Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The troublesome charm of gay desire
This Film is as simple as it can and should be. The situation is becoming more and more common. A teenager, a junior in his high school, discovers little by little he is attracted to men. He has a girl friend who would like the relation to go all the way, but he does not bring it there which makes him start wondering.

Then he is thrown into the gay world by...
Published on 25 Jun 2012 by Jacques COULARDEAU

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Potentially brilliant.
For me what makes this otherwise very average coming of age film stand out is its style. It pays tribute to the early eighties - the music and fashion seem nostalgically selected, like the film is Eric in 1998 remembering his first steps into adulthood through sound and colour.

Overall though EOS is lacking in content. Eric is a watchable enough character -...
Published on 13 Feb 2011 by M. Eden


Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One I would definitely recommend, 26 Mar 2006
This review is from: Edge Of Seventeen [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film that I would recommend to everyone that wants to see a romance with a twist. Though I didn't grow up on the eighties, being a mere fetus back then, I could understand and empathise with Eric and what he was going through. I loved this film and I thought that it captured young love beautifully and the difficulty (which I can only imagine) of being gay in the community of the eighties. This film is a must see if you are doing something like culture studies or something like that. It's great to watch and funny to see what people wore back then. If you remember that era, then you will cringe to think that you might have been wearing the sort of clothes that they wore in the film, or you might remember this with fondnes. Either way it's a nostalgic view at an era that has passed, but coming round again. Really great and fantastic to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edge Of Seventeen, 1 Jun 2014
By 
Newt Beaumont - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Edge Of Seventeen [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought Edge Of Seventeen around 6 months ago & it's been sat on my desk ever since. But today I finally got round to watching it....

Not sure why I waited so long as the bio made it sound really good & I have to admit it really is an amazing film. Watching Eric fall in-love with Rod is so beautiful. It's not like 2 LADS falling in-love, but 2 people falling in-love. It's not often you see that in a film, but when you do it's so magic & such a awesome thing to watch.

It's just awful that Rod does not feel the same and if I'm honest treats Eric like rubbish. But on the other hand this also helps Eric have his own "coming out story" and not rushed into anything by Rod.

The film also has a sort-of nostalgia feel to it too. Maybe because it was filmed in the 90's while set in the 80's. But I do love a bit of nostalgia and this film really does have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Potentially brilliant., 13 Feb 2011
By 
M. Eden (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Edge Of Seventeen [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
For me what makes this otherwise very average coming of age film stand out is its style. It pays tribute to the early eighties - the music and fashion seem nostalgically selected, like the film is Eric in 1998 remembering his first steps into adulthood through sound and colour.

Overall though EOS is lacking in content. Eric is a watchable enough character - he's quite charming and well acted - but he's not interesting enough to be the sole focus of the film. I was left wanting to see more of the supporting characters, as they had too much potential for their fleeting appearences (which always revolved around Eric).

I think with bit of tweaking and shift of focus Edge Of Seventeen could have been a classic gay film. As it is it's enjoyable and worth a watch, but don't expect to reach the end craving a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comments, 26 Nov 2010
This review is from: Edge Of Seventeen [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
The film was good, the characters and plot were well portrayed and the idea to bring some clarity and voice to homosexuality in the 80s. I found the film good but there are much better gay films such as THE TRIP, SHELTER,LATTER DAYS AND MAKE THE YULETIDE GAY.

I found that the main charcaters actions in the film really did make him less dignified and it portrayed the 'we all make mistakes' cliche well. It also portrayed the confusion of homosexuality very well, showing the struggle of conflictions within because of being raised to think heterosexually and suddenly waking up one morning and 'really' noticing the males around you, because your individual homosexuality has surfaced and you are trying to come to terms with it.

I found myself feeling sorry for his best friend, maggie, at one point as she was just as confused as him. Not knowing if her friend was truly gay or if he liked her romanitically or not. I think that the director of this film made a very good portrayal of confusion and struggle, acceptance and acceptance of others. ALso the director portrayed maggies realisation that her friend was truly gay when she saw him kidding another man, i thought that showing that in the movie was good and artisticly done.

I give this film a 4/5 score. All be it a good film in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to basics........, 12 Jun 2007
By 
Jbadler (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Edge Of Seventeen [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
This is the sort of 'coming out' film that really says it all. All the feelings are portrayed remarkebly well & the film keps you hooked untill the end. Watch it, you wont be dissapointed with this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Touching, Realistic., 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edge Of Seventeen [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
We've all been there ... and this film depicts sensitively and touchingly the anxiety, confusion and false moves that are made in coming to terms with being gay. Worth watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Coming Of Age Film, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edge Of Seventeen [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
I brought this just after I came out a few years back and have watched serveral times since then. I found the lead characters to be believable and thought the film was well acted with a solid story. There are a lot of similar movies out there but this is one of the best I have seen and the soundtrack is great :-)

#Tell me why#
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edge Of Seventeen [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a classic coming of age film that I would recommend to anyone. With a fantastic soundtrack to boot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic and funny, 20 May 2014
By 
This review is from: Edge Of Seventeen [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Brutally honest coming out story of an adolescent boy living in eighties suburban America.
Nothing revolutionary. Just a simple universal tale of coming to terms with being different.
Outrageous fashion combined with the best pop music era, it is cleverly directed with subtle storytelling and acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars coming out, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edge Of Seventeen [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
a good story and comedy about a young man coming out gay and falling in love with a boy in a summer job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Edge Of Seventeen [1998] [DVD]
Edge Of Seventeen [1998] [DVD] by David Moreton (DVD - 2005)
5.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews