Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars214
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2008
I bought this DVD purely to fill out my collection, and while it isn't the best season of 24 released, it is still better than average. The plot is a bit over-the-top with far too many crises going on compared to the other seasons. However, the action is superb, Chloe isn't (as) annoying, and the ending is awesome and unexpected (unless you happen to have seen the other seasons. If you're a fan of 24, buy this, if not...better start with season 1!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Excellent buy!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
Great purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
Great series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2014
Great thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2016
Good series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Great watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2005
So, why 4 stars??
First of all, the whole plot happening in 24 hours - I don't think so. The others were a little farfetched but almost believable, this one just went too far. Also, there were some things that just seemed unreal.
But, it's still 24. Sutherland is amazing and the rest of the cast are too. I'm kinda glad that Kim is not in this series, nothing else bad could happen to the girl....now could it?
The other thing I didn't like about this one was all the unnecessary emotion - from all sides.
Sounds like I hated it actually reading this, but I loved it really. It's just that after Series 1-3, 4 is a bit of a let down......perhaps they should quit whilst their ahead.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
Love these
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2006
Oh dear...well we knew this day would come. The day when 24, one of the best television shows ever created, would lose its edge and cease to deliver the kind of thrills that it once did. Unfortunately I don't think anyone thought that it would happen as early as Season 4. The first three seasons were all fantastic, each keeping viewers on the edge of their seats from start to finish. Despite its mixed reception, I thought Season 3 was excellent and rightly deserved the Best Drama Golden Globe that it won in 2004. All this makes the lacklustre performance of Season 4 all the more disappointing.

The series starts off fairly promisingly with some interesting and original storylines making you believe that this could be yet another cracker of a season. Then, around five or so episodes in, the series starts to nose dive. The episodes become rather dull and routine, with Jack and co. simply running around following lead after lead.

There are several issues that I have with this series that I believe are behind its poor performance. The first is due to the show's creators deciding to introduce so many new characters at the start of this season, with only Jack Bauer and Chloe O'Brian (who, personally, I have never liked that much) being the returning regulars. This gives the show a very unfamiliar and alien feeling that makes this series hard to get into. In my opinion, none of the new characters in Series 4 have the kind of presence or personality that positively beamed off the characters from the previous 3 seasons. By the time you start to familiarise yourself with these new characters, you are already half way through the series.

My second issue is with the choice of some of the actors chosen to play the new roles in Season 4. Jonathan Ahdout as Behrooz Araz, and Willian Devane as the Secretary of Defence are both, in my opinion, completely miscast, as are a few others. They are not helped by the fact that some of the lines of script written for this series are truly horrific. The show's writers are, as always, trying to be patriotic but some of the lines they have written to demonstrate this are just painful to hear. You end up sniggering in disbelief at points that are intended to be the season's emotional climaxes. It's such a shame because in previous season's the dialogue has seemed so natural, yet here it comes across so manufactured and forced. Even Kiefer Sutherland isn't shining quite as brightly this time around as Jack Bauer, shown by the fact that this is the only season so far that he hasn't been nominated for a Leading Actor Golden Globe. But it's fairly clear to see why. In past seasons, despite always going through the motions of running around following leads and answering his phone, Jack was also given a larger storyline that gave Sutherland something to flex his acting muscles over. In Season 4, however, Jack appears to have been relegated and his role sizably reduced in an attempt to bring other characters to the forefront. As a result Jack's character isn't really explored much this series and Sutherland is just left to act out scenarios that we've seen him do dozens of times before.

My third problem is that in this season there is a serious lack of the shock-endings that make episodes of 24 so incredible. Yet by Season 4 the writers definitely seem to have been pushed for inspiration, and some of the episodes end in a very lacklustre and....I never thought I'd say this about 24...ordinary way. It would not be true to say that they are all like this, and there are some excellent nail-biting, edge-of-your-seat endings that remind you of how great 24 can be. Its just such a shame that they couldn't all have delivered equal hidden surprises.

Fortunately the criticisms that I have are not representative of the entire season, and the final third is certainly a lot better with the storyline being much more gripping and involving. And when it finally arrives the season finale is also very dramatic, even rivalling Season 1 for its emotional impact. But unfortunately not even this can hide the fact that for the most part this series was on auto-pilot, falling far behind its three predecessors. In conclusion, this really was a day that Jack Bauer should have stayed in bed for.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)