Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT
There has never been a more powerfull Dutchman,then Simon Estes.Listening to him on this DVD gives me goosebumps,every time I hear it.I have the recording on vhs also.If you like powerfull,beautiful bass bartones,then this recording is a must in your collection.
Published on 7 Jun 2009 by Frank W. Robinson

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great singing, but confusing production
I find the Kupfer "re-imagining" of the plot rather confusing. I had never seen the opera before and this was a poor introduction in terms of getting the story. Having said that, the singing and orchestral playing is excellent and musically I found this highly enjoyable. The actual stage effects and scene changes are also very impressive.
Published on 14 May 2007 by maximus


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great singing, but confusing production, 14 May 2007
By 
maximus (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Der Fliegende Holländer - (The Flying Dutchman) Wagner [DVD] [1985] [NTSC] [2005] (DVD)
I find the Kupfer "re-imagining" of the plot rather confusing. I had never seen the opera before and this was a poor introduction in terms of getting the story. Having said that, the singing and orchestral playing is excellent and musically I found this highly enjoyable. The actual stage effects and scene changes are also very impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 7 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Der Fliegende Holländer - (The Flying Dutchman) Wagner [DVD] [1985] [NTSC] [2005] (DVD)
There has never been a more powerfull Dutchman,then Simon Estes.Listening to him on this DVD gives me goosebumps,every time I hear it.I have the recording on vhs also.If you like powerfull,beautiful bass bartones,then this recording is a must in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliantly carried through, 6 Dec 2014
This review is from: Der Fliegende Holländer - (The Flying Dutchman) Wagner [DVD] [1985] [NTSC] [2005] (DVD)
. . . brilliantly carried through . . .

Record Review / Michael Tanner, BBC Music Magazine (London) / 01. October 2005

Woldemar Nelsson conducts idiomatically, with the third act in particular a dramatic juggernaut. The Bayreuth Festival Orchestra is superb, as is the chorus . . . the sonics are robust, with good orchestral weight. The camera work is well-done . . .

Record Review / Andrew Quint, Fanfare (Tenafly, NJ) / 01. January 2006

. . . very few DVDs convey better the brilliance of Bayreuth and the depth of the work achieved in its special festival conditions . . . his production remains unsurpassed among "Holländers" I know. Not only brilliant theatre, it makes brilliant film too . . . the whole production could almost have been made for film, so vividly do the images . . . transfer to the screen . . . Kupfer's domestic twist invests the whole work with an Ibsenesque quality -- and there can be no higher praise than that. Balslev's Senta is surrounded by a superb cast.

Record Review / John Allison, Opera (London) / 01. October 2007
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 9 Jun 2010
This review is from: Der Fliegende Holländer - (The Flying Dutchman) Wagner [DVD] [1985] [NTSC] [2005] (DVD)
One of the most gripping and spectacular opera productions you're ever likely to see. Very well played and sung though it's the overall conception which enthralls. A must for any serious opera lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very powerful Dutchman, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Der Fliegende Holländer - (The Flying Dutchman) Wagner [DVD] [1985] [NTSC] [2005] (DVD)
I have not heard any other perfomances of this, except the one with Hildegarde Behrens on youtube. But I felt thiis must surely be as good as any. Simon Estes brilliant powerful singing and acting, i feel it could not have been done better. This with the peerless Matti Salminen as Daland, and Lisbeth Balslev brillian singing and intense portrayal. Subsidiary roles, the little seaman at the beginning and the lover Erik very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Der Fliegende Hollander, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Der Fliegende Holländer - (The Flying Dutchman) Wagner [DVD] [1985] [NTSC] [2005] (DVD)
I found that I much preferred Ligendza's interpretaion of Senta in respect of both interpretaion and singing to that of Balslev in this recording. This is a good recording but I find I prefer the Sawalisch version overall. Although Estes sang the role of the Dutchman very well, I preferred McIntyre's interpretaion. This is much a matter of personal taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Original Version, 14 Oct 2013
By 
J. W. F. Russell (Berkshire, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Der Fliegende Holländer - (The Flying Dutchman) Wagner [DVD] [1985] [NTSC] [2005] (DVD)
What seems to have been missed by the other reviewers is that this recording is of the original 1841 version that Wagner produced for performance in Paris - which was rejected there. It was not performed in Wagner's lifetime and is rarely performed these days (although I believe there was a production in Boston in April 2013).

The main difference is the dark ending with Senta committing suicide without joining the Dutchman and achieving the usual mutual redemption. Key also is the symbolic rejection of the Flying Dutchman by the villagers as they slam their window shutters against him at the very end. This was my reason for adding this particular DVD to my collection and I was not disappointed.

I would have given this DVD five stars if subtitles in English had been included, so it might not appeal to those in the UK who are choosing their "first" Dutchman. Having said that, there is an excellent synopsis provided in English (and French) that describes each sub-scene of the opera. The strength and quality of the leading voices is superb and, unsurprisingly, the excellent DGM sound reproduction puts many modern recordings to shame.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Der Fliegende Holländer - (The Flying Dutchman) Wagner [DVD] [198..., 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Der Fliegende Holländer - (The Flying Dutchman) Wagner [DVD] [1985] [NTSC] [2005] (DVD)
This Bayreuth production is very good though it is plays with no act breaks I found this good,
the singing was excellent I enjoyed this a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Smartypants, 30 Mar 2010
By 
D. M. Purkiss "Diane" (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Der Fliegende Holländer - (The Flying Dutchman) Wagner [DVD] [1985] [NTSC] [2005] (DVD)
In this version the main Biiiig Idea is that everything takes place in Senta's mad imagination. There is no Dutchman, only a fantasy. Senta, powerless in a weak Ibsenesque way, is unable to tolerate the smug bourgeois world she inhabits, and has escaped into la-la land. On stage the whole time just to make sure we don't conclude that the Dutchman has corporeal form, she eventually throws herself off a balcony. No-one is redeemed, least of all her.

Reviewers laaaahved this, dahlings. Perhaps Kupfer thought he was 'updating' Wagner. Excuse me? Retrograding it, more likely.

In Wagner, which this isn't despite the splendid singing from people who seem not to know they are trapped in an awful production, Senta is the only one in control, the only one with any power, the only one who can change things, think outside the box, redeem. When she ticks off the Spinning Chorus for its banality, this is NOT Ibsenesque irritibility; it's because she GENUINELY sees beyond the drawing room. She's truly great. They are numpties. And she does just what she says she will. She does redeem. It's just that redemption has a price. Her life. here she dies just the same, but wihtout achieving ANYTHING. Just explain to me again why that's better or more modern. But Kupfer, who has the International Playbook of Poltical Correctness in his sweaty hand, and is running it, can't himself see beyond a choice betwene madness and boredom.

The slavering which greeted this weary old insight (It's all in yer mind, innit - well, old if you are a Shakespeare fan like me) paved the way for such events as the Copenhagen Ring, in which Alberic's arm is cut off by Wotan, and the Barcelona Parsifal, in which I gather the Grail knights off Titurel and Parsifal himself spears Amfortas instead of healing him.

Doubtless Katharina or Eva Wagner will soon be treating us to a Lohengrin wearing SS uniform or driving to Brabant in a Panzer to show their renunciation of Nazism (and of course its power to sex up old culture, BUT LET'S NOT GO THERE).

I think lots of the current directors are seriously scared of Wagner's very strong women. They seem determined to reduce them to size, humiliate them. (Bayreuth controllers, I'm looking at you. You're not cool and trendy. You are old, old schlock and if you want to do a modern opera, why don't you present one? I like Judith Weil, myself.)

But of course that wouldn't bring in the money. As it is, this Wagner industry is utterly and contemptuously parasitic on people who long for Wagner without the amputations and accompanying slaps across the face. We fund them and they punish us for it.).

3 stars for the singing, though Hans Hotter is a better Dutchman on the old recording with Varnay, and Silja a far better Senta, whatever the idjits at the Penguin guide think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning production, ringing true in every respect, 3 May 2012
By 
Glilla Bear (Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Der Fliegende Holländer - (The Flying Dutchman) Wagner [DVD] [1985] [NTSC] [2005] (DVD)
This Bayreuth 1985 production, artistically overseen by the fiercely traditionalistic Wolfgang Wagner (the composer's grandson)is a magnificent achievement. The singing from every one of the principal cast is superlative, singling out Matti Salminen for special praise since other reviewers seem to have overlooked him. The orchestral playing is exceptional, though some of the tempi perhaps a little brisk (at least to this Klemperer-prone ear!)The idea of the prow-planks of the Dutchman's ship doubling as an opening pair of hands from which the Dutchman emerges is quite splendid; indeed the whole production is opulent as well as being imaginative. I have no doubt that this is a must-have 'Dutchman' , though it is a pity that Segerstam's has recently disappeared from the catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews