Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go ahead and wet yourself
Having been there on the night, I can say that this was an absolutely breathtaking, rib-achingly funny evening of top drawer comedy. If you saw the BBC broadcast, then that should have given you a taster of what to expect on this full length recording.
The event was hosted very well by Jonathan Ross, Jack Dee, Graham Norton, Julian Clary, and Lily Savage, who all did...
Published on 4 Mar. 2005 by L. Shone

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hate to say but I am disappointed!
I know it's for the tsumani appeal and everything and if you're a fan of comedy in general then I'd recommend you buy it BUT:
1.) I noticed I'd seen some of the show before (Ardhal O' Hanlon and Bill Bailey spring to mind) and
2.) I was really disappointed with some of the other acts who I was really looking forward to seeing (Simon Pegg and Jessica Stevenson...
Published on 31 May 2005 by F. Beatty


Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go ahead and wet yourself, 4 Mar. 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comic Aid [DVD] (DVD)
Having been there on the night, I can say that this was an absolutely breathtaking, rib-achingly funny evening of top drawer comedy. If you saw the BBC broadcast, then that should have given you a taster of what to expect on this full length recording.
The event was hosted very well by Jonathan Ross, Jack Dee, Graham Norton, Julian Clary, and Lily Savage, who all did their best to get the crowd excited, cheerfully bantering with the front row and cracking increasingly cheeky jokes.
The first proper act of the evening, Ardal O'Hanlon, started slowly but eventually won everybody over with his jokes about ambulances and his Irish family. Next up, Alistair McGowan rattled through a few of his favourite impressions (including a particularly fine 'Parkinson' moment) before moving into more broadly observational material. Omid Djalili gave us an energetic routine of silly jokes ("I am the only Iranian comic, but that's still technically three more than Germany"), interspersed with some hilarious attempts at belly dancing. Jo Brand was her usual deadpan self, attacking the uselessness of her husband, and telling an extremely good anecdote about the late Malcolm Hardee. Next up, the percussion group Stomp took to the stage and banged things in a mildy amusing fashion (its impossible to explain, you really need to see it), before it was the turn of Jimmy Carr. This 'slightly offensive' comic gave us a fine selection of his brilliantly written but astonishingly rude one liners, causing gales of laughter and sharp intakes of breath in equal measure. The Bo Selecta Bear attempted an improvised set, loosely based on 'Baddiel and Skinner Unplanned', with Jonathan Ross as his sidekick, but the least said about this bit the better I think. Dawn French appeared next, doing a slightly disturbing impression of Catherine Zeta Jones and generally hamming it up as much as she could. For the final act of the first half, Eddie Izzard brought the house down with an impression of Alistair McGowan doing an impression of him, before seamlessly incorporating it into a routine encompassing spiders, horseriding and talking to chickens.
The second half opened with more impressions, this time from Jon Culshaw. He floundered slightly as he tried to get the audience to suggest people fo him to 'do', but eventually his routine took off, with some marvellous skits featuring Russell Crowe, 'Emperor' Blair and George W. Bush ("My fellow Animaniacs..."). Simon Pegg and Jessica Stephenson came on as kind of semi-hosts, using increasingly savage put-downs to banter with each other before introducing Dylan Moran. I was slightly underwhelmed by Mr. Moran, as he waffled confusingly about the darkness of an actor's soul. Its not that it wasn't funny, just that I think his kind of act needs more than seven minutes to work properly. Next up, Derren Brown got the whole audience involved in one of his mind tricks, providing us with one of his trademark 'how the hell...?' moments. Johnny Vegas, as unpredictable as ever, used his slot to angrily pick on several members of the audience, including a man with a broken leg, culminating in a snog with the girlfriend of a bloke whose T-shirt he didn't like! This act really left some people cold, but you have to admire his incredibly quick wit. Miranda Richardson was a suprise special guest, who informed us that she was there to do a 'charity auction' slot. Luckily though, all was not as it seemed, and the proceedings were thoroughly subverted by The League Of Gentlemen, to darkly delicious effect. Rich Hall's country singer creation Otis Lee Crenshaw came on and barked out a couple of amusing, clever songs, one of which was called 'Do Anything You Want To The Girl, Just Don't Hurt Me', before the wonderful Dave Spikey took to the stage to show us why he's more than a match for Peter Kay any day of the week. Moving into the home straight, the 'part troll' himself Mr. Bill Bailey kept the laughs coming with one of his absurd songs, this one being an epic love song featuring the line "The duck of our love lies shredded in a pancake, drowning in the hoi-sin sauce of your lies". Who else could get a line like that into a song, I ask you. Finally, Lee Evans kept the energy levels going right to the finish post, even though by this stage it was well after 11pm and the audience was definitely starting to flag. Hilarious observational gags, combined with his own unique style of delivery, rounded things off very nicely.
In conclusion, if you only buy one comedy DVD this year, make sure its this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cummon it's for charity!, 1 Mar. 2005
This review is from: Comic Aid [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this as it was recently aired on BBC1.What a magnificent idea! Get some of the best comedians in Britian and get them to all do stand up comedy!
There are all the best here and for everyone from Graham Norton to Johnny Vegas! The sheer list of comedians in this is unbelievable,even the bear from Bo'Selecta! makes an appearance here!
The fact is you'll be laughing throughout and it's going towards a good cause.It's like Red Nose Day,minus the annoying breaks to 'see why we're doing this'.Even though they're good you've seen them 5 times by the end of Red Nose Day,so just buy this DVD,give some of your cash to charity and laugh yourself to sleep!
Another good charity DVD is The best comedy DVD in the World! It doesn't quite meet it's title,but the proceeds all go to charity as with this DVD,so dig deep,this DVD deserves it,even it wasn't for charity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hate to say but I am disappointed!, 31 May 2005
This review is from: Comic Aid [DVD] (DVD)
I know it's for the tsumani appeal and everything and if you're a fan of comedy in general then I'd recommend you buy it BUT:
1.) I noticed I'd seen some of the show before (Ardhal O' Hanlon and Bill Bailey spring to mind) and
2.) I was really disappointed with some of the other acts who I was really looking forward to seeing (Simon Pegg and Jessica Stevenson for one).
However: I did think Dylan Moran, Eddie Izzard and Alistair McGowan were excellent. League of Gentlemen were terrifying as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny and for charity, 27 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Comic Aid [DVD] (DVD)
If any one watched it on bbc they would know how funny it was with john culshaw, the bear(bo selecta), johnnyvegas and more. it is definatly worth the money seeing extra uncut scenes will icrease laughs you have. All this to raise money for the tsumani appeal.well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Comic Aid [DVD], 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comic Aid [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoy comedy, but did not really enjoy this. I found it a bit monotonous. It was a good price though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best (British) Comedy I've seen for ages, 11 April 2005
By 
Mr. Graham Cummings (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comic Aid [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this on BBC1 - caught it by chance actually - and found it to be the best comedy in ages. The quality of the comedy was oustanding. And it was all for charity too, even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars now for the blunt truth, 31 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Comic Aid [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this dvd from the bargain bin at work and watched it when i got home and i'm gonna be honest and say... it's not very good. This may have been for charity but it should have been better. The only people that they needed were Lee Evans, Jack Dee, Julian Clary, Lily Savage, Bill Bailey and Eddie Izzard. All of which (apart from Clary) have Box Sets out, and most of them, I own. So when i found out this DVD was coming out i thought "oh good, it would be a like a compilation of the lot" and like most compilations this has it's bad pennies, seemingly the rest of the show.

Some people may (and do) disagree with me. But it wasn't funny, for instance Johnny Vegas, who was rude, offensive, uselss and (surprisingly) drunk. When his seven minutes was up they had to pretty much carry him off the stage. It was like watching an alcholic in a pub at closng time... where's the comedy there? Hmmm.

Ok the money from this goes to charity, but I'm sorry, it ain't worth it.

I've given this 2 stars which is only due to the forementioned acts I liked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Comic Aid [DVD]
Comic Aid [DVD] (DVD - 2005)
£2.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews