Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sweet Album
This is a truly great Sweet album. Pity it was their last before losing Brian Connelly. Feature their greatest single LILO and a smaller US/German hit California Nights. However Silverbird should have been the follow up single. My only gripe is that Brian C only sings lead vocals on half of the tracks. It seems a waste as his vocals are awesome. In the main the album...
Published on 11 April 2005 by george nimmo

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ah man...sadly the end of SWEET for me.
At the time I was a little kid and didn't have a clue as to the details and drama surounding this band at this point in there career. I did understand that when I heard "Love Is Like Oxygen" that it was in fact one the coolest Hard Rock bands of the day...SWEET!I got the 45 first and I remember being a little PO'd about the fact that it had been cut in half (a common...
Published on 19 Feb 2010 by M. DeJesus


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sweet Album, 11 April 2005
This review is from: Level Headed (Audio CD)
This is a truly great Sweet album. Pity it was their last before losing Brian Connelly. Feature their greatest single LILO and a smaller US/German hit California Nights. However Silverbird should have been the follow up single. My only gripe is that Brian C only sings lead vocals on half of the tracks. It seems a waste as his vocals are awesome. In the main the album is very laid back and great for chilling too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sweet at their musical peak, 26 Jan 2001
By 
Adam Coleman "Adam" (McAllen TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Level Headed (Audio CD)
The LH album is probably a time capsule of what the band COULD have been. Great vocals, percussion, acoustics and guitar. From "Dream On" to "Silverbird", this one reflected the maturity of the band, but a maturity that the public never could accept. It reached # 52 in the US in 1978, and the single 'Love is Like Oxygen" reached #8 on June 24, 1978. Buy it for all the reasons that you want too, its a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another huge opus from THE GREAT ONES, 9 Nov 2003
By 
This review is from: Level Headed (Audio CD)
Released in 1978, Level Headed is definitively one of Sweet's best, yet most intriguing productions. As always, it is full of emotion and musical dexterity. The Sweet had just established itself as one of the hardest rocking bands during the 1974-1977 rock vintage period. Not necessarily winning over their always overtly harsh "critics", but Brian Connolly (v), Mick Tucker (d), Steve Priest (b) and Andy Scott (g) by this time had finally more than demonstrated their enormous musical talents. The band peaked during this period and their influence on '80s rock metal bands is simply undeniable. For starters, Motley Crue copied every riff, antic, mayhem from The Mighty Sweet, always falling short. The Sweet were always imitated but never equaled. The Sweet was always a band on a mission, and always said and did whatever they wanted (which may have been its downfall, though). They were totally outrageous and out of control. And then came "Level Headed", an album displaying their softer side. This album is night and day compared to their previous releases and musical past, but still delivered some of the bands richest repertoire. Sadly, this is the last album to feature Brian Connolly on vocals, and well... The Sweet was regretfully never the same. The CD version with extra songs "Show Me The Way" (a rocking continuation of their excellent "Laura Lee") and "Cover Girl" is the best Level Headed CD that you can find. The remastered version dissapointed me, do not try it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Last true hurrah!, 11 Dec 2006
By 
A. Jackson "DVFM" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Level Headed (Audio CD)
After two relatively disappointing albums in "Give Us A Wink" and "Off The Record", Sweet's 1978 set "Level Headed" is a suprisingly good return to form.

The sound has changed here too. There's very little of the march-like hard rock of the past, instead an almost progressive pop-rock pervades the proceedings. "Dream On" the album's opener is a piano-led piece, sung by Andy Scott, with a string arrangement towards the end of the track. Indeed Scott's almost-classical influences dominate the whole album.

Also very telling is lead vocalist Brian Connolly's diminishing role in the recording process. Both Scott and bassist Steve Priest take prominent vocal roles on the two key songs on "Level Headed".

The mighty "Love Is Like Oxygen", was a huge hit single in Britain and around the world. Here it's in its full extended form. Pieced around a taut guitar riff, "Love Is Like Oxygen" is Sweet's "Bohemian Rhapsody". Lucscious harp and piano dominate the middle section of the song before it heads back into a power-chord frenzy and a funky ending. Brilliant stuff.

"California Nights", sung by Steve Priest, is another stand out track. A spacey laid back pop-rocker, its production is so stunning you can almost imagine yourself lying on a hot beach at sundown. "Silverbird" and "Fountain" are acoustic-led folk-rock songs. Both are fairly brisk and feature some good intricate soloing from Scott.

Things go very high-brow with "Lady Of The Lake".Connolly's plaintive vocal is especially effective. Here Sweet's over-blown classical arrangements dominate the whole track. And, in doing so, Sweet have finally caught on to what rivals Queen had been up to for the previous five years.

Sadly, the optimism "Level Headed" promised wasn't built upon. For while Sweet had a massive hit single and album in mainland Europe, yet again it bombed in the U.K. Riddled with alcohol problems, Brian Connolly left the group in early 1979. Scott, Priest and drummer Mick Tucker carried on, but it wasn't to be same ever again. So sad.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ah man...sadly the end of SWEET for me., 19 Feb 2010
By 
M. DeJesus "HazeFace" (WESTFIELD, MASSACHUSETTS, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Level Headed (Audio CD)
At the time I was a little kid and didn't have a clue as to the details and drama surounding this band at this point in there career. I did understand that when I heard "Love Is Like Oxygen" that it was in fact one the coolest Hard Rock bands of the day...SWEET!I got the 45 first and I remember being a little PO'd about the fact that it had been cut in half (a common practice back in the days of 45s)ANYWAYS..got the album and of course went right for the full version of "Oxygen" and played the hell out of that song. The album as a whole grew on me as I grew older as some albums can tend to do. Some people point out the fact that Brian only sang on parts of this album but It really shouldn't be that big of a deal because Andy and Steve had always did their fair share of vocals as most Sweet fans know. The tracks that really are what I consider to be "the best" are Oxygen (obviously)- Silverbird - Strong Love - Letters D'Amour and yes, in all it's celestial glory - Lady Of The Lake! The Brian songs pretty much...I also want to point out that Andy's - Fountain - is a real cool track too, the lyric "circles on the water from the coin thats sinking slowly down" is so f-n cool to me! I don't know why...it's probably the way he sings it. I dont know. - Air on "A" Tape Loop - is real cool 70's rock instrumentation in the vein of ELO or maybe Alan Parsons stuff, the latter band of which I'm not a fan. This album overall is NOT a Rock album that mirrors their previous efforts. This is more of a laid back Eagles meets Beatles meets ELO concoction. It's all SWEET don't get me wrong I'm just hearing what may have been there influences at the time. Definatly and album you can put on, around the fire at an outside keg party around 2 in the morning when your sitting with people who appreciate some low key Rock from the last of the great line up that was Brain, Andy, Steve and Mick.

PS How funny that the "bonus track:" is that confounded 45 version
of "Oxygen" Arrrgh! ha ha ha!no points for that...or at least throw some other stuff from that album on there...there had to be more left over material I would think?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Great Sweet Album, 13 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: Level Headed (Audio CD)
Unfortunately Level Headed was the last album featuring the classic Sweet line up and more importantly the last to feature Brian Connolly, one of the greatest rock vocalists of the 70s. Time has since told us that Brian was in a very bad shape around this time and the rest of the band felt compelled to let him go in order to carry on. Considering this, it is amazing that they managed to record such an excellant set of songs, including the huge hit Love Is Like Oxygen, which a lot of people seem to think is an ELO song. Think again!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sweet make a final stand as a 4-piece!, 23 Aug 2010
By 
H. Perera "Harin Perera" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Level Headed (Audio CD)
The Sweet....Chinn-Chap pop products to Glam Rock giants to one of the most powerful Brit Rock bands of the 70's came together for the last time to record "Level Headed" as the original 4-piece.
After the completely overlooked "Off The Record" album (due to the Punk uprising that year) and Brian Connolly's increasing alcohol problem, the band were on their last legs when they came to record "Level Headed".
However The Sweet were determined to make a last stand by throwing in every ingredient and exceeding boundries in a bid to make a classic album!
The beautifully orchestrated "Dream On" opens the setting for The Sweet's biggest Worldwide hit "Love Is Like Oxygen" in its entirerity (the single version is also featured)before "Califonia Nights" moves from Eagles territory to a Funked up chorus with Steve Priest's voice excelling.
A stab of Funk complete with a Horn section is served up on "Strong Love", before "Fountain", a highlight on this album, simply blows you away! The haunting verse is delivered by beautifully Andy Scott with Accoustic Guitar backing (later joined by a Harpsichord) before breaking into a classic Sweet chorus. Great slide Guitar solo too!!
How "Anthem No1(Lady Of The Lake)" never became an all time mega Rock ballad escapes me! Brian Connolly's beautiful voice, backed by a Harpsichord, explodes into an emotional stadium type chorus that is really unique!
A killer riff opens the poppy "Silverbird", while "Letters D'Amour" is a beautiful haunting Euro piece of music, with Brian's voice at its amazing best, joining the other three in perfect harmony, for an outstanding chorus.
"Air On A Tape Loop" is an atmospheric almost instrumental track bathed with beautiful sounds and sheer musicality, beefed up by Mick Tucker's solid Drumming (solo included!). It could easily give todays Electro brigade and Prog Rock wannabes a run for it!
And there you have it! A classic? Definitely!.....but sadly one that was overlooked by the mass public of the 70's. Do not let "Level Headed" pass YOU by!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet - fantastic!, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Level Headed (Audio CD)
It is just simply fantastic - not what you'd expect to hear - but it is so much better and worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Levelled Out, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Level Headed (Audio CD)
If you are expecting the familiar Sweet sound this is not for you. The stand out track for me is Love is like oxygen,the full length version. The cd is a bit prog and dreamy and not sure where they were going with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SWEETS MASTERPIECE, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Level Headed (Audio CD)
THIS ALBUM IS SO FANTASTIC PRODUCED AND THE SONGS ARE HUGE TO THE ROOF SONGS I CANT UNDERSTAND WHY I FIRST HEARD THIS ALBUM NOW THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN A HUGE HIT CANT ALWAYS UNDERSTAND THE RECORD BUYING PEOPLE ??????? SUUUUUUUUUUPERP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Level Headed
Level Headed by Sweet (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews