really add to the album.

In all this is a special album. Really beautiful music to entrance you. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional phrasing and classy arrangements., 19 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Like An Old Fashioned Waltz (Audio CD)
This album sometimes gets a bit of a slating by Denny fans but for me, this was a high point in her solo career. LAOFW saw Sandy leaving her traditional / folk-styled material behind her as she extended her qualities as a contemporary songwriter and as an exceptional singer.

The album saw quite a progression from its predecessors with personal songs on relationships and people replacing her, then, more common narratives about the sea and fictional characters. There were also some interesting departures such as her cover of one of her father's favorites, Fats Waller's Until The Real Thing Comes Along. Although I've seen it described as the ultimate in 'cheese', I loved it. It just left me wanting to hear her sing more jazz. I always thought she was a jazz singer with a folk singer's voice and this proves it for me.

The other highspot for me are the orchestral arrangements by Harry Robinson (the man behind Nick Drake's River Man and Hammer horror movies) with their wonderful swirling lines and bassy depth. Other commentaries on Denny's work suggest these are not to all her fans' taste. I agree that they did suffocate some of her earlier (folkier) outings. Here, however, I think their lushness suits the romantic settings of this particular set of songs.

NB The extras are ok. The string-less version of No End showcases her vocals well but otherwise, there aren't any great finds. They only have curiosity value for me.

Despite the excellent Fairport related backing players, do not tag this as folk rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her Most Enduring!, 29 Mar 2008
By 
Morten Vindberg (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Like An Old Fashioned Waltz (Audio CD)
This was Sandy Denny's third solo-album. On her second album, the much acclaimed "Sandy", she had begun a slow departure from her folk-music roots. On this album you probably would not have thought of there being any folk-roots at all, if it had not been for her backing band consisting of people with strong roots in Britsih folk-rock - people like Richard Thompson, Dave Pegg, Dave Mattacks, Jerry Donahue, Gerry Conway, Pat Donaldson and several more.

Sandy and her husband/producer Trevor Lucas were seeking a broader approach with a wider range of styles, using heavier production; often with use of strings; which some people thought a progress, and other people hated.

The opener, the gorgeous "Solo" is one of Sandy's very best songs ( I would buy the album for that song alone ). The nostalgic title-track is almost as strong, in spite of a quite unrestrained use of strings. The bonus-track version proves the use strings quite unnecessary.

Her covers of two old romantic jazz-ballads, "Whispering Grass" and "Until the Real Things Comes Along" are actually quite good, though some people find them out of place on a Sandy Denny album.

"Friends" is another highlight on the album - a classic Sandy Denny song; according to the liner notes on the "No More Sad Refrains" anthology, the lyrics were written about Pete Townshend; not a very flattering picture drawn of him there.

"Carnival" is a tune in the same vein as "Friends" - though darker and not quite as melodic.

"Dark the Night" is a light tune, but with dark lyrics. "I'm not good at singing happy songs", I believe Sandy stated at a certain point.

"At the End of the Day" has such a beautiful melody line, and possibly her ultimate love song. The bonus-track version with no strings is my favourite.

The closing track "No End" with its strange, but thought-provoking lyrics, gives the album the perfect end.

"King and Queen of England" is an outtake from the sessions, but was probably thought not strong enough when the final track-listing was to be made. I think I'll agree to that, though some might have preferred it to one of her jazz-covers.

In spite of some flaws ( too much strings ) the album as a whole is her most consistent and enduring, with Denny on top in her song-writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars feedback, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like An Old Fashioned Waltz (Audio CD)
Sandy Denny's voice is absolutely beautiful and has for me, a compelling and haunting quality. I am often frustrated when I expect an album of ballads and find a mix of slow, haunting tracks peppered with lively fast-paced tracks. I like to listen to one or the other and am rarely in the mood for both at the same time. This album did not disappoint, remaining soft, melodic and slow-paced throughout. Many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece Of The Genre., 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like An Old Fashioned Waltz (Audio CD)
I never pre-ordered Liege and Lief when it was first released on vinyl. My sister's best friend never lent me Unhalfbricking whilst she went on Holiday with her parents. I never saw Sandy Denny at The Roundhouse. Conclusion? I have not grown up listening to Sandy Denny and therefore have no nostalgia that renders me incapable of being objective. A gushing review that starts 'I had this on vinyl' serves very little, particularly to a newcomer to a given artist. This CD sat for months in my Amazon wish list, until one day, on a whim, I decided to buy it. You know how easily that can happen with Amazon... Upon hearing it, I am of the opinion that it is without doubt a masterpiece of its kind. The songs are perfectly crafted and played to perfection, to say nothing of Sandy Denny's delivery. If you are susceptible to romantic ballards that just about stay on the right side of being too sugary-sweet then this is one to have, even if you have to listen to it alone, in secret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like an old Fasioned Waltz, 18 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like An Old Fashioned Waltz (Audio CD)
Great album,a must for Sandy Denny fans

This was my first solo Denny album,and what an introduction to her solo material,really excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars reasonable price & in good condition. Thanks, 29 Aug 2014
By 
H. Golder - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like An Old Fashioned Waltz (Audio CD)
Prompt delivery, reasonable price & in good condition. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible stuff, 3 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like An Old Fashioned Waltz (Audio CD)
Loved it, missed it on vinyl, but glad to say I have it now.

You would love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Like An Old Fashioned Waltz
Like An Old Fashioned Waltz by Sandy Denny (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews