Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
Before purchasing my psp i borrowed one from a friend of a friend for a few hours. He had about 5 games including lummies and ridge racer, but the game that blew me away in those few hours was wipeout pure. It really is amazing.
I have a psp of my own now and just one game, wipeout. Firstly the graphics are brilliant and up to ps2 standard. The environments are very...
Published on 11 Jun 2005 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
not bad
Published 10 days ago by C. reid


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Jun 2005
This review is from: WipEout Pure (PSP) (Video Game)
Before purchasing my psp i borrowed one from a friend of a friend for a few hours. He had about 5 games including lummies and ridge racer, but the game that blew me away in those few hours was wipeout pure. It really is amazing.
I have a psp of my own now and just one game, wipeout. Firstly the graphics are brilliant and up to ps2 standard. The environments are very well designed and i sometimes feel a sense of vertigo when my ship goes over one of the big jumps.
The difficulty curve is perfect for this game as it is challenging but not too hard. I have already unlocked most of the tracks in the game including some of the classic ones.
One big change is the removal of pit lanes. Now if you want to recharge your shield you have to absorb a weopon you pick up rather than firing it.
Compared with wipeout on the PS2 i think this is alot better. I thought that game was too hard and the balance between racing and shooting was wrong. Guess what? i think they've got the balance perfect here.
Over all, this is a first rate game and should help to sell many psp's in this country when it's released!!
BRILLIANT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !!!, 24 Aug 2005
This review is from: WipEout Pure (PSP) (Video Game)
This game is awsome.
Having had my PSP for a few weeeks now I can honestly say that Wipeout Pure is the best game for a hand held I have ever played.
The graphics are fantastic.
The gameplay is so simple and well thought out.
The music fits the game very well.
The AI is very well controlled and is not to easy or to hard to defeat.
Overall I would highly recommend this game if you were only getting one game with your PSP console or just wanting another game to play.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind-blowingly fast!, 13 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: WipEout Pure (PSP) (Video Game)
Just recieved my PSP and a copy of Wipeout Pure. Slapped it in, and the first thing that hit me is that the introduction video to Wipeout Pure is one of THE BEST ive ever seen. Now i play too many games, so already i was impressed.
The game itself is so easy to get into. I have to admit it's the first Wipeout game ive had, but boy do i now know what i was missing! Action packed, RIDICULOUSLY FAST, and always leaves you wanting to do it again after each race. That final lap, seeing your opponent infront, seconds from the line as you plow a rocket into his boosters, slowing him to a practical stop as you shoot past and win the race, is SUCH a good feeling.
Now, the REAL fun can be found in multiplayer. Granted you need a wireless router to use the connection, but when you and a mate are battling it out on the tracks, blasting away at each other, mocking each other's driving skills etc, it just becomes the best possible multiplayer experience!
Even if you arent into racing games that much, get this great game. If you are into racing games, then you would be a fool if this wasnt in your collection!!
Its fast, it leaves you wanting more, its fun, its fall-off-your-seat packed with tension and it WILL blow your mind away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wipeout - get it to experience your PSP, 10 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: WipEout Pure (PSP) (Video Game)
I got wipeout as my first game for US version of PSP and let me say it does blow you away when you first play it, with its rich colour. Just shows you the potential for the PSP. The game play is exciting and with option to add new track via wipeout pure website it will keep you busy for a while. If you have been a fan of the PS2 version you be disappointed with the handheld version, could recommend a better game to kick start your time with the PSP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible!, 8 Sep 2005
By 
This review is from: WipEout Pure (PSP) (Video Game)
OK, so I thought people who wrote reviews of stuff they bought from Amazon did so because they had no life, but now I know why they do it! When you discover something this good, you just have to share it! I bought my PSP from my local Tesco (they still had 29 left the day after it launched for some bizarre reason) and bought a copy of Untold Legends as my first game to try it out. Not my cup of tea and a bit of a disappointment to boot - I was wondering whether the cash for the PSP was wasted. So I sold it and bought Wipeout Pure. Oh my goodness! I have fallen off the couch (twice) playing this game and it should come with a warning not to drink alcohol whilst playing for fear of being sick. This is utterly compelling with a good variety of tracks and machines, superb agility, the added fun of shooting your opponents and graphics and audio which puts this firmly at the top of the shopping list for any PSP owner. Even the menu interface is super-cool with different skins to suit your mood. I have previously found "racing" games boring but between the tournament mode and being able to race your own "ghost" (previous best performance), it has enough to keep you wanting more. Just how PSP games should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Adrenalin!, 6 April 2005
By 
This review is from: WipEout Pure (PSP) (Video Game)
After the big disappointment of Wipeout Fusion on the PS2, big things were prayed for with Wipeout Pure. While Ridge Racers looks good, this is the killer app for the PSP. Graphics are absolutely stunning and the sense of speed on the later levels really has the adrenalin pumping. As far as gameplay goes, it's all about the racing again, rather than who can fire their weapons first and has more in common with the classic PS1 Wipeout 2097 (hitherto the best game in the series!). Progression through levels and leagues will unlock new tracks and modes, which adds to the life of this already addictive title. This is the title to buy to show of the fun and power of your new PSP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's fun, it's fast, it's high powered weaponry: it's WIPEOUT, 4 Jan 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WipEout Pure (PSP) (Video Game)
The title sums it up.

The races are fast furious and the graphics are explosive the rides are steaming hot and the weapons are soooo powerfull they can they can.....*pant* okay Ill calm down now:

Its a great game for everyone. The online isn't that much better than the Single player but I have to admit for those with little patience it could get tedious

Perfect for in and out gaming

Engines...check, Controls...check, Brakes...check

Let's get this show on the road!!!

Scarhurzt out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 3 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: WipEout Pure (PSP) (Video Game)
I have been a huge fan of WipeOut ever since I bought the first PS1 version as a student in 1996.
10 years and various versions later, this is a game that just never gets boring - and the PSP version is without a doubt the best iteration yet.
For those familiar with the game series, the most important tweaks to be aware of are as follows:
> Ability to 'absorb' power-ups in order to regain shield strength.
> Ability to download extra ships, tracks, skins, music etc - for free.
> Ability to save the ghost ship that records your best track time, and then reload it again at a later date.
In addition to this the graphics, speed and smoothness of the game are even better than the PS2 version, so it really shows off what the PSP can do.
If you haven't played the game before, then you really need to check it out. The skill and dexterity that you eventually develop whilst playing this game is amazing. Also, there is no real 'end' to the game, you just keep getting better and better and advancing further. Even if you finish the tournaments, you can still keep progressing on time-trials etc.
Anyway, just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 25 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: WipEout Pure (PSP) (Video Game)
Wipeout Pure definetly lives up to its predessors.
Like the playstation one wipeouts, it goes in classes instead of ship upgrade in wipEout fusion (ps2).
Every class you play in affects your stats e.g. when you're in a Flash class race with a 5/5 speed ship your speed will be faster than if you were playing in the vector class (lowest/beginners) with the same ship.
This game will keep you going with its difficulty and pace and will provide many hours of fun at a time.
The graphics are the best i've seen in a psp game yet and the starting clip is absolutley amazing - do not skip it the first time you turn it on).
The sound? Well the songs are good, following the technoey style of wipeout while a voice tellnig you when you are being fired upon by a quake or missile etc.
All in all a brilliant game that you must get if you are getting a psp with only one game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Speed Anti Grav Excellence, 25 July 2006
By 
Dr. ID Keenan "baldygeordie" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WipEout Pure (PSP) (Video Game)
I have run out of superlatives to describe this, but I will sum it up by saying that Wipeout Pure is an excellent game. I am a veteran of the original Wipeout game on PSone and that inspired me to make this my first PSP purchase and it blew me away.

That this game is on the PSP platform makes this game even more exceptional, as it would still be fantastic even if the identical game was on PS2. This way you can take the fun anywhere you go.

The presentation is slick, the graphics are smooth and detailed, the sound fx and soundtrack pushes the psp experience to the limit and I haven't even mentioned the gameplay yet...

Choose your anti-grav ship and get racing. There are several ships to choose from, each with their own attributes, so choose carefully. You are introduced gently into the experience, you are rewarded with higher classes in which your ship increases in speed and your opponents get better. There remains the single races, tournament and time trial modes of the original wipeout and some "classic" circuits are included for your perusal, while a new "zone" mode tests your ability to survive without the use of brakes.

In summary, if you have a PSP, you must buy this game, especially at this price!

Tip: try playing this game on the bus, the cornering motion makes the experience almost a virtual reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WipEout Pure (PSP)
WipEout Pure (PSP) by Sony (Sony PSP)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews