Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars176
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 September 2007
This movie is purely and simply TERRIFYING!! It creates immediately from the first minutes an atmosphere of permanent bone freezing terror, like I didn't see since the 70s, when both "Omen" and "Alien" premiered.

Every scene in "The Ring" is just perfect, every early scene is a necessary introduction to the later shockers (so watch carefully - there is no dead times), and everything just clicks in the right place at the end, like a Swiss clock mechanism. I just couldn't believe the incredible quality of this major horror.

In fact even more than scared, I was so totally shocked by this movie, that I didn't dare watching it a second time. I also didn't need it - after just one viewing I still can remember almost all the scenes, and I am concerned that I will never be able to forget them, especially the one in which we finally understand, why the heck a movie about a VHS tape is called "The Ring". A great, incredible horror movie. Very clever, very dark, very surprising. Watch it if you dare - and if you dare, you will be rewarded by the highest quality nightmare of those last fifteen years or so!

I saw the original Japanese "Ringu" movie after this one and although I liked it, to my considerable surprise I found that American remake is a real improvement over the original. And that is one more reason to praise "The Ring" as an exceptionnally good film.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2003
A television screen full of static hasn't been this frightening since 'Poltergeist'.
In brief (and without revealing anything crucial), a sceptical journalist hears of a videotape which causes anyone who watches it to die seven days later. Of course, she boldly investigates, finds the tape, watches it (in a most foolhardy fashion if you ask me...) and starts to wonder if perhaps the story is true. Because if it is, she has only seven days to get to the bottom of the mystery.
A truly atmospheric psychological thriller, where the horror element is supplied by a steadily growing sense of menace, rather than copious quantities of blood and gore. Creepy, seemingly random images get even more scary as the story unfolds and their significance is revealed.
I have deducted one star simply because there are some deleted scenes in the special features that should have been left in.
Watch it, but not on your own. And you might want to turn all your mirrors to the wall before it starts. Oh, and the day after watching it, don't do what I did and accidentally flip to an untuned channel on the video. I swear I left my seat.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2003
While investigating the deaths of several teenagers who have apparently fallen victim to a "posessed" video tape, an unsuspecting reporter unwittingly embarks on a race against time to defeat the curse of The Ring, evade a rather horrible death before 7 days are up, save her son (who thought it was a good idea to watch the tape...it wasn't by the way) and uncover the mystery of perhaps the most scary 8 year old girl ever to grace the screen. With a plot like that, things could very easily have gone wrong. Fortunately, they didn't.
The acting is for the most part, spot on (with Mulholland Drive's Naomi Watts delivering a solid performance). The visuals are executed tastefully, with the whole thing playing and feeling like a piece of surrealistic artwork. And thankfully things don't degenerate into a CGI-fest like so many other promising films of recent times. Admittedly most of the "action" for want of a better word, is packed into the first, and last 20 minutes of the film so those with short attention spans need not apply. Personally I like the sense of tension created by the slower moving middle section of the movie and you really do get that sense of suspense as the 7th day draws nearer. Sadly, a little more attention could of gone into explaining several key elements - specifically regarding Samara (the little girl who's spirit resides in the tape), as well as the connection between her and Rachels - Watts - son. While the film may leave you confused in some areas, it at least gives you something to talk about for a good few hours. Nevertheless, 1 star has to come off!
I confess to not havin seen the original "Ring", so I can't tell you if you should go and watch that instead. But I can tell you that the remake is highly watchable, scary and unsettling! With a central protagonist who elicits both sympathy and fear, spine chilling visuals, and a fantastic ending, "The Ring" is certainly worth a watch...if not several! In fact, I'm gunna order my copy now!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
After the mysterious death of her niece Katie, journalist Rachel Keller starts to investigate an urban legend about a videotape which kills you seven days after watching it. With dire consequences coming her way if she can not solve the mystery....

The sentence, English language remake of successful foreign horror film has been known to instill fear of the wrong kind in many a genre fan. So when it was announced that Gore Verbinski was to remake Hideo Nakata's terrifying nerve shredder, Ringu, the reaction in horror circles was akin to someone urinating on your chips. Refreshing to report then that The Ring is a candidate for best American remake and proof positive that remakes sometimes can be a good thing.

Starring Naomi Watts {who is terrific} as Rachel, Verbinski and writer Ehren Kruger {adapting from Kôji Suzuki's novel} successfully transfer the atmospherics of Nakata's piece to a dank and eerie Seattle. It's with atmosphere that The Ring starts to play on your nerves, after viewing the creepy and unsettling tape itself, we ourselves have been set up for the race against the clock that is driving Rachel on. And as the mystery starts to unravel, and sadness threatens to take hold, the story quickly shifts direction to give horror one of its most baddest and cruelest characters. It's impact is the kind that crawls under your skin and refuses to move when you are trying to sleep at night.

Tho the story has been streamlined from its source, The Ring still has a bit too much filler in its structure. Feeling a need to give Watts a quest among quests, Verbinski almost over cooks the mystery essence of the plot. But with much relief, he reins it in to stop any sort of scooby doo like nonsense detracting from the creepy sense of dread that has been built up. The ending here works, but it is a tone down from the source and with that it's not even close to Nakata's version, and just maybe it has something to do with Dream Works wanting to secure a PG-13 rating? What is left tho is a truly suspenseful and unsettling thriller-come horror film. One that even on revisits manages to bother and keep one on the edge. It made an $80 million profit in America alone, ensuring that a sequel was sure to follow. Now that one was a bad idea! 8/10
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2005
What a disappointment it is when a studio releases a special edition DVD a week before the theatrical release of the sequel, you just know that it isn't for the viewers benefit.
But, being a huge fan of the movie and not in possession of the previous DVD release i thought i would get this one, the "collectors edition". Very disappointing.
Don't get me wrong This movie is fantastic, truly scary in a Blair Witch kind of way, great acting, great everything. But enough of the lovey dovey stuff - this review is about the DVD.
The features are weak - The "making of" is barely 8 minutes long and is not at all enlightening. The short film - "Ring" - is very good though.
Too bad that there is no commentary - but worst of all is the exclusion of a feature that was on the original DVD, The actual ring video as a stand alone extra. A glaring ommission to make and such a simple one to include.
Too many lacklustre DVDs are being released these days, and this is one of them.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 August 2003
So I settled down on my own (somewhat complacently) and watched The Ring last weekend. I knew nothing about the film other than it being about a video tape and people dying after they watch it. Personally I'm thinking it can't be that scary with a ridiculous storyline like this, so I was expecting one of those tongue in cheek slasher type movies. I can tell you now that this is no picnic in the park; it's an intelligent, haunting and well put together film with a very clever plot. From the opening scene you're drawn straight it and there's no let up throughout. There is little actual gory bits, the scary element is really got across in the bleak washed out filming, the sounds, the imagery and the usual jumps along the way. It does well in making it difficult to predict what's going to happen next and what happens at the end; which is partly what makes it so good. The ending is superb, definitely not what you expect. My brother called right after it finished and I nearly had a heart attack. One that stays with you!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2003
I saw this movie twice at the cinema, and i recently bought the dvd. This remake is absolutely fantastic, well acted and the effects are brilliant. Unpredictable, terrifying, and enthralling! Lets hope that they remake the other ring films in the series. By the way, on the dvd, the special features listed are "Dont Watch This Video", "The Video" (long) and Trailer*. If you can't find the video of Samara's message dont panic cuz it is there, i found it yesterday, i was about to return it because this special feature was missing, but then i thought, "well the gimmic of this film was that you aren't supposed to see the video, so it must be hidden" and i was right. The video is hidden, what you need to do is: when you see the red arrow that tells you what you are selecting, keep pressing down until you can't see the arrow, press enter and voila, there it is, it goes straight into it. Enjoy the dvd, its an amazing, one-of-a-kind horror movie.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2005
Ok, first off I do feel slightly cheated that my first purchase of The Ring on DVD did not have these extra features. I was in two minds whether to get this new copy because I already had the first issue. But I am such a fan of this film I gave in.
Well, the 'Making Of..' feature is (as most making of features are these days) 'Lovey speak'. All this 'It was wonderful working with .....' and everyone verbally patting each other on the back. THIS DOES NOT TELL ME HOW YOU MADE THE MOVIE!!! I so want to say this to many filmmakers. I want to see the set design, makeup, prosthetics, special effects, fancy camera moves, etc. That's what I call a 'Making Of' feature. I don't care that cast and crew were all one big happy family, and they all got along like the Waltans. So, disappointing.
The mini-movie 'Rings' was quite good. Really, I recon it would have made a better Ring 2 than the one at the cinema, had it been expanded into feature length.
The Easter Egg (entitled 'Don't Watch This') is a confusing mish-mash of deleted scenes thrown together, but this was on the original DVD. Interesting, but would have been better separated, and given optional Directors commentary.
So, all in all medium marks. A star for being a brilliant movie anyway, and a star for a reasonably good mini movie that tells the story of the boy and girl we see at the start of Ring 2 at the cinema. No marks for the Making of Feature. It's time filmmakers stopped fobbing us of with self congratulatory rubbish like that, and no star for not having directors commentary. Oh, and one obligatory star (because you cannot give a no star rating)
If this is a collectors edition, I'm not impressed.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2011
did not rate this film ver much at all. heard a lot of hype about it but just did not find it had anything to shout about it!. bascially a woman and her son discover after watching this video that you die after 7 days of seeing it. she has to discover what the film is about and try to stop the death of her and her son. after discovering that the girls mum in the video killed her she has to discover why and it looks to be that her mum was nuts. however tho things turn as it is not the mum thats crazy but its the daughter she killed. not knowing this at the time she somehow lets the girl out the video and blah blah blah. something like that anyway!.... have not seen the original version of this and dont think that i will bother either. seen the sequel and thats poor too. acting not bad from most of the cast tho except the her son in it is rather annoying! (specially in number 2). i mean must he call his mum racheal after every bloody sentence!.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2003
The Ring is certainly one of the most terrifying films to come out of the US of A for a long time. Based on the Japanese horror classic Ring (which itself is based ona slightly less classic, obsscure Japanese book Ringu), the Americans bringing it kicking and screaming into 2002 with a big helping of special effects, and a big removal of elements that they feel the Americans will not understand (read: a lot of the more interesting bits).
What we have here is a brilliant, scare-per-minute Hollywood film. The cinematography is good, the storyline well planned and the scares, well, scary. From start to shocking finish this is a spine-tingling ride of a film.
Comparisons between this and the Japanese film of (almost) the same name are due, however, and the American one comes out worst of the two. Much of the brilliant cinematography, 90% of the plot and the final shocker are all lifted straight from the Japanese masterpiece. Some of the scares are in different places but they're all basically similar, and the original film has a certain something that very few films (The Shining, The Exorcist, and of course Ring 2) have. They instill you with a sense of dread, and from start to finish (and for a good time afterwards) they leave you scarred. The Ring (USA style) simply does not do this.
The film is, however, a good film on its own merits, and certainly the best remake in the recent deluge to come out of Hollywood. It isn't, however, the classic that the original is.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£1.54

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)