Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hidden Gem
At launch the Nintendo DS has many games ready to play. amongst all the big names and anticipated titles such as Mario 64DS, Wario Ware, the much hyped Project Rub etc, the exists a single game cheaper than all the rest with apparently no stand out features. the graphics aren't the best, in fact if you put it next to the mario 64 graphics you'd think polarium belongs to...
Published on 12 Mar 2005 by gbatommy

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Hard !!
Following reviews of this game , and following my previous addiction to puzzle games on handheld consoles , I thought I would enjoy Polarium immensely . Unfortunately the learning curve was either too steep for me , or my brain was not able to 'get' the concept . As such , I had to trade it having not got very far with the game .
Technically , though , the...
Published on 5 Feb 2006 by DocBhoy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hidden Gem, 12 Mar 2005
This review is from: Polarium (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
At launch the Nintendo DS has many games ready to play. amongst all the big names and anticipated titles such as Mario 64DS, Wario Ware, the much hyped Project Rub etc, the exists a single game cheaper than all the rest with apparently no stand out features. the graphics aren't the best, in fact if you put it next to the mario 64 graphics you'd think polarium belongs to the old Ninentdo Entertainment System, but this game is one which you really should not miss.
This is a puzzle game which require you to flip tiles to create complete lines of a single colour. the twist is that using your Nintendo DS stylus (or your finger whichever you prefer) you can draw lines in many different ways to target those rogue tiles which are stopping you creating whole lines.
But why do this? why not just target these tiles one at a time and complete the game. the problem is that it takes a little bit of time to flip the tiles and the screen is constantly filling up with more tiles for you to tackle and if you don't hurry then your screen will fill up and you lose (tetris style) the only way to conquer this is to draw lines that cover all the rogue tiles in one go and flip them all at once thereby saving time and giving you chance to build up massive scores and keep the game going. the tiles that fall increase in speed and if you don't clear fast enough, you lose. This is also something that you can't play properly on any other platform. the game itself could easily to duplicated onto other platforms but using a d-pad or mouse really would make this game more than difficult, even infuriating, but it is a perfect DS game and easily the hidden gem of the DS Launch games. this is the tetris of the 21st century. if pictochat and metroid wasn't packed witht eh DS already then this should have been. this game must not be overlooked. if you own a DS make sure you own this too. i'm not saying that there are no other brilliant games out there, but this game cannot be played on any other platform in this perfect incarnation. Don't miss it. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great puzzle game., 17 Mar 2005
By 
Blondesim (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Polarium (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This game is probably going to go largely unnoticed, but being a launch title may get it a little more attention than it would otherwise recieve.
It's very simple to play, there are 2 main modes, first puzzle-
In puzzle mode you have a screen of black and white tiles and you have to move the styus over them to flip them to the opposite colour, you have to make it so that the tiles are in horizontal rows of matching colour with just one continuous line. Doing this gets you onto the next level, there are 100 of these levels in the game and the ability to create your own. Also, you can trade created levels by telling another DS owner the individual password to play your creation. This will help the lifespan as you can check on internet message boards etc, to try other people's levels.
The other mode is a little like Tetris. There are tiles constantly falling down from the top screen and you have to draw lines to flip over the tiles again, but this time you can do as many as you like, but the longer lines score better. Horizontal lines of the same colour disappear and you continue until the the top screen is filled.
It's all very addictive, and also there is wireless multiplay with both single and multi card play, but I haven't tried that out yet because no one around me has a DS yet. You can also send a friend a demo version of Polarium to play on their DS until they turn the power off.
If you enjoy puzzle games, then you won't be dissapointed in this game. It is addictive and a fresh game which makes great use of the double and touch screen and wireless functions of DS.
Dont go for it if you want cutting edge graphics though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Polarium, 27 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Polarium (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
If MENSA made a computer game this would be it. The aim is to use the stylus to draw a single unbroken line around a grid consisting of black/white squares with the aim of converting horizontal lines into the same colour. Every square your line covers will flip its colour, meaning that your chosen route often has to be a annoyingly intricate path meaning later levels require some seriously deep thought. Polarium is n't a game that you can tear though in a day or two, but there is the challenge mode for a bit of relatively light relief as well as the fantastic Wi-Fi versus mode. Be warned though, as with alot of puzzle games of this type the graphics are n't anything special and the music is truly shocking, but turn down the volume and you've got a fantastic game that will have you thinking even when it's switched off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, but it will destroy your mind!, 3 Feb 2006
By 
J. N. Valner "schaedenfreud82mk2" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Polarium (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Polarium is a really great game, matched perfectly to the touch-controlled DS. The idea is to clear rows of bolcks by aligning all the blocks in a row to the same colour (black or white). This is done by drawing a line across the blocks you want to change.
Whilst there is a tetris style unending mode, the main gameplay comes from the static puzzles, where you have to draw a single line to clear all the rows. These can be great fun, but playing for too long will result in you seeing the black and white patterns when you close your eyes! The music doesn't help, and anyone without a wish for a severe headache will turn it off after a few games.
Whilst this game is fun whilst there are still puzzles to do, the unending mode doesn't have the appeal to keep you coming back after they're all gone. My advice would be that if you want good, long lasting puzzle action on the DS, go with Meteos. Despite this, Polarium is still good on its own merit, and worth having even if you can't bear to play it too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomonal Polarium, 3 July 2005
By 
Mr. Mark N. De Garis "nitronicman" (Guernsey, Channel Islands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Polarium (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This has to be one those games like denki blocks or where you will get stuck, but is just soo adictive that you just keep trying and trying, but unlike tetris, it is more of a relaxing thoughtful game, whilst tetris is a frantic race. Recommend it to anyone who likes a challenge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, will keep you hooked!!!, 9 Dec 2005
This review is from: Polarium (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I've had this game now for some 6 months now, and could put a strong case together arguing that this is the most addictive game ever made. I found myself waking up in the morning thinking of black and white blocks in different orders, it started to obsess my brain!!!!
The object of the game is to clear the board, to do this you must turn all the blocks into the same colour on a horizontal row. The blocks are either black or white, and when flipped change colour (like othello). Various patterns appear and the object is to match horizonal rows, turning them into either a row of black or white, this will clear the row. However you must clear the entire board with one action (in puzzle mode that is). The boards are all square with various sizes, ie 3x3 squares, 4x4 squares etc etc. The entire board is full of blocks apart from the outer rim. You must move the stylus over the sqaures in a pattern, once you click, all of the square you went over will flip, however if you missed something out and not all of the horizontal rows are of one colour, you fail. In simple terms you drag a line over the blocks moving from square to square to create you path, however you cannot go over the same square twice and cannot go back on yourself.
Puzzle game, bores many........people often find them thrilless, too difficult, boring etc etc. Although polarium bases itself around the same principal as many other puzzle games, ie easy to get hooked, and increasing difficult levels, polarium differs slightly because it offers different gameplay (puzzle or challenge), but by using the stylus allows for easy touch screen use and relaxed consentration (if there is such a thing).
Puzzle mode - This is what kept me hooked for some time, although i cleared the 60 levels on the game in a week, it allows people to create their own levels for limitless gameplay!!!
Challenge mode - In challenge mode you have to react quickly to falling blocks, clear the lines as quickly as possible before they reach the top of the screen.
This really is an addictive game, which seems at home on a Nintendo console! Easier to play, difficult to master!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Hard !!, 5 Feb 2006
By 
DocBhoy (Invercargill , New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Polarium (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Following reviews of this game , and following my previous addiction to puzzle games on handheld consoles , I thought I would enjoy Polarium immensely . Unfortunately the learning curve was either too steep for me , or my brain was not able to 'get' the concept . As such , I had to trade it having not got very far with the game .
Technically , though , the game is a delight , with excellent utilisation of the touchscreen pad and stylus ; which makes my frustration with the game all the more disappointing .
If there was a recommendation I could give people , it would be try before you buy - it seems this game may not be everyone's cup of tea .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Challenge, 2 Jan 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Polarium (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I love this game, its basic yet challenging.

The aim of the game is to clear a series of puzzels mad eup of white and black squares. The blcoks change colour from one to the other when you draw a line over them with the touch screen. to clear the lines you have to get an entire horizontal line of one colour, other puzzels require you to draw a line over the blocks in a certain hidden parren and clear them all at once.

With loads of puzzels and the ability to create your own this game as endless possiblities for the number of lay out you can have.

The game does get very hard, and sometimes this can make anyone feel a bit cheated or even stupid for geting stuck on something that is so simple in concept. But to persiver and solve all the puzzels on your own is very satifying and is well worth the price.

The agme give you the replay value it needs with a challenge mode, which works similarly to tetris, puzzels fall one on top of the other and you have to clear them quickly before they mount up to much and you loose the game. This really becomes the main game after you complete the main puzzels and its waht brings you back for more.

If you enjoy puzzels games, or want something totally different that only the Nintendo DS' touch screen ca provide, Polarium is a great game for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2 years on & this is still the best puzzler on the DS, 17 April 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "i did" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Polarium (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
The DS is well served for puzzle games. Critics usually mention Meteos and Tetris as the best, but for my money Polarium is where it's at. The 100+ short puzzles are taxing, but the main puzzle mode is one of the most addictive games I've played, up there with the original Gameboy Tetris all those years ago. Like all the best puzzle games it takes seconds to learn to play and hours of practice to get a respectable score. Like the original Gameboy Tetris the graphics are nothing to get excited about, they are presented in black and white and could have been done 20 years ago on most systems of the time. But a good puzzle game is all about addictive game play and Polarium has that in spades. Best of all, it was originally sold for the bargain rrp of £20 and as it's seriously under rated you can pick it up very cheaply.

The only thing preventing it from getting 5 stars is the lack of multi player. You can download puzzles to a friends DS via local wireless connection but there's no vs mode, a real shame.

But.... I'm still hooked on Polarium, even without multi player. For me this game is not only a must have, it's a reason to own a DS. Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Polarium Addict, 3 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Polarium (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
It used to be that I was totally addicted to Tetris, until my step-daughter had me play Polarium on her DS, and I was instantly hooked. I had to fight with her to let me play her game.... Guess its time to trade in my Advance for a DS, lol....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Polarium (Nintendo DS)
Polarium (Nintendo DS) by Nintendo (Nintendo DS)
Used & New from: £0.10
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews