Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, if abridged, adaptation of the D.H. Lawrence novel, 20 Feb. 2011
By 
The CinemaScope Cat - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sons And Lovers [1960] [DVD] (DVD)
An aspiring painter (Dean Stockwell) in a small mining village becomes a battle zone for his rough-hewn miner father (Trevor Howard) who doesn't think much of his son's aspirations and his delicate mother (Wendy Hiller), who he's emotionally over attached to and who encourages him to better himself. Based on the acclaimed D.H. Lawrence novel, the film leaves much of the novel out (about a third) which is understandable and focuses on Stockwell's character rather than on the other son played by William Lucas who has a more important role in the novel. All things considered, it's still a powerful film with terrific performances by Howard and Hiller. Their scenes together crackle with a spellbinding intensity. Stockwell's accent is barely adequate but other than that, he brings a quiet intensity as the Lawrence stand in. The B&W cinematography by Freddie Francis is exquisite and earned him a justified Oscar. The effective score is by Mario Nascimbene. With Mary Ure, quite good in an Oscar nominated performance, as the married feminist who has an affair with Stockwell, Heather Sears (ROOM AT THE TOP) as the good girl, Donald Pleasence, Rosalie Crutchley and Ernest Thesiger.

The Australian DVD courtesy of Umbrella entertainment is a striking B&W anamorphic transfer in its original CinemaScope ratio (2.35) which does Freddie Francis's cinematography proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb performances, 9 Aug. 2010
By 
This review is from: Sons & Lovers [DVD] (DVD)
Superb performances from Wendy Hiller and Trevor Howard highlight this adaptation, directed by the great cinematogapher Jack Cardiff. Hiller plays the long-suffering wife of miner-worker Howard and wants better things for her sensitive, artistic son (Dean Stockwell, in one of his first adult roles). The sexual side of the story is handled with, well, the candor of the late 1950s, when it was made. Paul is tempted by a clinging village girl (Heather Sears) and a sophisticated older woman (Mary Ure). The black and white CinemaScope photography won an Oscar for Freddie Fields. The film was the "art" entry in that year's contest, received six nomination including two for performances (Howard and Ure) and for direction and screenplay, among others. I haven't seen this film in 35 years, but it make an impression on me then and I saw it several times. I imagine the performances hold up well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars substantially good adaptation, 6 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Sons & Lovers [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the rare films which, despite taking liberties from the book, gets the story's theme across successfully. For example, in the book the son's brother dies of consumption; in the movie it is in a coal mining accident. This is shown by a light rumble and a ripple on the waters of a lake, which, as TIME said in their review, creates a dramatic effect ten times more forceful than if the air had been filled with flying coal carts.

The theme successfully carried to the screen is that the Paul Morel character had love affairs, and his mother had him in a bind about it. The mother, played by Wendy Hiller, says at one point, "I feel like [your present girl friend] is trying to take you away from me." I don't recall this line from the book, but as I say, the movie's adaptation of the book's theme--the conflict of loyalties between a mother and one's girl friends--is carried across with nothing more to be desired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sons and lovers, 10 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sons & Lovers [DVD] (DVD)
the great d h lawrence based around his birth place in nottinghamshire a lovely story and well acted great watch for lawrence lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sons And Lovers, 10 July 2009
By 
Buzzscorpion "buzzscorpion" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sons And Lovers [1960] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a classic D.H. Lawrence story. One for the collection and one that we never tire of watching when the mood takes..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sons & Lovers [DVD] (DVD)
Have been looking for this DVD for years, but was always to expensive, now this was great value and I shall keep watching it.....As I live in D.H.Lawrence's town of Eastwood, it has a lot of meaning for me and, incidently, he lived next door to my great grandmother when he we a boy, on Victoria Street - in fact he courted my great Aunt Ada at one time..... Lynn Taylor......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Sonsand Lovers., 17 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sons And Lovers [1960] [DVD] (DVD)
This is an very good film dating back more than 50 years. It has an excellent cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug. 2014
Excellent, very good acting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sons And Lovers [1960] [DVD]
Sons And Lovers [1960] [DVD] by Jack Cardiff (DVD - 2006)
Used & New from: £17.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews