Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 60 volumes, and still going strong
It's hard to believe that the Now series has been going for 22 years, but here it is once again with the kind of quality compilation we've come to expect from Ashley Abram and co.
When I first saw the tracklist, I was impressed with the quality and variety of music on offer here. Having given it two weeks' listening time, I can confirm it sounds as good as it looks...
Published on 9 April 2005 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Now - The 60th Edition Is Finally Upon Us (3.5 stars)
The best of the best (although some may argue the worst of the worst) of the chart world arrives at us in the form of the 60th (has it really been around that long?) edition of the world-famous Now series and when its good, its very, very good but of course, when its bad...
cd 1 starts off with the spectacular (if slightly old) What You Waiting For by Gwen, Sunset...
Published on 3 April 2006 by bthebrit


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 60 volumes, and still going strong, 9 April 2005
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! 60 (Audio CD)
It's hard to believe that the Now series has been going for 22 years, but here it is once again with the kind of quality compilation we've come to expect from Ashley Abram and co.
When I first saw the tracklist, I was impressed with the quality and variety of music on offer here. Having given it two weeks' listening time, I can confirm it sounds as good as it looks! I also love the way the music is split down the middle: disc 1 for party moods, disc 2 for those heavier times.
All in all, Now 60 manages to deliver something for everyone (or everything for someone). A few of my personal favourite tracks are Uniting Nations' "Out Of Touch", Sunset Strippers' "Falling Stars", Chemical Brothers' "Galvanise" and the brilliant "Somebody Told Me" from The Killers. This is really amazing stuff, managing to thoroughly squash the competition. If you haven't already, GO BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Now - The 60th Edition Is Finally Upon Us (3.5 stars), 3 April 2006
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! 60 (Audio CD)
The best of the best (although some may argue the worst of the worst) of the chart world arrives at us in the form of the 60th (has it really been around that long?) edition of the world-famous Now series and when its good, its very, very good but of course, when its bad...
cd 1 starts off with the spectacular (if slightly old) What You Waiting For by Gwen, Sunset Strippers' Falling Stars and Kylie's christmas no2 I Believe In You. No1's from Mcfly (the cheese-tastic Comic relief single All About You) and Nelly feat. Tim Mcgraw with Over And Over follow with other chart-toppers on the album from Ciara with the awful Goodies and Girls Aloud with the cringing I'll Stand By You. (what will the Pretenders say, let alone neighbours).
Top tracks from the likes of LL Cool j, Ashanti, The Lovefreekz, Soul Central, Scissor Sisters and Shapeshifters add to the overall decent quality of the opening disc with only Joss Stone, Verbalicious and Akon providing the unpleasantries (and i use that term loosely).
CD2 kicks off with the oldie- but-goodie Vertigo by the never-ending (and i mean that in a good way) u2, the brilliant (and argubly the best track on the complilation) Somebody Told Me by The Killers, Stereophonics' storming Dakota (their first and so far, only no1 - who'd have phunk it?), Keane and Bloc party. Athlete's first apperarance on the album, Wires, The Doves comeback single-of-sorts Black And White Town, The Bravery's Honest Mistake and Feeder's Tumble And Fall round off the highlights of the second disc - but marks off for pairing them alongside Atomic Kitten, Brian McFadden, and, god help us all, Darius - but hey who am i to argue when the first-week sales figures roll in?
Is This The Way To Amarillo brings an end to Easter 2005's annual pop conpendium with the best-selling single of the year and what a classic it is - so until next time, sha-la-la.. hmm on second thoughts maybe not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but not as a food garnish, 12 Mar. 2005
By 
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! 60 (Audio CD)
Now albums are a must-buy for me, and once again I'm not left disappointed.
McFly's big new track kicks things off, the first 10 tracks are overshadowed by Gwen Stefani's "What You Waiting For", a masterpiece of pop music. I also think they could have put the newer Girls Aloud track, the gritty disco of "Wake Me Up" is a lot better than the lame "I'll Stand By You". Dance tracks from the Uniting Nations, the all-conquering Scissor Sisters and the quite brilliant "Galvanise", follow, the album twists into American R&B or, as the cool kids say, "Crunk N' B" (This is apparently where you get drunk and crazy at the same time. Like brunch, but with more beats and less bacon). Ciara and LL Cool J pop up here, it is a blessing that the nauseating Usher is cast aside. The laudable Verbalicious, appears with a song I really shouldn't like, but can't help tapping my toes to, then whoops someone put Geri Halliwell on it. Quick slap to whoever thought of that but then a big hug, because that's the only blemish on the first CD.
The second CD is pure genius, the Killers' track "Somebody Told Me" is one of the main standouts, dramatic rock at its best. The return of a rather different sounding Stereophonics is also welcomed, some cool indie tracks follow before smoothly returning to the pop arena, including that daft track by Darius, which to be fair isn't all that bad. Daniel Bedingfield continues the family trend of being obsessed with literature (These Words, Unwritten, Wrap My Words Around You, I rest my briefcase). Usually CD2 contains all the failing pop bands, but instead we have new light Lucie Silvas, old hands, the Doves and the shockingly underrated Feeder. Atomic Kitten make an appearance, but as its their last, I shall let them off with a stern look. Most bizarrely of all, Tony Christie features with classic "(Is This The Way To) Amarillo". I can only fathom this is because of either A) his successful greatest hits album and huge following by today's youth or B) Peter Kay's hysterical performance t'other night on Comic Relief.
What a marvellous album, I shall buy and listen over Easter, whils that odd rabbit goes around giving chocolate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now - helping to soothe exam revision?, 13 April 2005
By 
Mr. R. B. Ager "Ronald Ager" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! 60 (Audio CD)
I don't know if this is a reliable indicator, but, while on the one hand I was of the opinion that this is one of the weaker "Now" collections, with rather too much emphasis on dance/club tracks and some execrable ballads (including the remake of "Father And Son", the only good thing about which was that it prompted me to search out my dusty copy of the Cat Stevens original), on the other hand this is one of the very few of my CDs that my AS-level-vintage son has commandered on a regular basis as revision break (and certainly not for the ballads).
So, apart from the dance acts, there's a fair helping of both sugary and spicy pop, of aristocratic and apprentice-shop rock, of "crunk & b" (Ciara) and "charidee" (Tony Christie). But no recycled Elvis. The aim, as always, is to round up what has been in the pop charts over the last three months, and this it does admirably, including seven tracks that made No 1 and, on the release date, nine tracks that were still in the Top 40, which is quite an achievement these days.
While it is probably true that most people will already own the albums which have spawned the best tracks, from the likes of U2, Gwen Stefani, Scissor Sisters and Chemical Brothers, I always think that the Now (and similar) series are useful as samplers of some lesser-known acts, which I might be tempted to investigate further (eg Athlete, Freefaller, Lucie Silvas). For that purpose, and the undeniable cost and room savings having 40 odd singles on one CD, this is ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great music, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! 60 (Audio CD)
There is not much to say apart from the person loved it and it was a great present for anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Birthday present, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! 60 (Audio CD)
Bought for a friends 60th birthday present. Probably not their genre of music, but he is music lover (an was inexpensive ).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars REALLY GOOD ALBUM, 21 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! 60 (Audio CD)
This is also a really good Now album.

43 TOP CHART HITS

COMPACT DISC 1 Chart Peak Weeks On Chart

1.Gwen Stefani- What You Waiting For? (4) 15 Weeks(Nov-May)
2.Sunset Strippers- Falling Stars (3) 13 Weeks(Mar-June)
3.Kylie Minogue- I Believe In You (2) 12 Weeks(Dec-Mar)
4.McFly- All About You (1) 14 Weeks(Mar-Nov)
5.Nelly ft Tim McGraw- Over And Over (1) 12 Weeks(Feb-May)
6.Lemar- If There's Any Justice (3) 16 Weeks(Nov-Mar)
7.Girls Aloud- I'll Stand By You (1) 14 Weeks(Nov-Feb)
8.Uniting Nations- Out Of Touch (7) 21 Weeks(Nov-May)
9.Scissor Sisters- Filthy/Gorgeous (5) 9 Weeks(Jan-Mar)
10.The Chemical Brothers- Galvinize (3) 16 Weeks(Jan-May)
11.LL Cool J ft 7 Aurelius- Hush (3) 10 Weeks(Feb-Apr)
12.Ashanti- Only U (2) 8 Weeks(Jan-Mar)
13.Ciara ft Petey Pablo- Goodies (1) 9 Weeks(Jan-Mar)
14.Akon- Locked Up (5) 13 Weeks(Feb-May)
15.Joss Stone- Spoiled (32) 2 Weeks(Mar-Apr)
16.Verbalicious- Don't Play Nice (11) 5 Weeks(Feb-Apr)
17.Shapeshifters- Back To Basics (10) 8 Weeks(Mar-May)
18.Geri- Ride It (4) 9 Weeks(Nov-Jan)
19.The Lovefreekz- Shine (6) 6 Weeks(Jan-Mar)
20.Reflekt ft Delline Bass-
Need To Feel Loved (14) 5 Weeks(Feb-Apr)
21.Soul Central ft Kathy Brown-
Strings Of Life(Stronger On My Own) (6) 7 Weeks(Jan-Mar)
22.Styles & Breeze- Heartbeatz (16) 4 Weeks(Mar-Apr)

COMPACT DISC 2 Chart Peak Weeks On Chart

1.U2- Vertigo (1) 13 Weeks(Nov-July)
2.The Killers- Somebody Told Me (3) 18 Weeks(Jan-Jan)
3.Stereophonics- Dakota (1) 23 Weeks(Mar-Nov)
4.Keane- This Is The Last Time (18) 6 Weeks(Nov-Jan)
5.Bloc Party- So Here We Are (5) 4 Weeks(Feb-Mar)
6.Athlete- Wires (4) 15 Weeks(Jan-May)
7.Robbie Williams- Misunderstood (8) 8 Weeks(Dec-Feb)
8.Ronan Keating ft Yusuf Islam-
Father And Son (2) 11 Weeks(Dec-Mar)
9.Darius- Live Twice (7) 6 Weeks(Jan-Feb)
10.Daniel Bedingfield- Wrap My
Words Around You (12) 7 Weeks(Feb-Apr)
11.Lucie Silvas- Breathe In (6) 7 Weeks(Jan-Mar)
12.Doves- Black And White Town (6) 4 Weeks(Feb-Mar)
13.The Bravery- An Honest Mistake (7) 10 Weeks(Mar-May)
14.Freefaller- Do This! Do That! (8) 5 Weeks(Jan-Mar)
15.Thirteen Senses- Thru The Glass (18) 3 Weeks(Jan-Feb)
16.Feeder- Tumble And Fall (5) 5 Weeks(Jan-Feb)
17.Raghav ft Frankey Maxx & Jucxi D
Angel Eyes (7) 6 Weeks(Feb-Mar)
18.JoJo- Baby It's You (8) 9 Weeks(Nov-Jan)
19.Atomic Kitten- Cradle (10) 4 Weeks(Feb-Mar)
20.Brian McFadden & Delta Goodrem-
Almost Here (3) 10 Weeks(Feb-Apr)
21.Tony Christie ft Peter Kay-
Is This The Way To Amarillo (1) 28 Weeks(Mar-Jan)

Best Songs

COMPACT DISC 1

Gwen Stefani- What You Waiting For?
Sunset Strippers- Falling Stars
Uniting Nations- Out Of Touch
LL Cool J ft 7 Aurelius- Hush
Akon- Locked Up
Verbalicious- Don't Play Nice
Geri- Ride It
The Lovefreekz- Shine
Reflekt ft Delline Bass- Need To Feel Loved
Styles & Breeze- Heartbeatz

COMPACT DISC 2

The Killers- Somebody Told Me
Keane- This Is The Last Time
Darius- Live Twice
Daniel Bedingfield- Wrap My Words Around You
The Bravery- An Honest Mistake
Thirteen Senses- Thru The Glass

Artists repeated from Now 59

McFly- All About You
Nelly ft Tim McGraw- Over And Over
Girls Aloud- I'll Stand By You
Scissor Sisters- Filthy/Gorgeous
Joss Stone- Spoiled
Keane- This Is The Last Time
Robbie Williams- Misunderstood
Ronan Keating ft Yusuf Islam- Father And Son
Darius- Live Twice
Daniel Bedingfield- Wrap My Words Around You
Lucie Silvas- Breathe In
JoJo- Baby It's You

Artists that appear on Now 61

Gwen Stefani ft Eve- Rich Girl
Kylie Minogue- Giving You Up
McFly- You've Got A Friend
Nelly- N Dey Say
Girls Aloud- Wake Me Up
Akon- Lonely
Joss Stone- Don't Cha Wanna Ride
U2- Sometimes You Can't Make It On Your Own
The Killers- Smile Like You Mean It
Tony Christie- Avenues And Alleyways

7 Number 1's

McFly- All About You
Nelly ft Tim McGraw- Over And Over
Girls Aloud- I'll Stand By You
Ciara ft Petey Pablo- Goodies
U2- Vertigo
Stereophonics- Dakota
Tony Christie- Is This The Way Is Amarillo

Release Date: 21 March 2005
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars love it, 25 July 2011
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! 60 (Audio CD)
Well what a little blast from the past. i am in the process of trying to collect the whole Now collection and so far i am doing quite well actually. Enjoy everyone x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice mix of music from this time, 12 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! 60 (Audio CD)
I love Now albums, they give you a good mix of what was about a this time. Great memory tunes and you find yourself singing loudley to them. I collect all of them and love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOW 60, 10 Dec. 2005
By 
Mrs. J. Walpole "Adam" (West Midlands, England United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! 60 (Audio CD)
The biggest hits of decrmber 2004 and the beging of the year 2005. With robbie williams, kylie minogue, McFly, U2 And so much more pop rock dance and rnb. With massive hits from JoJo and Akon along with 2 children in need songs "i'll stand by you" from girls aloud and "amarillo" from toni christie a perfect kids party cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Now That's What I Call Music! 60
Now That's What I Call Music! 60 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews