Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great toddler entertainment, 27 Jun 2005
By 
Beansmummy (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends: Classic Collection - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Like the first DVD, this has been a huge hit in our household. My nearly-2-year-old adores it, and gets totally absorbed. We have 'Oh no!' with every crash (of which there are plenty!), and lots of additional sound effects ('toot toot!' etc).
There are many great things about this DVD. The episodes are about 5 minutes long; enough to hold a toddler's attention withut boredom setting in. The narration (Ringo Starr) is clear, and beautifully done. The animation is lovely.
What we don't like: The slightly awkward menu; you can choose one episode, or play all of them from the beginning. There is no option to start halfway through and play all episodes from there. the result is that the first 10 or so get watched a lot, and the rest get ignored.
Overall, its brilliant. No little Thomas fan should be without it (and no irritating American accents, either!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic collection, 27 May 2005
By 
Beansmummy (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends: Classic Collection - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The first Thomas DVD from the original series was a great hit with my son (nearly 2), and this second series is just as popular. Narrated by Ringo Starr, you don't have to put up with the irritating Americanisms of the later DVDs. The models are great and it makes superb viewing for any little fan.
There are 26 episodes, each around 5 minutes long, so this is very good value, and doesn't tax a toddler's concentration span too much either! The menu allows you to play straight through or choose an episode.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the first series, 29 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Thomas & Friends: Classic Collection - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
First shown in 1986, Thomas the Tank Engine & Friends bounced back with a second series after its equal success in 1984 when the show first started on television. Ringo Starr returns to the role of storyteller for the next twenty-six episodes filled with more disputes, acccidents and mishaps galore on this DVD.
There are more new characters in each story like Donald & Douglas the Scottish twins, Bill & Ben the twins who work at the China Clay works, Harold the Helicopter, Trevor the Traction Engine, Boco the Diesel, Duck the Great Western Engine, etc.
My favourite episodes on the disc are Break Van where Douglas is disliked by a nasty break van and Donald teaches him to show his twin a bit more respect, Thomas Comes to Breakfast where Thomas ends up popping through the Stationmaster's house one morning when his family are having breakfast, Percy's Predicament in which Percy has an accident thanks to some trucks who like to cause trouble and A Close Shave in which Duck crashes through yet another building, mainly a barber's and has his face smothered with shaving foam.
Well I mustn't give away any more details about the episodes because you won't want to watch them after reading this, enjoy the series and reminiscing about your childhood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Ever Adventures, 21 April 2010
This review is from: Thomas & Friends: Classic Collection - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
After more than 20 years, I still regard series 2 of Thomas to be the absolute pinnacle of its achievements. Everything was right. The island seemed huge. There were the right amount of engines, and we got to know them, not like modern series where an engine comes for one episode (ie Molly or Mighty Mac) and then vanishes, glimpsed in the background now and again.
From Duck to Boco, Donald & Douglas to Bill & Ben, all the new arrivals are breaths of fresh air and complement the series one gang.
Really great stories, from "Old Iron" to "Thomas Comes to Breakfast", from the delightful "A Close Shave" and the thoughtful "Better Late Than Never" to the surprisingly mature "Edward's Exploit."
My only slight niggle is the episodes have been re-edited into 26 standardised episodes with updated titles, rather than presented as the original 13 two part episodes. Therefore, the engine roll call in the middle is missing, which is a shame. It's not even on as an extra.
But other than that, a sterling success!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is THE series of thomas the tank engine, 29 Oct 2008
This review is from: Thomas & Friends: Classic Collection - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
with the classic characters established in season one it was full steam ahead for the greatest children's show ever! it hard to know where to being to praise this show, this series has the perfect balance of action drama and hummer, some of the best action sequences ever are to be found here, the characters are more real and beauty full than ever, the great thing is all the engines have faults, vanity, laziness, pride or inexperience. This makes them easy to relate to. the sets for this series are amongst the best they ever made, the music is wonderful. Sadly this was the last series that the great Ringo star narrated which is a great shame because he was excellent. back when I was 7 I could retell these stories word for word and in Ringo's voice! Even today I when am 18 I still love this show
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class Act, 10 Sep 2009
This review is from: Thomas & Friends: Classic Collection - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Like the first series this one continued to air the Railway Series stories really well. The detail in the scenery had improved and there were also some new scenes too. Also new characters appeared to add to the entertainment. Some of the best scenes were the opening for The Ghost Train, Duck ploughing into the Barber's shop, Douglas crushing the brake van and many scenes from Edward's Exploit too. This was also the last series Ringo Starr narrated on. Even though it was another Liverpudlian that started to narrate the series from 3 onwards the TV series began to go downward in my opinion.
Series 1 and 2 are the best. The others begin to slide away from the fantastic works of both Reverand Awdry and Christopher Awdry's stories.
Shame how greed can begin to ruin a good show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thomas and his Friends - original, 22 Mar 2010
This review is from: Thomas & Friends: Classic Collection - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
We ordered this dvd to entertain our grand-daughter (a 3 1/2 year old Thomas frek!) when she briefly moved in with us. I wanted her to see the original Ringo Star version, rather than the more modern American ones. we were truly delighted with it. The only downside is that with 24/25 "stories" on the disc..... it can become a little "trying" for us adults. She loves it, and now that her parents have completed their move, they can enjoy it as well.

Happy days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends: Classic Collection - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
children love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thomas and Friends(The Complete Second Series) DVD, 3 Aug 2012
This review is from: Thomas & Friends: Classic Collection - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is another great series from thomas and friends. This great collection includes the 50th episode of thomas and friends (Percy's Predicament).

Episodes in this series include:
Thomas, percy and the Coal
Cows
Bertie's Chase
Saved from Scrap
Old Iron
Thomas and Trevor
Percy and the Signal
Duck Takes Charge
Percy and Harold
The Runaway
Percy Takes the Plunge
Pop Goes the Diesel
Dirty work
A Close Shave
Better Lat Than Never
Breakvan
The Deputation
Thomas Comes to Breakfast
Daisy
Percy's Predicament
The Diseal
Wrong Road
Edwards Exploit
Ghost Train
Woolly Bear
Thomas and the Missing Christmas Tree
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Aug 2014
This review is from: Thomas & Friends: Classic Collection - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I love it and so does my godson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thomas & Friends: Classic Collection - Series 2 [DVD]
£29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews