Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slice of 60's culture
I love this version of Swan Lake. Nureyev with his over the top stage makeup, blue eye shadow, fushia lipstick looking as beautiful as Marilyn Monroe, and Fonteyn now aged 47, her haunted black eyes and bony face expressing every emotion. Every time they danced together it was beautiful and magical, they created the "otherworld". I don't think you can compare this...
Published on 21 Feb 2010 by Aislinn

versus
77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nureyev's Prince Siegfried
I first saw this film of Tchaikovsky's ballet when I was a kid. Back then, I had found it enchanting. Watching it again, when it was first issued on dvd, I felt quite disappointed. Re-viewing it now, -a little more objectively, I think,- I find enough reasons to recommend it, though I would not suggest that this should be anybody's first or one-and-only Swan Lake...
Published on 8 Mar 2007 by Georgios Xenias


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best in this ballet genre, 2 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Lake: Wiener Symphoniker (Nureyev) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Nureyev's coreopgraphy of this Tsaikovsky's ballet Swan Lake and the support of Wiener Philharmoniker are perhaps thye best performances in the world. Y.-P. H.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars always a delight to see these two classic dancers but, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Lake: Wiener Symphoniker (Nureyev) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
- what a shame they did not live and dance in the age of High Definition! The quality is as good as one can expect, i.e. not very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent - but then it was conducted by john lanchbery, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Lake: Wiener Symphoniker (Nureyev) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
excellent - but then it was conducted by john lanchbery !!! who taught me music when I was at school -many years ago!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Lake: Wiener Symphoniker (Nureyev) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Mum's other favourite ballet - and with good people. And on a disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars why i dislike it so, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Lake: Wiener Symphoniker (Nureyev) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
too many close ups and the ballet was not the traditional one. I would not recommend it to anyone. the costumes were awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pressie for me mum who thought it was ace, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Lake: Wiener Symphoniker (Nureyev) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
nice pressie for me mum. she thought it was amazing that I managed to get a hold of a copy of this dvd!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Lake: Wiener Symphoniker (Nureyev) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
En god historie. God musik og meget flot udført ballet.
En indspilning man gerne vender tilbage til både for musikken og dansen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars comparison, 15 Nov 2007
By 
Embury "petermoore3032" (gatley cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Swan Lake: Wiener Symphoniker (Nureyev) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
NO VERSION CAN COMPARE WITH KIROV. MY FAVOURITE IS MAKHALINA AND ZAKLINSKY. BOLSHOI A CLOSE SECOND THE ROYAL BALLET VERSION IS NOT ONE OF MY PREFERRED VERSIONS.EVEN THE 1966 KIROV VERSION IS BETTER THAN NURYEVS VERSION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was expecting more, 23 Oct 2010
By 
Mrs A. Taws "Anne Taws"budding artist"" (North Shields Tyne and Wear) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Lake: Wiener Symphoniker (Nureyev) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
When I bought this DVD I expected it to include the dance of the dying swan...as it was Swan Lake....but unfortunately it didn.t.That was mainly why I bought it.Very disappointed about that omission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Swan Lake: Wiener Symphoniker (Nureyev) [DVD] [2005]
£13.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews