Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful album
La Maison De Mon RÍve is one of these records that you either love or hate. Nothing can really prepare for the dilettante approach adopted by CocoRosie here, and the decidedly amateurish finish of a record that has far more to offer than can be appreciated at first. If the term lo-fi needed to be defined, it would be by this album.
Although she trained as an opera...
Published on 12 July 2005 by B. Lasnier

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It Made My Eyes Fall Out
Vocals - reedy warbling of repetitive (mantra stylee) nonsense. Music - clanky, very repetitive and dull with some extra dimension provided via clanking noises of various kinds - think of Psapp or Grizzly Bear only really bad.
You'll never get back the time you spend listening to this... it's awful. Avoid.
Published on 26 July 2011 by C. Collett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful album, 12 July 2005
By 
B. Lasnier "themilkfactory" (London/UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: La Maison De Mon Reve (Audio CD)
La Maison De Mon RÍve is one of these records that you either love or hate. Nothing can really prepare for the dilettante approach adopted by CocoRosie here, and the decidedly amateurish finish of a record that has far more to offer than can be appreciated at first. If the term lo-fi needed to be defined, it would be by this album.
Although she trained as an opera singer in high school, and despite receiving praises from the world of classical music, Sierra Casady, who had began singing gospel and spirituals as a child, wanted more than just belting out pieces written by others. Composing new classical material while performing is not always seen very well in the sometimes precious world of classical music, and Sierra decided that what she was looking for was to be found somewhere else. Equally, Bianca spent years trying to find a way to express herself, finally ending up in Paris with just her sister's phone number in hand. After leading completely different lives for some time, Sierra and Bianca were reunited through music. It was only a matter of time before the pair started playing together.
Recorded during the spring and summer of last year in a tiny Parisian flat, this album is far more colourful and, in part, disturbing, than it's innocent title, which translates as 'the house in my dream', would lead to think. La Maison De Mon RÍve resounds to the sound of blues, gospel, early jazz and folk, yet everything here appears deceptively simple and childish. The density of CocoRosie's songs is the fruit of the chemistry that exists between the two sisters. The melodies have the kind of innocence and sweetness of little girls' playground songs, the guitar lines are almost too plain to be taken seriously, and the approximative beats and noises found scattered here and there only accentuate the amateurish feel of this record. Yet, it would be easy to dismiss this collection of poetic blues/folk for something totally unsubstantial. Between Vanessa Paradis and Billie Holliday, Nina Simone and Maria Callas, the sisters' voices whirlwind around each other, play hide and seek, tease, twist the mood and destabilising. CocoRosie's lyrics are as perverse as they appear innocent on the surface, with tortuous tales of love, faith, devotion or sex splattered all over By Your Side, Jesus Loves Me, Tahiti Rain Song or Lyla, and it rapidly becomes difficult to resist their little universe becoming yours, if only for a moment.
This album sometimes proves difficult to sustain, even over forty minutes. CocoRosie haven't made things easy for themselves here, crafting a strange and disconcerting record out of almost nothing. La Maison De Mon RÍve can only be appreciated under certain circumstances, preferably when the mind is relaxed and slightly out of focus. When the mood is right though, it becomes precious and reveals its hidden beauties. If just for these moments, this album is simply splendid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quirky appeal, 27 Nov. 2004
By 
S. Marshall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: La Maison De Mon Reve (Audio CD)
I played this album a couple of times just because I was fascinated at how odd it was. Soon after I found the songs kept popping into my head and I wanted to keep playing it. Now I'm hooked, though I still wouldn't say I always enjoy it. Sometimes it sounds like two sisters trying to record a pleasant song while their kid brother repeatedly attempts to ruin it by teasing pigs and messing about on the drum machine in the background.
If you like Laurie Anderson or Portishead then give this a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Tale of Two Sisters
A Tale of Two Sisters
, 17 Mar. 2005
By 
Juan Mobili (Valley Cottage, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: La Maison De Mon Reve (Audio CD)
Their voices tone and phrasing may remind you of Joanna Newson or Devendra Banhart, respectively. At times innocent as children yet weathered as the voices in old folk Appalachian songs.
This album is beautiful but not necessarily easy to love specially if the people mentioned above are not particular tastes of yours.
You might have heard the story already so I'll keep it short. Two sisters estranged as children, one street musician, the other one studying Opera in Paris, finally reunite. This album is the product of their growing friendship, just as unpredictable and perfect and unassumingly touching.
To mention songs -possible, each may be your pearl- would be to betray the continuous spell the album offers. Although the songs are not meant to compose a suite, this album is a collection of sorts. Perhaps, you may imagine a childhood scrapbook made of songs.
The experience is rewarding, likely to get you a little tender, under a spell. All good things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An odd collection of songs, 1 Jun. 2004
This review is from: La Maison De Mon Reve (Audio CD)
Recommended to me by Rough Trade staff so thought I'd give it a try. Peculiar mix of lo-fi 30's type vocals interspersed with peculiar sound effects (a re-sampled chicken crowing seemed to be a favourite) make this an intriguing album. Worth a buy if you like and buy a lot of odd albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exquisite, 28 Mar. 2015
By 
Dimitra Manthou "Glory" (Athens,Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Maison De Mon Reve [VINYL] (Vinyl)
a little treasure. sounds awesome on vinyl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully weird, 30 Sept. 2009
By 
Mabu "Mabu" (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Maison De Mon Reve (Audio CD)
This was the first ever really weird album I bought.
I now own three of theirs.
Fantastic. If you like any of CocoRosie's other stuff or if you want to diversify yor tastes into something with eclectic sounds, irregular rhythms and intense, intimate singing tht borders on lullebies for adults then this is it.

Be careful who you lend it to, if you mind what people think about you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Strange, 7 Aug. 2005
By 
Johan De-silva "Mr Scruff" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: La Maison De Mon Reve (Audio CD)
Feeling sad? Board of the same music? This could be for you. I believe this was recorded lo-fi in a bathroom and I am sure it was Jimmi Hendrix who said that he liked playing in the bathroom because the acoustics are good. You have to have an open mind to like this! Its is beautiful but very strange. Despite the strangeness it is very human in its sounds with its acoustic sounds mixed with electronic atmospheric sounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It Made My Eyes Fall Out, 26 July 2011
By 
This review is from: La Maison De Mon Reve (Audio CD)
Vocals - reedy warbling of repetitive (mantra stylee) nonsense. Music - clanky, very repetitive and dull with some extra dimension provided via clanking noises of various kinds - think of Psapp or Grizzly Bear only really bad.
You'll never get back the time you spend listening to this... it's awful. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very strange indeed!, 5 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: La Maison De Mon Reve (Audio CD)
I bought this on the basis of a review in one of the Sunday papers: the voices are, on occasion, beautiful - but most of the time they do sound very odd indeed. As an earlier reviewer stated, they do sometimes sound like a strangled chicken! However, if you do like unusual, very high-pitched and squeaky womens' voices, this may be the album for you......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

La Maison De Mon Reve [VINYL]
La Maison De Mon Reve [VINYL] by CocoRosie (Vinyl - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews