Customer Reviews


275 Reviews
5 star:
 (237)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart - rending and inspirational
I cannot believe I have waited so long to watch this film. Its a wonderful movie that had me in buckets of tears at the end. The three hours fly by. I won't repeat what other reviewers have said, I agree with many of the comments made about how great this film is. My favourite parts of the film were the colouring of the little jewish girl's red coat (the film is black...
Published on 19 Aug 2005 by J. Bolton

versus
95 of 105 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for the film but this boxed set is only worth 2
Important note - this review is of the boxed set contents for this limited edition release of Schindler's List and not for the film itself, which is an absolutely essential buy.
The boxed set really adds nothing to the standard release of Schindler's List on DVD, which is beautifully packaged and has some interesting extras. On top of this standard release you also...
Published on 20 April 2004 by Anthony Lynas


‹ Previous | 117 18 1928 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Spielberg at his best, 21 Nov 2009
By 
P. S. Farley (Darwen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schindler's List - Special Edition [DVD] (1993) (DVD)
Steven Spielberg has created another gem of cinematography in his 'Schindler's List'. His choice of monochrome has produced a movie that leaves a lasting impression on my mind. A scene that sends shivers up my spine and leaves my neck hairs standing on end, is when the German foot troops march
into the Krakow Jewish ghetto to clear the area of the condemned residents. This takes place at night time with the glint of moon-light reflected from the helmeted disciples of terror and the sound of their jack-booted feet emanating from the cobble-stone streets. What happens next is a chain of events that become an orchestrated cacophony of fear.
The whole film documents how the Jewish population of Krakow, Poland, are routed from their birthplace and relocated to a German prison camp that is governed by the sadistic Untersturmfuhrer Amon Goeth, who is portrayed by the excellent actor Ralph Fiennes. In my opinion Ralph gave a brilliant performance when he actually 'became' the Nazi in the story! The film has achieved seven Academy Awards which speaks volumes in itself.Schindler's List [DVD] [1993] In summing up, I can strongly recommend anyone to view this film and to follow it up with a visit to Krakow and Auschwitz as I did. The two compliment each other and bring home to one's mind and heart this incredible episode in our world's history. P.S.F.21/11/09.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Schindler's List., 30 Oct 2009
By 
S. A. Humphrey (Kent. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Schindler's List - Special Edition [DVD] (1993) (DVD)
Stunningly filmed and directed. A very moving story of one German businessman's efforts to help the Jew's during the war against all the odds. I can watch this again and again and still experience the power of this heartbreaking / heartwarming story. A classic timeless treasure to have in any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Amazing, 13 Aug 2009
This review is from: Schindler's List - Special Edition [DVD] (1993) (DVD)
I will never forget the ending of this film - which (without wanting to give too much away) very emotionally enforced what I already knew - just how close all these events were to us in terms of recent history.

The story itself was not the only star here - the film was a cinematically very beautiful Spielberg triumph and the acting was commendable.

But it will remain the ending to me that is the crowning glory - a stroke of genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An undeniable classic, 22 May 2009
By 
Mr. Matthew Sheen "MattSheen" (Chester, Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Schindler's List - Special Edition [DVD] (1993) (DVD)
Everyone should watch this film. The acting is first class, the characters are deep and colourful, the story is moving. There's nothing bad you can say about this film.

It's shot in black and white which only adds to the depth and if you can watch this without being moved you have a heart of stone. The subject matter is very heavy but don't let that put you off, it's part of everyone's history and out of respect for that history this film should be in your collection.

I can not implore you to buy this film more than i have because words can not fully express the effect it will have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and emotional epic, 9 Jan 2008
By 
This has to be one of the most thought provoking films I have ever watched. The story and the way it has been filmed totaly draw you into the film. A classic piece of modern cinema, portrayed on DVD. A real must for any war film enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Schindler the Saviour, 9 Jan 2006
By A Customer
Today the Holocaust, the unnecessary and truly evil slaughter of millions of Jews during WW2 is still a hugely emotional and sensitive subject. Yet despite the evil atrocities that were inflicted upon the poor Jews for no other reason than their religion, one man stood alone in doing his best to save them. Stand Up Oskar Schindler.
Oskar Schindler, an unrepentant womanizer and war profiteer was a German Nazi, yet after witnessing the horrific liquidation of the walled Ghetto where thousands of innocent Jews met a tragic end, he slowly begins to realise the immense evil of Nazism. Buying every Jew he could afford, together with the help of his Jewish accountant Itzak Stern, he compiles a list of 1,100 Jews to come and work in his munitions factory. However, far from mistreating them, Schindler feeds them, gives them medicine and allows them to celebrate their Sabbath. He goes all out to protect them from the evil of the Nazis even going as far as to blackmail anyone who came into his factory with the intent of killing them all. Also his munitions factory never produced one bullet that actually worked, this being his goal.
This is a truly heartwrenching story of the struggles and selflessness of one remarkable man, who alone saved the lives of 1,100 Jews, bankrupting himself in the process. The most moving scene in this epic and drawn out film is at the end when the surviving Jews or ancestors of the 'Schindler Jews' as they became known, make a pilgrimage to Schindlers grave and lay a stone as a mark of respect. The very last person to pay tribute to the saviour of the Jews, is Liam Neeson who superbly portrays Schindler in the film and who lays a simple red rose on his grave. A emotively stirring, but long winded black and white drama of the World War II Holocaust survivors and the man who unexpectedly came to be their saviour. Everyone who sees it should be crying buckets by the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 4 Jun 2004
Stephen Spielberg proved himself yet again to be on of the greatest directors of all time with this critically acclaimed oscar winning film. So much has already been said about this film and we all know of the horrors that the Jewish population of Europe went through. But what Spielberg manages to do without any pathos or smaltz is bring to us the human side of this mass genocide. We learn of Oscar Schindlers great act of human kindness on one hand and are then introduced to the brutality of Amon Goeth on the other. No one who watches this film will fail to be moved by the sheer horror of the Nazi regime. It is beautifully filmed and finely acted . It is truly one of the greatest films ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars overwhelming, 24 April 2004
Spielberg is not the first one to make a movie about the cruels which havebeen comitted in the Third Reich against a part of their own citizens, thejews. A homicide took place, and everybody is aware of this.
The scriptis based on facts, as many other similar movies about "KZ" are too. Asmost directors tried to teach us lessons, Spielberg went a differentway.
His expertise as director of successfull entertainment movies enabled himto use this armamentorium of experience and technical skills, to lead usinto the time of WW II. Whithout moralizing Spielberg catches the viewerwith this story.
It is the auditory, starting to think about and firstof all to develop deepest sympathy for the victims, the mistreatedjews.
In my opinion Schindlers List is not only Steven Spielbergs masterpiece,but as well one of the best movies ever:
As a reminder it makes young people who never experienced such times tothink, as well as it meets the feelings of those who actually lived in theThird Reich.
(It should bee seen on a big screen if possible and without crisps andbeer. It was not made to be seen on a couch)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it's greatest movie to view racial hatred, 30 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This is the greatest movie of all times and I think it helps people to think twice about what they want to do,and also the project that was started by Steven spielberg of the holocaust survivors,it is helped by the movie to make people understand the issue of holocaust.The movie also shows that genocide is one of the cruelest things in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Whoever Saves One Life Saves The World Entire', 23 Feb 2005
When I first heard about Schindler's List I was about 10 years old, I was brought about in discussion in the family with my dad and uncle and my dad expressed his views, he said it was to much to handle and reduced him to tears. Now being 10 I immeadiatly tracked down this film and found an old VHS copy of it on the shelf and watched it anticipating blood and guts for entertainment. What I actually got was a boring black and white film so I put it back oon the shelf and waited another 5 years until I watched it again on DVD. I was blown away with evry aspect of this freight-train of a film. First of all, Steven Spielberg, his direction in this film has only been seen rarely in films like Citizen Kane and La Regle Du Jeu. In one perticular scene when the Jews are taken into the showers the way Spielberg uses the camera to make the innocent victims look like rats or almost sub-human, a mark of genious. Liam Neeson gives an outstanding performance as Oskar Schindler which is matched by Ben Kingsley and Ralph Fiennes with the best villain performance ever delievered in a motion picture. This is the Greatest film ever made. I can talk along side my dad and uncle and also talk of how it reduced me to tears to.
So click on the Buy button and view a piece of cinematic history
*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 117 18 1928 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad2bbc6c)

This product

Schindler's List - Special Edition [DVD] (1993)
Schindler's List - Special Edition [DVD] (1993) by Steven Spielberg (DVD - 2005)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews