Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Techno revolution, 2 May 2005
By 
Mr. J. C. Tompson (Sheffield, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: O.K. Cowboy (Audio CD)
Vitalic is the musical personality of the Frenchman, Pascal Arbez-Nicolas, whose experimental form of electronic dance production is increasingly stirring the waters of the DJ scene. Rather than sampling musical instruments or the vocals of 1980s power-ballads, Vitalic relies on an innovative use of the synthesizer and therefore is a new advert for the creative talents of dance production. Indeed, from the opening track, 'Polkamiatic', Vitalic's musical art effectively drags the listener into a chaotic circus of electronic sound. However, Ok Cowboy rapidly descends into an underground of industrial techno, epitomised by the dark and sinister undertones of 'Poney Part One' and 'La Rock 01'. Even so, Vitalic's experimentation is notably effective in 'My Friend Dario', a pulsating electro-rock anthem which would shake the foundations of any euphoric dance theatre. A must for budding DJs and underground dance enthusiasts, Ok Cowboy rebukes the notion that dance music is dead. Conversely, it is enduring a process of creative evolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars certainly no cowboy..., 26 April 2005
By 
Mr. M. Walsh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: O.K. Cowboy (Audio CD)
For starters the guy in question here ain't no techno cowboy. Having released the Pony EP in 2001 at the height of the genre of electoclash, many house-heads were predicting that Vitalic (originally from Ukraine) would follow in the footsteps of Felix Da Housecat, Miss Kittin and all the other trashy purveyors of the scene.
However this proved to be a fad. Instead Vitalic settled down in France (where he grew up) and spent a good four years perfecting his debut album.
What becomes apparent straight away is that Vitalic is now belonging to this very great line of French exports like Air, Etienne De Crecy and Daft Punk. That latter name bears more significance than anyone could have thought because as Daft Punk made their latest LP 'Human After All' in just six weeks, the results were definitely mixed as half of it sounded hurried and brash.
But when the dynamite of 'My Friend Dario' explodes from a pair of well wired-up speakers, Vitalic is the dynamic force carrying the baton now for French Disco - more than a mere name to drop - the tracks here back this claim up.
There are the downtempo experiments needed to balance out the headrush of tracks like 'No Fun'. For example opener 'Polkmatic' and post-modern track 'The Past' are layered with breathtaking sequential synths sounding like the perfect pulse-rate.
All of the killer singles are there, making this the perfect all-round document to get started on Vitalic. The trademark sound is maintained all way through giving this the deserved 5 stars above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ride on Cowboy, 18 May 2005
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: O.K. Cowboy (Audio CD)
Now this is what I call a dance album. Make no mistake O.K. Cowboy deserves its place in silver shimmering dance floor heaven along with "Leftism", "Homework" and "The Techno Rose of Blighty" which is still my all time favourite. While it lacks that masterpieces giddy organic grace and is a little too predictable at times, relying too much on those mid and high range synth sounds , it's an absolute treat to listen to. Listening to the album whilst writing this I had declare anything within a ten foot range of my computer desk a cup of tea free zone as I was in grave danger of sloshing it everywhere jigging about in my chair .
There is the massive and pulverising "La Rock 01" which has been a centrepiece of many a D.J. set since the release of the "Poney" E.P. in 2001.I, ve often wondered what a cement mixer tap dancing on aluminium in a wind tunnel would sound like and now I know. Equally propulsive is the latest single "My Friend Dario". This is so powerful it gave me an attack of fremitus which is not good when you're swallowing half masticated Garibaldi but is great if you want to bounce around the room like you've just stepped on a giant mousetrap. There's lot's more in this vein which is terrific but there is also by way of variety the cheesily melodic "Polkamatic" or the lovely "The Past" which sounds like The Future Sound Of London doing the soundtrack to "Bladerunner". The shimmering malleable synths on "Poney Part 2" are fantastic and the generally incomprehensible vocal bits and bats on tracks like "Repair Machines" or "Newman" compliment the music rather than overpower it or get in the way too much.Even the madcap percussive extremes of "Valleta Fanjares" which is like Cozy Powell on fast forward does,nt grate too much.
Vitalic also resists the urge, as is so often the case with dance albums to let tracks go on too long. "La Rock 01" is the longest at 5.26 which with a track that fantastic is hardly a problem .This is the album that LCD Soundsystem should have made and only managed in parts, a colossal stomping behemoth of an album that doesn't break any new ground as far as dance is concerned but just says what the hell, reinforce those floorboards, pin back your ears and lubricate your joints this isn't going to hurt a bit. The best fun you, ll have all year that doesn't involve silk bed sheets, heated baby oil and naughty night attire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding layered beats, 5 Jun 2007
By 
Russell T. Steedman "russellsteedman" (Adelaide, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: O.K. Cowboy (Audio CD)
The most believeable fact about this CD which I have been waiting to arrive for several weeks since I heard about it is that Vitalic have achieved the impossible which is to layer beats one on the other and underneath chords to the extent that there is a beat which is utterly dub and rises until a kind of soft trance nerve comes peeking out from below. Like DJ Sartre or Lord of the Noise or even DJ DaBizzombe the whole entire experience is one of outstanding euphoric noise which laps like water on a quiet shore until walls of sound crash against the listener and drown him/her in bass leaps and troughs. A comparable effect is achieved on Vitalic's first collection of work where the powerful cutting betrays some of the quieter sampling which is almost too subtle to really lift you out of your chair and dance like a dog which has just come off valium after a twelve year prescription.

I would have to say this is perhaps the best sub layered beat-wall effect chord shifting noise wall I have heard from a dance act since Paul Hartnoll's work on Orbital's Brown album. I would seriously recomend it to anyone looking to find some subtle , quieter techno whether they prefer beats which are controlled on their own or worked around inside harder dub effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a ride!, 23 April 2009
By 
Miss Danby (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: O.K. Cowboy (Audio CD)
I first listened to this album whilst riding my bike in 2008. I got so into the music I nearly rode into a wall! I have since come to realise that this album is best (and safer) played loud around the house. I have also heard tracks in night clubs forcing me to dance with delight. Ok Cowboy has firmly become one of my top 10 albums of all time, being the only electronic addition to my geeky little chart. It is not to be confused with Radiohead's drear fest Ok computer, and is cabable of wiping the floor clean with other electronic/dance albums released in the last 10 years. Play with extreme caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a breath of French air..., 29 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: O.K. Cowboy (Audio CD)
I read that this is 'the most important dance record that will be released this year' (Observer MM). Good example of meaningless hype.
Nevertheless this is a really good record. It is a relation of Mylo's effort from last year and that is the best point of reference.
The tracks are a nicely varied, with Air, electroclash, recent Chemical Brothers & even Jean-Michel Jarre all in there somewhere...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine album but..................................., 7 July 2005
By 
Mr. P. D. Nicholson (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: O.K. Cowboy (Audio CD)
This is a very good album as I expected it to be BUT one question, 3 out of 4 tracks are here from the classic 'Poney' E.P. but what happened to the fourth, 'You Prefer Cocaine'? Real shame but still a fine album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this Album, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Brian Burke "Gadget freak" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: OK Cowboy (MP3 Download)
If you are reading this then you either appreciate electronic music or have clicked on something you didn't mean to. Either way you should buy this album. Everyone should. It's filled with tunes which is something you can rarely say about an electro album these days. Everything is catchy. It's one of those album that makes you wonder why everyone doesn't absolutely love it. If you own a club and are looking to strip the walls for re-painting then your easy option is to hire Vitalic to DJ for a night. It will strip the paint for you with its crawling searing basslines, though its hooks may dig in a little too deep! Lol!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

O.K. Cowboy
O.K. Cowboy by Vitalic (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews