Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bridget Jones 2 The Edge of Reason
Whilst in general sequels never live up to one's expectations, a massive crush on one of the leading men and a hunger to see what happens next, even if have read the book, will have you desperately rushing to see this...which I did in SPANISH!!! (I live in the Canary Islands!) I am totally biased of course when it comes to this film(s)... because face it ladies (in my...
Published on 3 Feb 2005 by Nuria

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "And nothing in the world can spoil it"
Last time we saw her, Bridget Jones (Zellweger) was in love with Mark Darcy (Firth) and they were staying together for the movie's happy ending. Now, we find them again only a few weeks later, exactly one year after they first met in the buffet organized by Bridget's mother. And guess what, they are there again; another year, another buffet, another diary. This is how we...
Published on 6 Jun 2005 by Sebastian Fernandez


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great film, 16 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridget Jones 2: The Edge of Reason [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I purchased the first Bridget Jones film loved that one,so I had to purchase the second one,loved this one even more than the first one,Renee Zellweger who plays Bridget plays a great part in this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this film its excellent, 26 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have it on dvd this was my first dvd i brought when i had my first dvd player so when we got a ps3 player i had to buy it on blu ray just for colin Firth lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I read that you should never go out with someone if you can think of three reasons why you shouldn't., 24 May 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bridget Jones 2: The Edge of Reason [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Plot finds Britain's favourite big bottomed, big boobed, air head, Bridget Jones, back with more troubles of the heart, career and Thailand. It's a pale shadow of the first film, even if most of the jokes and plot structure are recycled for this cash in. Sadly this time Gemma Jones and Jim Broadbent as Bridget's parents are reduced to tiny cameo performances, and even Hugh Grant's sex hungry Daniel Cleaver slots into a small time scale and serves only as a set up for some same old same old. However, even tho familiarity does breed contempt, such is the strength of the comedy involving Bridget Jones, there's still enough here to raise a chuckle or two. While Zellweger is still adorable and easy to get on side with as Miss Jones, and Firth is Firth, better than this material in his sleep, but still retaining a high watchability factor as the straight backed Mark Darcy.

You wouldn't want to watch this one more than once, and really you should stick with the first film, but it's just got enough about it to hit the average mark. Only just, mind. 5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bridget's zaniness losing its charm, 9 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridget Jones 2: The Edge of Reason [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I did find "Bridget Jones' Diary(the film) entertaining;certainly different from many comedies mainly because of Zellweger's performance.I would watch virtually anything at least once if Colin Firth is in it but I doubt whether I'll be watching this again.Eventually Renee's breathless utterances and strange facial contortions become tiresome.I am quite surprised to remember how good she was portraying Beatrix Potter as the contrast is startling.She can't be short on versatility obviously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars better at being single, 11 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Bridget Jones 2: The Edge of Reason [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
bridget the girlfriend is a weak girl with no reason to exist other than her man. she bores you to death. the only good moments come when she has a blast in thailand as a badly behaved single unselfconscious party animal. loved the first, yawned through this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the same as the book, 2 Jan 2006
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bridget Jones 2: The Edge of Reason [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
They should have quit while still ahead
Why kill the golden goose?
Though Bridget's aged a coupla weeks
She's gotten more obtuse
Not satisfied she's got her man
She tells herself he's cheating
She's paranoid and insecure
It's all so self defeating
They tossed away the storyline
Put slapstick in instead
From phony fights by leading men
To cheeks painted bright red
Hugh Grant still makes a perfect cad
We'll always love Mark Darcy
and even though the acting's good
The movie's awfully farce-y
But if you haven't read the book
And need some simple mirth
Go right ahead and rent this one
For Hugh, Rene and Firth
Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bridget Jones. Edge of Reason, 9 Feb 2005
By 
Helen Royston (Wath upon Dearne, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bridget Jones 2: The Edge of Reason [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I have not read the books but have seen both films. The first one I thought, had its moments, but I went to the cinema to see the second one and thought it was hilarious, I went with two friends and we were laughing from start to finish, as was most of the other cinema goers. In my opinion, you have to listen carefully to the script to appreciate the fuuny moments in this film but it is most definately worth listening to. In conclusion, if you have seen the first Bridget Jones film and liked it then you will love the second one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feel good fun, 12 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Bridget Jones 2: The Edge of Reason [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This film (spelt Bridget rather than Bridgit!) is a classic chick flick, which might not appear realisitc to those cynics who are unable to suspend disbelief for the duration of one film, but is thoroughly appealing to anybody who has had just about enough of cynicism and realism by the weekend. Get a glass of wine, put your feet up and laugh a lot with Bridget and her hilarious antics! (Pleae note: alot isn't a word cynical person)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Same old story, 28 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Bridget Jones 2: The Edge of Reason [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
What a let down! This is just a re-hash of the same events seen in the first Bridget Jones film. From the early shot of Bridget's rear falling towards and taking up most of the camera shot I feared the worst. And I was right. Formulaic - it worked in the first film so it will work again - to just plain silly this film comes across as a cynical and typical sequel cash-in. Stay clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a load of rubbish!, 21 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Bridget Jones 2: The Edge of Reason [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Typical let-down of a sequel, poor script and dialogue, usual Hollywood tactic of using an exotic location to support a rubbish storyline. Good to see lots of the original cast returning to their roles, but they were sorely let down by the contrived script and dialogue. Verdict: Cringeworthy, avoid like the plague!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bridget Jones 2: The Edge of Reason [DVD] [2004]
2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews