Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More amazing action with Jack Bauer...
24 must be one of the best TV shows around. Incredibly exciting, with complex plots, great special effects, and top-notch acting, this is literally edge-of-your-seat television.
Season 4 was not my favourite season, but it was still fantastic. Unlike seasons 2 & 3, it gets going straight away, with a massive train explosion in the first minutes, and you...
Published on 26 Mar 2006 by Miss

versus
12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a tricky thing, rating season 4
24 Season 4 - is it either a) the greatest season yet or b) rubbish. Reviews on here seem to be split inbetween the two, which sounds rather confusing.
I just finished watching season four a few days ago. In my opinion it is the weakets of the seasons. The script had some horrible cliches in it, it was a lot more episodic (ideas/plots getting turned over very quickly...
Published on 28 Jun 2005 by Mr. T. COLEMAN


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More amazing action with Jack Bauer..., 26 Mar 2006
By 
Miss "crazyminx" (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24: Season Four DVD Collection [DVD] (DVD)
24 must be one of the best TV shows around. Incredibly exciting, with complex plots, great special effects, and top-notch acting, this is literally edge-of-your-seat television.
Season 4 was not my favourite season, but it was still fantastic. Unlike seasons 2 & 3, it gets going straight away, with a massive train explosion in the first minutes, and you immediately become gripped by the action. The pace is maintained for the first 12 or so episodes, but halfway through it does slow down and begins to drag slightly in comparison. However, even 24 at its slowest is still faster-paced than most shows, and the action soon picks up again with some cracking final episodes that had me actually biting my nails.
As usual the regular actors all do a great job - Jack is intense and sexy, Tony does a brilliant job of portraying a hurt and confused man on the edge of giving up, and Chloe is consistently hilarious in her own off-beat way. The new characters are a bit more hit and miss - Erin Driscoll and Edgar Stiles are both brilliantly portrayed, but Marianne is very cliched, Curtis is boring without any personality, and Audrey is a little annoying - she appears shocked every time Jack has to hit someone.
Overall though it's amazing television, and the sort of programme that once you've bought the boxset, you'll end up watching about 6 episodes in a row because it's so exciting.
The boxset itself is attractively presented - a plastic book-style design with a glossy cover and a cardboard slipcase. I also have to say a word about the special features - WOW! An entire extra disc of features includes:
-Breaking Ground: Building the New CTU (approx 18 minute documentary on building the CTU set and shooting there)
-Blood on the Tracks (approx 15 min documentary on shooting the train explosion, including interviews with the directors and special effects guys)
-Lock and Load (short documentary on the weapons used)
-Nissan Short Film (a beautiful 20 minute promotional film - not much relevance to 24 though!)
-24 The Game (Kiefer Sutherland introduces a behind the scenes look at the PS2 game)
-The Longest Day music video (video for the trance version of the 24 theme)
AND A MASSIVE 40 deleted scenes, which can be watched with or without commentary from director Jon Cassall. Many of them are several minutes long and include entirely new characters or subplots. They also clear up lots of loose ends, such as what happened to Behrooz.
A word of warning though - try not to look at the pictures on the DVD menus, as they often show scenes from the ends of episodes, and can give some of the plot away. Other than that, buy it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack's Back, 3 Aug 2005
By 
CHRISTOPHER MCSHANE (East Kilbride, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 24: Season Four DVD Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I've watched 24 from the start and I have to say in terms of action and drama this season may well be the best. The previous season was a little dissapointing due to a lack of decent storylines for both Palmer and Kim but this more than makes up for it. The writers have went all out to add layer upon layer of explosive incidents and indeed they must be applauded for still producing such brilliant twists after four seasons. True, it may seem a little far fetched to have all these terrorists activities occuring in 24 hours but put your cynical nature aside and enjoy 24 gripping hours of TV drama. Roll on season 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four in - and still the best, 13 May 2005
This review is from: 24: Season Four DVD Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Comparisons with other programmes and other series seem pointless somehow....
Jacks backs again ,the plots as daft as ever - but its still the most fun thing on the TV by absolute miles. Who cares that people can take part in gunfights less than an hour after being pronounced dead (series 2), mastermind the saving of Los Angeles from a killer virus after undergoing major surgery for gun shot wounds in the neck (series 3) or totally lose and regain their memory within the space of three hours (series 1).
The slight change to this series is the lack of "parallel plots" (e.g. Jack/ David/ Kim happening at the same time as in the other series) - but the sheer pace of whats happening means its not really noticable.
Roll on Series 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive 24, 12 Jun 2007
This review is from: 24: Season Four DVD Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I thought the script was excellent. There were lots of twist and turns within the plots; It kept me on the edge of my seat. It was good to see David Palmer back in the office again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non-stop entertainment - best 24 series so far, 19 Aug 2005
By 
Y. Karl (Scandinavia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24: Season Four DVD Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Just one somewhat slow segment in this fourth series - a huge improvement over previous series. The show is not realistic, nor deep, but excellent action entertainment. After series 2 and 3 I was almost ready to give up on 24, but this series makes me look forward to season 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost too political, but brillant nonetheless, 8 Sep 2005
By 
Chris Chalk "Chris" (Croydon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24: Season Four DVD Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I am a huge fan of the 24 franchise and have watched every series religiously from the beginning. Due to the mis-timing of Sky installation didn't see the 4th series whilst it was on TV, and instead watched it on DVD, and I can't say I was disappointed.
Anyone familiar with the 24 franchise will know what a blistering pace it goes at, usually the main story will be interspersed with 2 or 3 sub stories, and there will be no small amount of twists throughout. In this respect, the 4th series really doesn't fail to deliver, if anything it really ups the ante. The action hits harder and earlier than it ever has done before and Jack is in the middle of all of it.
The series starts off with Jack moved to a more sedate world, providing personal protection to Secretary of Defence Heller. This is all well and good until the events occur in California that draw Jack back to CTU. What is clear is that Jack is incredible comfortable in this role, what isn't clear is whether his seeming reluctance return to CTU is really a front as he feels this is where he belongs all along.
The ease with which Jack slips back into CTU is of concern to two people, firstly Jack's new love interest, Audrey Raines. Daughter of the Secretary of State and also a Department of Defence employee she is keen to keep her relationship quite, not least until the ink is dry on her divorce to Paul Raines. The second uncomfortable party is Erin Driscoll, the new head of CTU and the women responsible for removing Jack from active service after his brush with heroin in the previous series. She is excellently portrayed through out this series, if a little heavy handily so. Her duel persona is spoon-fed to the watcher, making her as abhorrent as possible so when redemption appears it has all the more impact, but even so this is a really welcome addition to the show as it gives extra depth to the characters, and an unusual, if brief, look at their personal lives.
A lot of the major characters from the previous series are present, and it does take a genius to look at the covers of the discs in the box set to see that characters from the past are going to reappear! This is generally welcome though, and again looks to explore a more human side of them.
The series revolves around a seemingly unrelated range of incidents that are brutal in their nature, but not in themselves a threat to the nation's security. As the hours count down though, it becomes clear that the incidents are exactly that and CTU again prepares to work miracles to prevent outrage. It is not clear at the beginning what the aims of the particular terrorists are at first or in fact who they are. We meet the Ariz family who have been operating as a sleeper cell in the US for 5 years - a terrifying proposition to consider.
What this series does incredible well, better than any of the other series, is to create a series of sub-plots that really keep the watcher enthralled, but that all clearly relate to the end goal. Some of the early series did have the sub-plots but they could seem a little superfluous to the final aim of the story. The was story almost knocked down a star for me for the over the top political snipping that seemed to infect the film at about the three quarters mark. The direction of this political snipping was at Left Wing politicians, Amnesty International, and anyone who wasn't pro-torture when the chips are down. This is something that really grates on me but luckily only existed for a couple of episodes.
This is definitely my favourite 24 and will keep you clued to the TV for many an hour, when you are done there are some interesting extras to watch, but to be honest you'll be wracking your brains to see where the series goes from here to really care about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "24" returns to the right track, 5 Oct 2005
This review is from: 24: Season Four DVD Collection [DVD] (DVD)
It's almost undeniable that Season 3 of "24" was harder to watch compared to the first two seasons. The events, graphic violence and cruelty of some of the characters were unprecedented. It was hard to find relief as horrendous actions were taken over and over again.
In season 4 the producers have decided to retreat from this extremely dark path. They have kept the creative surprises, action and suspense but have also paid more attention to pleasing the crowds. Contrary to season 3, in season 4 positive things actually happen; there is a balance between good and evil and there's hope.
The events on screen do not fall from other events in prior seasons and some actually transcend the high points of the past. As usual, one cannot be any more specific in fear from spoiling the experience, but rest assured that watching the first episode will definitely blow your mind in one of the best kick-start episodes ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars May be some spoilers for series 1-3, 11 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: 24: Season Four DVD Collection [DVD] (DVD)
After a 3 day blitz i have finished watching 24 series 4 and can happily say its a return to form for the show after the awful series 3. Get the DVD, and don't bother with Sky, the ad breaks ruin the real time concept. Also, DO NOT watch the opening credits, look at the disc surfaces, the back of the box, or the pictures in the dvd episode menus, as these all give away returning characters, OK? I was glad to see that the show only started with Jack an Chloe from the old brigade, as season 3 was stretching the idea of the same people saving the world a third time. The new characters are believable and mostly likeabe. Its even funny watching Chloe and fellow tech analyst Edgar going head to head with equally blunt personality disorders. Some old characters do come back, but in a more believable way than S3, when Nina and Sherry were roped in for no real reason.
The acting is generally good, as Kiefer has really honed his character of Jack to perfection, and has good dramatic material to work with as he is torn between his new girlfriend and his job. The story starts with Jack working as an assistant to the secretary of defense, whose daughter he is in love with. When they both get kidknapped by (surprise, suprise) evil arab terrorists, Jack forces his way back into CTU to rescue them, and discovers that their abduction was just the start of the dangers on the horizon. What is different about this series is that there are several climaxes, compared to 2 in series 1 (presidential assasination attempt, capturing the Drazens) 2 in series 2 (stopping the nuke, averting war) and 2 in series 3 (stopping the drug barons, finding the virus). The different threats are plausible and keep the viewer hooked. Unfortunately once again, the show is going after foreigners. Not since Gaines has the USA been threatened by an American terrorist cell. We've had Slavs, Arabs, Europeans, Mexicans, the British, and now arabs again as the enemy, as well as the Chinese. The show's attitude to islamic fascism is much more crude than in series 2, and the only arabs shown in a good light are those who have been completely americansised. Not to sound like Mr.Moore, but the rightwing nature of Fox TV has been transferred to the script, where the only anti-war pacifist figure is a cowardly homosexual.
The tone of this series is different from the first three, as everything feels bigger and more Hollywood. Sadly, Sean Callery's normally edgy and atmospheric music has become a little too grandiose and overblown for the show. The action is worth a mention. If you thought the season 2 finale was impressive, the body count in this season is obscene, with Jack literally taking down well over 60 people by the end of the day. Even Chloe machine guns a terrorist at one point.
This series is a depature from the previous seasons in terms of style and scale, and whether you think this is a good thing is a personal choice. I still think the first two seasons where the best. What is significant is that this season shows that the 24 team can still make an innovative sequel that is plausible, and worth watching. Every 24 fan should get this series, but don't expect much from the special features, which are a bit to tech-heavy for my liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better & Better, 16 Jan 2006
By 
Coincidence Vs Fate (Middle England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 24: Season Four DVD Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Mmm...if reviews on here are to be believed then Season 4 is either a) brilliant or b) awful. For me, it’s the former.
I cannot see why people on here are having such a go at plots that are “unbelievable” and “far fetched”. What’s wrong with that? Would you want a season of 24 where Jack sits around the office and chats to a few people, goes to have lunch, drives home, watches a little tele and goes to bed? That would be “believable”, that would be “real”, but would I want to watch it? No!
24 is an exciting, suspenseful, action-packed slice of escapism and I, for one, wouldn’t want it any different. Yeah, so this Season is a lot more patriotic than previous ones, but hey, it’s American, what do you expect.
As far as I’m concerned 24 gets better with each season, yes, I even thought Season 3 was great.
Pssst…don’t tell everyone, but this is being re-released as a budget priced set for under £18 soon. There’s no excuse not to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still going strong, 1 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: 24: Season Four DVD Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I always dread each new season of 24 fearing that such a series just cannot continue to be so good. I need not have worried, as season 4 had me gripped right from the start.
There are some character absences the most notable being that of Kim Bauer, Jack's daughter. However there are new characters to fill the void, and without giving anything away - some welcome reappearances in later episodes.
The plot packs a great deal of action from the start, without the long drawn out build up of the previous series, with the usual formula of drama, deception and CTU.
Although I did feel my interest in the overall theme beginning to wane about three quarters of the way through, this was more than compensated for by the alternative focus on the private struggles of the characters.
24 is every bit as good as it always was, and I am eagerly awaiting season 5. Please buy this boxset (it is currently at a steal of a price on Amazon!!!) you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa627c60c)

This product

24: Season Four DVD Collection [DVD]
24: Season Four DVD Collection [DVD] by Kevin Hooks (DVD - 2005)
6.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews