Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best - better than ALL the rest.
If I was only left with one pan, I would want it to be this one. I got one of these earlier this year and it is just amazing!
Its great for doing risotto's in, they come out creamy and smooth. You can make pasta sauce in it or you can do what I did tonight, which was to prepare the base of a shepherd's pie in it and then cover the mix in spuds and stick it straight...
Published on 26 Nov 2009 by Old_Mason

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
Well waht do you expect. This is one of those high end quality products. My only contribution is that it heats up quick and stays hot and continues to cook the food after the flame is switched off.
Published 12 months ago by Dr. J. M. Zhang


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best - better than ALL the rest., 26 Nov 2009
If I was only left with one pan, I would want it to be this one. I got one of these earlier this year and it is just amazing!
Its great for doing risotto's in, they come out creamy and smooth. You can make pasta sauce in it or you can do what I did tonight, which was to prepare the base of a shepherd's pie in it and then cover the mix in spuds and stick it straight in the oven.
Oh and forget all that fancy non-stick stuff. Bake this thing as hard as you like and all you need to do is soak it in warm soapy water for an hour or two and off it all comes.
I currently live in lodgings and had to put most of my cooking kit into storage. This was my first choice of the things I could take because I knew how versatile it would be . I would give this to any child of mine living in digs at uni because there is so much you can do with it. Its simply the best, better than all the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SATIN BLACK..., 6 Jun 2007
...with the NEW STAINLESS STEEL KNOB.

SHAPE : ROUND
SIZE: 22 cm
Approximate maximum capacity : 3.3L

Sturdily boxed, complete with full 'SATIN BLACK' care & use instructions.

ooOoo

Manufacturer Details:

'Cleaning SATIN BLACK Enamel:

~ Do not attempt to remove the patina (the brownish black film) which is produced on a satin black surface. This enhances the cooking performance and food release from the surface.

~ Always cool the hot pan for a few minutes before washing.

~ When possible rinse the pan in hot water and wipe over the surface with a damp cloth. This may be possible if the pan is used for regular cooking of foods where the food residues are minimal. For more thorough washing use hot soapy water, then rinse and dry thoroughly, this will not affect the patina.

~ To remove stubborn or sticky residues fill the warm pan with warm water and leave to soak for 10-15 minutes. Wash, rinse and dry in the usual way.

~ A washing up brush can be useful to remove small food deposits, or for cleaning between the ribs on grills. Do not use any scourers or abrasive cleaners on the cooking surface.

* Exterior marks, such as burnt on fat deposits, can be lightly scoured using a nylon pad, or can be cleaned off with regular use of the Le Creuset Pots and Pans cleaner, do not use on matt black exteriors.

~ All metal handled pans can be washed in the dishwasher but this greatly reduces the build up of the patina.....'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cast iron cert, 15 Feb 2012
◄ Apologies. Amazon has amalgamated products and this review now appears as a duplicate. ►

CAST IRON CASSEROLE
Round-shaped
Size : 22 cm
Approximate maximum capacity: 3.3L

COLOUR : CASSIS

Comes sturdily boxed, complete with CAST IRON use/care instruction booklet.

Cast iron ensures an even heat distribution on all heat sources, and my favourite recipe in this sized casserole is 'Hot Chilli Surprise' - using just this one pot for the lot......on the hob.
Also, GREAT for making a curry......or even.......'baking a cake'.
This dish is also the perfect size for 4 loin steaks in an oven-baked 'Scrumpy and Pork Casserole'!

Or...if looking for further inspiration and for advice regarding cast iron cooking in general, there are some delicious recipes including one for this particular sized dish: 'Simple Vegetable and Saffron Rice', serving 6-8, on page 20, of the excellent book, entitled, The Cast Iron Way to Cook, by Sue Cutts, who writes:

'As the title suggests, this is the simplest way to cook a vegetable rice dish. The heat-retaining qualities of cast iron are so good that once the casserole is hot it can be removed from the hob and left for the rice to continue cooking with no additional bottom heat. Just a stir at the end of the 20-minute cooking period and the rice will be ready to serve......'

Anyway, getting back to this super 'pot' - it is relatively easy to wash up by hand, although a bit of soaking and a rub with a plastic brush may be required for those more stubborn baked-on food remains.
It is also dishwasher safe and is of a size that fits most, comfortably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic but not the best for non-stick, 4 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. G. Manning "Harry's Dad" (Hemel Hempstead, Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Let's be honest, everyone wants one or has one. It's a classic in kitchens around the world and this Flame Red design dates back to the 1930's.

There is something almost magical about cooking a stew in these that I can't seem to replicate from my really good non-stick modern cookware. I don't know what it is but if you have one, you'll know what I mean. It's like the difference between microwaving a chicken and roasting - it's still cooked but roasting is definitely better.

I've dropped a star to 4 because it's not the most non-stick of all my pans meaning it is used mainly for stews but they are really good when you do use it. Mine must be around 40 years old having been passed down from my mother in law. It still looks only a few weeks old and is a testament to how well made they are.

I'd be interested to see how non-stick they are now but if you add a bit of extra oil and stir a lot, you shouldn't have a problem. If you do go for it, a word or warning. You're likely to get hooked on Le Creuset and end up with all sorts of other products like the griddle, apron (amazing), spatula, utensil pot, salt pot (see some of my other reviews). You've been warned.

It's not cheap I'll admit but you will have it for a lifetime, or 2 in my case by passing it on. Millions of people can't be wrong...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like it!, 19 Nov 2009
Difficult to get excited about a casserole dish but this is excellent.

Cook on the stove top...then transfer in the oven....then pop in the dishwasher when you're done.

Perhaps the black one is more cauldron than classy - maybe one of the coloured ones would have been better for the table....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CAST IRON CERT!, 21 Dec 2006
This review is from: Le Creuset Cast Iron Round Casserole, 22 cm - Dune (Kitchen & Home)
COLOUR : ALMOND (aka DUNE)

◄ Apologies. Amazon has amalgamated products and this review now appears as a duplicate. ►

ROUND 22 cm
Approximate maximum capacity : 3.3L
Boxed.
Use and Care Instruction Booklet included.

Simply brilliant - this versatile Casserole Dish/Cocotte/French Oven is ideal for all sorts of recipes.
My favourite is a hot, chilli mince - use it on the hob to soften up the vegetables, add the stock and other ingredients...then leave it to simmer on the ring, or transfer to the oven, if baking your accompaniments.
[..]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Being phased out...the colour GRANITE, 23 July 2004
MATERIAL : CAST IRON
KNOB : PHENOLIC

◄ Apologies. Amazon has amalgamated products and this review now appears as a duplicate. ►

ROUND : 22 cm
Approximate maximum capacity : 3.3L

This versatile Casserole Dish/Cocotte/French Oven is ideal for all sorts of recipes and my latest favourite in this size is a one-pot-does-the-lot 'Pork & Sweet Potato Casserole' (courtesy of Waitrose), serving 4 people.
It starts off on the hob with heating the olive oil to brown off the pork, turning down the heat to soften up the onion and garlic, adding the cubed sweet potato with the herbs, adding the wine, water and chopped tomatoes then bring to the boil.
Cover and simmer on the hob at the lowest heat or transfer to the oven if using for accompaniments like a baked potato.

Or....Sue Cutts has a delicious recipe for this sized cocotte, in her LE CREUSET dedicated book: Simple Vegetable and Saffron Rice, serving 6-8, from page 20.

This item is sturdily boxed with CAST IRON use & care instructions included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NEW COLOUR for Le Creuset's 22 cm CAST IRON COCOTTE...., 14 Sep 2011
...with the smart NEW stainless steel knob!

◄ Apologies. Amazon has amalgamated products and this review now appears as a duplicate. ►

COLOUR : COASTAL BLUE
Round-shaped : 22 cm
Approximate capacity : 3.3L

Comes sturdily boxed, complete with CAST IRON use & care instruction booklet.

Cast iron ensures an even heat distribution on all heat sources, and my favourite recipe in this sized casserole is 'Hot Chilli Surprise' - using just this one pot for the lot......on the hob.
Also, great for making a curry......or even.......baking a cake.
This dish is also the perfect size for 4 loin steaks in an oven-baked 'Scrumpy and Pork Casserole'.

Or...if looking for further inspiration and for advice regarding cast iron cooking in general, there are some delicious recipes including one for this particular sized dish - 'Simple Vegetable and Saffron Rice', serving 6-8, on page 20, of the excellent book, entitled The Cast Iron Way to Cook, by Sue Cutts who comments:

'As the title suggests, this is the simplest way to cook a vegetable rice dish. The heat-retaining qualities of cast iron are so good that once the casserole is hot it can be removed from the hob and left for the rice to continue cooking with no additional bottom heat. Just a stir at the end of the 20-minute cooking period and the rice will be ready to serve......'

Anyway, getting back to this super 'pot' - it is relatively easy to wash up by hand, although a bit of soaking and a rub with a plastic brush may be required for those more stubborn baked-on food remains.
It is also dishwasher safe and is of a size that fits most, comfortably.

Other sizes of ROUND casserole in 'COASTAL BLUE' currently include:

20 cm/2.4L
24 cm/4.2L
26 cm/5.3L
28 cm/6.7L

along with the two SHALLOW/BUFFET CASSEROLES:

26 cm/2L
30 cm/3.2L

and a variety in the OVAL-shaped version, e.g. 25 cm/3.2L, great for whole chicken recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality - great colour, 11 Jan 2011
Le Creuset is still the best stoneware. Cassis is a lovely colour. Makes a welcome change. It was a very successful Xmas present for the woman in my life! This 22cm round casserole is fine for a family of three / four. All in all it is 5* - especially the Amazon price of £78.08... My only gripe would be that it came in a nice Le Creuset orange carboard box, but with no covering, just the delivery note pouch stuck to it, so althought the dish was delivered in tact, the Le Creuset box was spoilt. A shame. But then I should be (and am) very grateful that Amazon successfully delivered the dish just before Xmas in all that snow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My FAVOURITE sized 'POT', from LE CREUSET, 21 Dec 2006
◄ Apologies. Amazon has amalgamated products and this review now appears as a duplicate. ►

COLOUR : VOLCANIC
Round-shaped
Size - 22 cm
Approximate maximum capacity : 3.3L

Comes sturdily boxed, complete with CAST IRON use/care instruction booklet.

Cast iron ensures an even heat distribution on all heat sources, and my favourite recipe in this sized casserole is 'Hot Chilli Surprise' - using just this one pot for the lot, on the hob. Also, GREAT for making a curry, or even 'baking a cake'.
This dish is also the perfect size for 4 loin steaks in an oven-baked 'Scrumpy and Pork Casserole'.

It is relatively easy to wash up by hand, although a bit of soaking and a rub with a plastic brush may be required for those more stubborn baked-on food remains.
It is also dishwasher safe and is of a size that fits most, comfortably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Le Creuset Cast Iron Round Casserole, 22 cm - Dune
£135.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews