Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Late Great Townes Van Zandt
Townes Van Zandt has a lot of CDs available and not all of them are good. Be careful what you buy. Check out the reviews and track listings on Amazon first. In my opinion there are too many later CDs which are just repacked old songs with little or no new material. I love his music but I am not prepared to pay full album price for one or two songs. Therefore I was unsure...
Published on 19 Sep 2008 by Leven1

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Legendary singer/songwriter.
There are undoubtedly some very good tracks on this CD, but some are pretty average too. When all CD's are played in sequence one song blends into another, leaving the impression that there is not too much variation in his repertoire. But the set is definitely a bargain.
Published 3 months ago by Gripper


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Late Great Townes Van Zandt, 19 Sep 2008
By 
Leven1 (West Lothian) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Texas Troubadour (Audio CD)
Townes Van Zandt has a lot of CDs available and not all of them are good. Be careful what you buy. Check out the reviews and track listings on Amazon first. In my opinion there are too many later CDs which are just repacked old songs with little or no new material. I love his music but I am not prepared to pay full album price for one or two songs. Therefore I was unsure where to start with his back catalogue then I found this boxset.

The box set is amazing value. You get Townes first 7 albums (and arguabley his best) plus a live CD for 14. All of these CDs contain Townes songwriting at its most prolific and his best. The first CD contains his first two albums and is possibly the weakest (but by no means weak) of the set. This is because of his first album which was overproduced and they added in some questionable backing arrangements to Townes' songs. This is particularly noticable on the classics like Waitin Round to Die and Tecumseh Valley. This does not ruin the songs but it is not the way the songs were meant to sound (compare the 1st version of Tecumseh Valley from his first album on CD1 to the second version also on CD1 but from his second album) and by all accounts Townes himself was not overly impressed with the sound of his first album.

For those unaware of Townes, his songs vary between country, folk and blues. My personal favorites are when Townes' songs are at their most dark, vulnerable, fragile and beautiful. However, he also does some good upbeat numbers, talking blues and humourous songs. Townes was a poet and as such expect to find most songs filled with beautiful and intelligent lyrics. He was not the greatest singer in the world but his voice fits perfectly to his own songs and I have not heard any better versions of his songs than his own.

Townes did re-record many of his best known songs on several of the albums here so there is some repitition but the songs are so strong that you cannot get fed up hearing them and there are also many hidden gems that I fail to understand how they are not better known (such as "Like a Summer Thursday" and "Snow Don't Fall").

I am reviewing this box set and not Mr Van Zandt as a whole but in my opinion the albums in this boxset are his best and are pure classics that you will come back to time and again and never tire of listening to. Townes was a very flawed character and as such his talent suffered. He was never as prolific again in his career but there are some decent later albums that contain mostly new material and I am now seeking them out.

Townes Van Zandt seems to instill a strong sense of loyalty and awe amongst those who appreciate his music. Will everyone like this? No of course not but his talent cannot be denied (I don't doubt Madonna's talent but her music just isn't my thing) and if you like (mostly acoustic) folk, country and blues then you should love Townes. Once you have discovered him you will want everyone else to hear and like his music as much as you do. I haven't and probably can't (in words) say just how much I love these songs. This is by far the best CD (for value and content) that I have ever bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-issue fo the Year!, 2 April 2010
By 
O. MICHAEL (UK-Peru-Japan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Texas Troubadour (Audio CD)
This promises to be the re-release of the year. This was originally released by Charley back in 2001. This looks as though it will be the second release, repackaged version, with 4 separate discs in standard jewel cases. The original release was in a folder/book form of box set and according to the Amazon site it had extra tracks over the 4 jewel case release. Either way as value for money goes this cannot be beaten, nearly 90 tracks covering his creative peak - all his output on the Tomato and Poppy labels. In total you are getting 8 albums for just over a pound a piece - which is unbelievable value. And to top it off these are some of the greatest country songs and albums ever recorded. There is starkness to the songs and honesty that you will not find in 99.9% of what comes out of Nasville these days. He is a song writer on par with Hank Williams and there are very few artists who deserve to be spoken of in the same sentence as him. If you are a newcomer to Townes this is a perfect introduction at a perfect price, if you are a fan, its a chance to replace that worn vinyl and chance to revel in his mastery again.

Original ReleaseTexas Troubadour
2nd Release Texas Troubadour

This has been a collectors item for a few years now and its nice to see it back in print, and good that people dont have to pay over the odds for the collection - recommended totally!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What are you waiting for? Buy it!, 9 Mar 2008
This review is from: Texas Troubadour (Audio CD)
This features all of Townes's early albums in one set. There's too many tracks here to mention, but each one is a gem! The CD box is also a full-colour booklet with containing biog, pic and music information.
Priced at around 15 it will be them best fifteen quid you've ever spent!

Features the original Poncho and Lefty.

If your a Townes fan you should also check out DVDs "Be here to love me" and "Heartworn Highways" documentaries featuring Townes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of America's finest songwriters!Great box,worth every penny!Buy it!, 1 Nov 2012
By 
Ivan rubini? (Island Hvar,Croatia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Texas Troubadour (Audio CD)
Glazba Van Zandta je puna tugaljivih melodija,usamljena kao i sam njegov zivot koji je proveo vecinom na rubu margine!U ovoj kolekciji osim samostalnih izvedbi uz gitaru,prati ga i bend a ponesto uz usnu i pozadinsku orkestraciju podcrtavajuci aranzman!U boxu iz 2005te(Charly)se nalazi 7albuma+4bonusa i 8 uzivo snimljenih skladbi iz 73'gne.Ukupno 88 pjesama.Ovo je najdetaljniji zbir albuma od 68-78me na jednom mjestu do sada te je vrlo preporucljiv.Nazalost Van Zandt je umro na novu godinu 97mu i time je svjet izgubio jednog od najfinijih trubadura!R.I.P.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars anthology of a songwriting genius, 28 Nov 2009
This review is from: Texas Troubadour (Audio CD)
Townes van Zandt lived the life of a poet, on him guitar, a bottle of whiskey and other intoxicating substances which killed him way before time. This flawed troubadour's concerts have become legendary and those who had the chance to listen to him live have claimed that recorded work does not do full justice to his genius. Well, I'll make do with his studio recorded work any day of the year (I actually do!)

With the Texas Troubadour anthology of original albums from 1968 to 1978 (plus the odd collection of songs from his masterful Live at the Old Quarter well worth buying in its entirety) he leaves us here an 8 album collection of perfectly crafted, intimate songs, spiritual, funny/witty, sentimental sometimes, always smart and poetic. you won't find country mannerisms or compromises to fashion in TVZ: his simple, to the bone approach to songwriting and performing is out of time and reaches a pinnacle of pop/folk alongside true masters of the craft like Dylan or Springsteen at their best.

Songs like Waiting around to Die, Tecumseh, the Highway Kind, Mr Mudd and Mr Gold Pancho and Lefty, to name a few, belong in the cannon of pure modern folk/pop masterpieces, and there isn't one album out of the original seven that would not take pride of place in my CD collection. Thank you, Mr van Zandt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songwriting at it's finest, 5 Sep 2008
This review is from: Texas Troubadour (Audio CD)
An absolute MUST for anybody interested in furthering their love/knowledge of Americana music. If ever you've heard the name Townes Van Zandt mentioned and are feeling a hint curious about this songwriting marvel then go out and buy this. I bought it on a whim and have never looked back. And to quote Steve Earle "Townes Van Zandt is the best songwriter in the whole world and I'll stand on Bob Dylan's coffee table in my cowboy boots and say that."
The extensive liner notes booklet is a nice bonus too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Texas Troubadour (Audio CD)
This box set is an absolute must for any fan of songwriting and country / blues. This set includes 7 of Townes Van Zandts first studio albums and a selection of tracks recorded at the Old Quarter. All I can say is that this is possibly the finest music ever produced, an absolute gem of a find! Buy it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a great range of songs, 3 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. Aa James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Texas Troubadour (Audio CD)
this is great value you have 7 studio albums plus some live material showing the full range
of townes talents ranging from blues ballads country and folk . He is difficult to classify
which is good he writes songs from the soul .the first 2 albums are ok but he seems to get
better on each following session . if you like a mix of lightining hopkins hank williams then
this comes through on certain tracks summing up he is well worth investigating if
you havent heard of him before
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars townes value box, 9 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Texas Troubadour (Audio CD)
value of this is the good packaging and great music contained within, Townes does not have a great following but anyone who fancies an impulse purchase buying blind can purchase with confidence , great value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Troubadour or not Troubadour, 27 Nov 2003
By 
Rochdale Cowboy (Fordingbridge, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Texas Troubadour (Audio CD)
Most people outside of Texas and certainly the USA come to
Townes via a whole host of international recording artists
who know a good tune and a good lyric when they hear one.
His reportoir has been plundered by the good and the great
for the last 30 years , it is no suprise then that as you
listen to the box sets comprehensive selection you are quickly
on familiar ground .Townes Van Zandt was no angel and his
voice echoes more of experiences than of harmony but thats
when you get it ! The Troubadour is the man the moment and
the music . 4 cds bringing together 8 albums worth of tunes
may not be a place to start with most artists , but if you
do not own these already , in , this case you can , its just
like going in your favourite bar and finally noticing the
detail. If you owned the albums , you just never left the
bar in the first place and what the heck , lets have another
for the road ! The down side of a "bucket full" of Townes is
you may just drive your friends nuts , humming .... they then
will be , where you started out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac7b75e8)

This product

Texas Troubadour
Texas Troubadour by Townes Van Zandt (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews