Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well ... different
If you're expecting something like Play, or even 18, you'll be surprised -- and maybe disappointed -- at this. Here, I think, Moby has decided that his albums should have more of his own Voice. The trouble is, he doesn't have much of a voice -- something that he has recognised in the past and we have been treated to some of the most powerful and beautiful voices in the...
Published on 6 April 2005 by Gary

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a Five Star Hotel
When I pre-ordered Hotel I expected some of the earlier magnificance of Moby, 18 and Play. However, after inserting the CD my heart dropped; I was confronted with an album so mundane and repetative and boring. Is this the Moby we all love and listen to? No, it is a disappointment. The occasional good songs, Lift Me Up and Dream About Me are drowned in the musical...
Published on 4 April 2005 by Thomas Mitchel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well ... different, 6 April 2005
By 
Gary "garyth" (Leamington, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel (Audio CD)
If you're expecting something like Play, or even 18, you'll be surprised -- and maybe disappointed -- at this. Here, I think, Moby has decided that his albums should have more of his own Voice. The trouble is, he doesn't have much of a voice -- something that he has recognised in the past and we have been treated to some of the most powerful and beautiful voices in the session-singing world, stirred in with Moby's originality and production genius. Here, in Hotel, is Moby's voice combined with one female singer, whose voice has been chosen presumably because it is as gentle as his (though much more versatile). I started off not liking Hotel, then liked it more, and now have gone full circle -- deciding ultimately that it's a bit easy-listeningish and ... well, I hate to say it, being a great Moby fan, but boring. It's OK: it's smooth, and far more 'even' than his other albums, which would move from genre to genre far more waywardly (sometimes unsuccessfully). It's just that it doesn't make the heart thump like the best of his work on previous albums ... and I now realise that what made most of those brilliant tracks work so brilliantly was the extraordinary power of the voices Moby employed and the way that he used them. Hotel is worth buying to see the way that Moby is going -- it's quite pleasant and inoffensive. But don't expect anything as good as 'Play'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars different but still the same (good as always), 13 Mar 2005
By 
Alexandros Alexandropoulos "strangeday" (Athens, Greece Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hotel (Audio CD)
So, 3 years after the multiplatinum 18 which was sort of a sequel to Play he's returning with something new and fresh and quite different than the 2 previous american blues/gospel/spiritual/soul sample dominated albums. This time there are no "Why does my heart feel so bad" or "Honey" or "In this world". It has a more european, synthy and atmospheric sound. It could be a mid 90's trip hop Bristol album. He shares the vocals with Laura Dawn who has a very warm and soft and heartbreaking voice. Her singing in very electronic and ambient-ish version of New Order's Temptation makes you imagine beautiful landascapes and imageries. This album is quite different than what he did with the last couple ones and it needs it's time to grow but if you give it a chance it proves itself to be maybe his finest work to date. Don't expect the Lift Me Up (first) single of the album to be representative of style and sound. Though it has it's "stadium" moments. Expect Spiders to be a huge live fav and hit if released as a single.
Very is a mixture of disco and rave sound. It could be from "Everything is Wrong" album if done today. "Raining again" is a drum/piano/guitar led stomper in "We are all made of Stars" and "Extreme Ways" tradition.Beautiful, the next single, is meant to be a radio hit."Where you End" is very electronic and dreamy and could be a Depeche Mode song. "Dream about Me" is electronic and cinematic too with exquisite vocals. Very sentimental and melancholic. I am telling you again. If you spend a few listens to it you will discover that probably it is his best work to date. Highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...perhaps his best yet..., 14 Mar 2005
By 
Ian C. Smith "ghost of '82" (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hotel [2-disc] (Audio CD)
Most people got to know Moby's music after he released the Play album, which spawned several singles while every track was used for adverts on tv. Thankfully, having gotten the difficult follow-up album out of the way (18, which probably could have been titled Play Vol.2) Moby has released a real classic with Hotel. Ditching the samples and instead opting to sing himself with a guitar-based, 80's synth-rock kind of sound, what we have here is an organic collection of great tunes. Some fans may miss the Play/18 kind of sound, but I much prefer this new approach. it just feels more natural and honest. After a few plays, I don't think there is a bum note or song on this. It's pretty much a perfect Moby album. And if you opt for the limited edtion, you get a second album of wonderful ambient soundscapes that is so good it could have been a genuine seperate release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent concept, awesome album, 18 Mar 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel (Audio CD)
I love the sleeve notes that Moby puts in to his albums, not that he needs to explain himself, but it's great to have an idea of where the artist is coming from, and Hotel is no exception. From the concept to the music, 'Hotel' is an excellent album and it's been on repeat in the iPod every since I received it!
'Raining Again', 'Lift Me Up' and 'Spiders' are very strong tracks, I agree with the other reviewers who think that 'Spiders' will be a single. Moby's songwriting goes from strength to strength.
Considering the singers he could have colaborated with, I like the approach he's taken to the vocals on this album. Although he's used a number of backing vocalists, he has employed just two people for main vocal duties; himself and Laura Dawn. 'Dream About Me' is a great example of Laura's airy, haunting vocal balancing out Moby's vocal. With Laura taking the lead on 'Temptation', 'Very' and 'Like It' which are all in very different singing styles, showing her diversity.
Despite Laura's beautiful vocal, the Moby-led 'Slipping Away' was the highlight for me. One can't help feeling, the through his music, Moby is trying to communicate something, that perhaps, we should all listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very pleasant surprise.., 23 Mar 2005
By 
gibbons "gibbons" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hotel (Audio CD)
Difficult to talk up an album, people generally think you are some dedicated sycophant. Really loved Play, Everything is wrong, and well 18 felt empty, more like a Bsides album.
But there is something great about Hotel, something rather sensitive and simple about it. There are one or two songs you feel you have heard before, I will leave you to decide for yourself. Must highlight 'Slipping Away' and 'Dream About Me' for special praise, both these songs have lovely melodies and are rousing in their respective and different ways. Talking of melodies, Moby is obviously aware of how limited his voice can be, rather perversely this acts in his favour as he tends to drench other parts of the song with melody and counter melody, be it a beautiful guitar line or some tinkling on a keyboard. Also he doesnt dominate or capitulate in respect of his other vocalists, he uses their beautiful voices to add an extra dimension, sometimes sparring with and sometimes adding to. I was moved to write a review because I was pleasantly surprised by this album, it is very good. And unlike so many albums these days the good songs far outweigh the bad. The production is pure and clean as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a Five Star Hotel, 4 April 2005
This review is from: Hotel (Audio CD)
When I pre-ordered Hotel I expected some of the earlier magnificance of Moby, 18 and Play. However, after inserting the CD my heart dropped; I was confronted with an album so mundane and repetative and boring. Is this the Moby we all love and listen to? No, it is a disappointment. The occasional good songs, Lift Me Up and Dream About Me are drowned in the musical messes which surround them. This is an album which could have been made in a weekend. With a Sony casette recorder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He just doesn't stop does he?, 30 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hotel (Audio CD)
For some Moby is a dirty word. Up there with Dido in the bland stakes - though you'd have to be a goth with ears of cloth to think that. Judge not a man by the company he keeps in a suburban record collection, but by the quality of his work.

"Hotel" then, Moby's umpteenth album (some people say it's his fifth, but I can think of seventeen in his careeer), is both more of the same, and more than that. You know what he sounds like, dance music for people who don't dance, and yet, with this one, he's branching back into the more eclectic territory he shyed from on both "Play" and "18" : the formula of old blues samples and guest vocalists have been retired, in favour of one man, an arsenal of bedroom geekery, and a vision.

Last time he did this, his vision was "Animal Rights", a heartbroken thrash classic that sold all of 43 copies. This time, "Hotel" will fly off the supermarket shelves on the back of his stadium-blues classic "Play", and it's no lesser a record than any of his recent work. In many ways it's better.

"Hotel" mines the same furrow of melancholic dance music, shorn of the fancy tricks of the previous records. Musically, occasionally the vision is smaller, more intimate than before, yet also harder, more urgent : the epic gestures of the last two records are downscaled in favour of a quieter, more personal approach. As such, one gets the feeling that is more Moby than most of his other, more impersonal material.

Despite himself, Moby can't help write the big hooks : "Beautiful", "Lift Me Up", and "Raining Again" are songs that, in the hands of Noel Gallagher would be stadium singalongs. Here, they're lullabies for bedrooms : sad yet happy, uplifting yet never optmistic. Simple, yet complex, and proof that clever need not be complicated. And like all of Moby's vocal work, it hangs on an air of hopeful melancholy, the intelligent hope that despite the wars between people and nations, that human nature - innate human goodness will prevail.

As he says on the sleeve, the album is called "Hotel" for a number of reasons, because all things are temporary, this life, love, the rooms we rent by the night or by the year, all of these things are both permanent and passing. Like any great artist, Moby evolves, yet never beyond the recognisable : if you liked "Play" or "18", you'll love this. If you think he's techno blues-raping geek baldy Anti-Christ, welcome to Wrongsville : Population You.

"Hotel" is neither Moby's best nor worst album, but another consistent album made by a genuine talent. I get the feeling that even if Moby didn't have a deal anymore and was working for a living, he'd be sat in his bedroom making these songs, simply because he has to : because that's who he is.

What greater artist is there than one who creates art because he needs to, not because he does it get laid and get paid? Yes, you, Joss Stone, Jamie Callum, and countless self-aggrandising rappers, I'm talking to you. Shut up with your aural graffiti and let the talent speak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as 'Play' or '18', 4 April 2005
This review is from: Hotel [2-disc] (Audio CD)
First impressions, not as good as Play or 18 or indeed any of his prior albums. You cannot fault Moby's technical ability;
the arrangements are perfect and the tunes are melodic enough. But after two and a half listens I still don't remember a single track, there is nothing buzzing round my head like there was with his previous efforts. I am glad he has ditched the blues samples (aka 'Why does my heart..') as they were getting a little tiresome. The ambient cd is pure Moby genius but the main cd, for me anyway, is patchy at best. The cover of New Order's "Temptation" just infuriates me because I love New Order's original and I don't quite see the point of this track for Moby. Worth buying of course, because it's Moby. But don't expect Play or 18.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars His best work so far, 21 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Hotel (Audio CD)
This is really good, I haven't stopped playing it since I bought it. The only fault I can find is although the album is topped and tailed by instrumentals it doesn't feel like a complete album. There's something missing in the middle, as though it's just a collection of very good songs. You know, the way a greatest hits album sounds. But then maybe this is just perfect for an iPOD. Play it on "shuffle" mode and it sounds even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good album, 8 Jun 2014
This review is from: Hotel (Audio CD)
It's not richard hall's best it's OK maybe a bit more you've got Lift Me Up and Raining that are the best the other not play's better a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hotel [2-disc]
Hotel [2-disc] by Moby (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews