Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too good to be forgotten !
Craig was popular during my student years in the U.K.,so I bought this fornostalgic reasons. However, in truth I'd forgotten just what a good singerhe was ! Funny business Show Business,that a fellow with his talent shouldfade into relative obscurity ! Still, here's a chance to relive goodmemories, good songs and good singing...treat yourselves !
Published on 20 April 2004

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing Purchase
I can only echo fellow reviewer 'Mike the Busman',in stating this CD is a major disapointment,in as much as the tracks are all re-recordings.In fairness,it has to be said Craig's voice has stood the test of time well,but without the Harry Robinson backings that were a feature of many of his hits,they fall well short of the originals.Better to pay a bit more for the EMI...
Published on 26 Jun 2006 by D. R. Boreham


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too good to be forgotten !, 20 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Only Sixteen (Audio CD)
Craig was popular during my student years in the U.K.,so I bought this fornostalgic reasons. However, in truth I'd forgotten just what a good singerhe was ! Funny business Show Business,that a fellow with his talent shouldfade into relative obscurity ! Still, here's a chance to relive goodmemories, good songs and good singing...treat yourselves !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing Purchase, 26 Jun 2006
By 
D. R. Boreham (SUFFOLK ,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Only Sixteen (Audio CD)
I can only echo fellow reviewer 'Mike the Busman',in stating this CD is a major disapointment,in as much as the tracks are all re-recordings.In fairness,it has to be said Craig's voice has stood the test of time well,but without the Harry Robinson backings that were a feature of many of his hits,they fall well short of the originals.Better to pay a bit more for the EMI recordings,and being sure of what you're getting.All CD's should clearly state if recordings are originals or otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for all 50's and 60's fans, 20 Aug 2000
This review is from: Only Sixteen (Audio CD)
If you, like me, are stuck in a time warp, and like your music to have lyrics you can understand clearly, and a tune you can sing along to, then you will enjoy listening to some well remembered songs and some not quite so well remembered, but very enjoyable, all the same. Although craig douglas was not the icon, presley was, he made his mark on the music world in the late 50's and early 60's, so much so that the bbc banned the first version of 100lbs of clay. this cd contains both the original and amended versions. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the Originals, 22 May 2006
By 
Mr. M. W. LLOYD "Mike the busman" (Wigan, Lancs, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Sixteen (Audio CD)
Beware this product if you are after a genuine compilation of original Craig Douglas hits, because this isn't it. Instead, it is a collection of re-recordings which all lack the freshness and distinctiveness of the original 1950s and 1960s recordings. What's more, it appears that in the intervening forty years or so, Mr Douglas (or Mr Perkins to be exact!) has forgotten some of the lyrics of his hits.

Apart from the hits, the disc contains some versions of standards given the Craig Douglas treatment. Inexplicably, Buddy Holly's great number "Everyday", the flip of "Peggy Sue", has its composer described as "unknown". It was of course Buddy himself with alleged input from producer Norman Petty.

If you have recently seen Craig Douglas performing live, this disc would be a good souvenir of the event, but as a record (sorry about the pun) of his great days, it falls flat. If I had known it was not original tracks I would not have bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Re-Recordings., 16 Feb 2009
By 
AlanMusicMan (North Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Only Sixteen (Audio CD)
This CD contains re-recordings of Craig's best known songs - plus, if you look way down the track list, a few newer ones. In a previous version of this review I said it was a rip-off but, as a kindly person pointed out, it DOES actually say in Amazon's blurb that these are re-recordings, so I should have been more careful. Quite right, point taken.

I do still wonder why the picture on the front cover is Craig Douglas "then" and not "now" though. Well, actually no, I don't wonder.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great record great memories, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Sixteen (Audio CD)
was all the rage when i first met my wife and she was "only Sixteen"....its our golden wedding soon! great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Re-recordings CD, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Sixteen (Audio CD)
Unfortuantely, these tracks are re-recordings; not what I wanted at all, and not possible to tell when buying over the internet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent CD of re-recordings and new songs, 17 Jan 2010
This review is from: Only Sixteen (Audio CD)
Similar to the 50th anniversary CD, Craig has selected some new songs and some re-recordings of his earlier hits. I particularly like the sound of his voice as much now as on the earlier records. Wonderul songs that were not hits for Craig but still work well in his style are "Joanna" a lovely arrangement and suits his voice as does "both sides now". The big hits are all there too, it is nice to hear some quality well written songs sung by a very talented and professional entertainer. If you want the originals buy the EMI CD then you have the best of both worlds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only Sixteen
Only Sixteen by Craig Douglas (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews