Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!
Winnie the Pooh ABC's and 123's is absolutely fantastic. It's a great way to introduce toddlers to letters and numbers without being too educational. Wonderful songs and storyline. The only thing I can fault it on is that it takes a good minute to start the DVD once you have bypassed all the introduction clips and adverts. Apart from that the actual content...
Published on 19 Dec 2005 by paul_in_cornwall

versus
45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars abc section is poorly conceived; dvd controls are irksome
This DVD takes a while to start because Disney programmed it to prevent you from skipping over some of the preview material. This is a pet peeve of mine, particularly on a children's DVD which, ideally, will be viewed over and over again.

The 123 section is ok, but the ABC video is poorly conceived. As other reviewers mention, the first part of the ABC cartoon...
Published on 31 Oct 2006 by DEM


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars abc section is poorly conceived; dvd controls are irksome, 31 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: Winnie The Pooh - ABC's and 123's [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD takes a while to start because Disney programmed it to prevent you from skipping over some of the preview material. This is a pet peeve of mine, particularly on a children's DVD which, ideally, will be viewed over and over again.

The 123 section is ok, but the ABC video is poorly conceived. As other reviewers mention, the first part of the ABC cartoon focuses on rhymes. It does this not by focusing solely on the sound of the rhymes but instead shows you the words on several pages of Christopher Robin's notebook. In order for a child to appreciate this section, he or she really ought to know how to read already. Late, late, late in the video, the characters finally do a cursory review a few letters--R, P, O, T, E, and K. That's it. The first time we watched the video, my little girl turned to me and asked, a bit indignantly, "When come alphabet?!?" Of course she gets a certain pleasure just out of watching the Pooh characters on the screen, but pedagogically speaking, I think the Leapfrog LETTER FACTORY video, or something from Sesame Street (alas, regional code 1, usually), is much, much better for a child starting to learn the ABCs. Sesame Street's LEARNING TO COUNT or 123 COUNT WITH ME are also better for counting. Not just my opinion, but my daughter's, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 19 Dec 2005
This review is from: Winnie The Pooh - ABC's and 123's [DVD] (DVD)
Winnie the Pooh ABC's and 123's is absolutely fantastic. It's a great way to introduce toddlers to letters and numbers without being too educational. Wonderful songs and storyline. The only thing I can fault it on is that it takes a good minute to start the DVD once you have bypassed all the introduction clips and adverts. Apart from that the actual content is brilliant. How about that - Fantastic, Great, Wonderful and Brilliant all used in the space of one small review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for numbers, not for letters, 7 Jan 2007
This review is from: Winnie The Pooh - ABC's and 123's [DVD] (DVD)
The 123's part of this is excellent. My son has watched it time and time again and now knows all his numbers from 1 - 9. There are songs and a storyline to keep him interested and he still enjoys it now.

The ABCs bit is not good. It only deals with a handful of letters - and capital letters at that - and rhyming words which unless the child understands what rhymes are and can already read is a bit pointless. We have watched it a few times, but it's not really worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pooh DVD, 18 Jun 2009
By 
Im Matus (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Winnie The Pooh - ABC's and 123's [DVD] (DVD)
This is an average DVD. Too short, a bit slow and does not hold the child's attention because its too slow. It is also split in 3 parts but when part 1 is finished, you must go a press part 2 or 3 and this again is a bit hard to figure out.

Overall, I wouldnt purchase this item or recomend it. Sorry to sound harsh, but not for a 2 year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A nice balance of education and entertainment..., 9 July 2009
By 
Patrick Rowles "spartacus" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Winnie The Pooh - ABC's and 123's [DVD] (DVD)
My two year-old daughter loves this DVD. I'd be lying if I said it had turned her into a mathematical prodigy, but she's been able to count to ten (and higher) since shortly after we first got it. The songs are charming, and the fact that neither of the two stories exceeds thirty minutes means that you can watch it at almost any time without committing to a feature-length program. The voice of Little Roo (the featured character in the "1, 2, 3's" episode) can be a bit grating, but even adults shouldn't find repeated viewings too much of a chore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 123s and ABCs Winnie the Pooh DVD, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winnie The Pooh - ABC's and 123's [DVD] (DVD)
I have to agree with many of the reviews. Too much tedious introduction material that can frustrate an eagerly waiting toddler. 123s section is absolutely fantastic. My 2 year old has learnt to count to 10 very quickly from repetitive watching. As for the ABCs section - it's a pleasant little film and my 2 year old seems to love it but my 5 year old walks away even though he loves all other Pooh films. As for educational value, it's pretty random. I've not really paid a lot of attention to it but I don't think it runs the alphabet through at all which seems totally bizarre if you are fostering an understanding and a learning of the alphabet. Also the letters are kind of all over the place and only a selection of letters. There are far better programmes on children's TV. If anyone knows of an excellent ABC learning DVD though I would be really interested to hear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars abc and 123, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winnie The Pooh - ABC's and 123's [DVD] (DVD)
this was sent to my grandaughter who is greek she is learning to speak english and this is realy helping she is 2 years old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Scratched!, 14 May 2013
This review is from: Winnie The Pooh - ABC's and 123's [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD was scratched and never worked! I was looking forward to my daughter watching it and was very disappointed to find out it was damaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not so good, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winnie The Pooh - ABC's and 123's [DVD] (DVD)
Your child would have to be really interested in Winnie the pooh to sit and watch this DVD.
My child often walks off while its on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not Captivating at all!, 21 July 2010
By 
N. Chouhan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winnie The Pooh - ABC's and 123's [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my 3 year old son, who walked away after about 5 minutes. The tone of the narrator sounds like a 100 year old man, just not interesting enough!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Winnie The Pooh - ABC's and 123's [DVD]
Winnie The Pooh - ABC's and 123's [DVD] by Winnie the Pooh (DVD - 2005)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews