Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Adventure
National Treasure is a fun, family orientated action adventure, nothing more, nothing less. All the usual bits are here, the romantic interest, the humourous sidekick, father-son reunion but even with all these common elements movies don't always work. This one does thanks to a fun plot and good chemistry between the actors. Not an intellectual challenge, just a couple of...
Published on 23 Jun 2006 by S. Doyle

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dumbed down Da Vinci Code
"National Treasure" is probably the first of a string of films set to cash in on the "Da Vinci Code", "Angels and Demons", "Rule of Four" phenomenon that has set the world of paperback fiction alight over the past year or so. Like most of these novels , "National Treasure" popularises some hitherto arcane secret society knowledge and combines this with riddle solving...
Published on 2 May 2005 by L. Davidson


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Adventure, 23 Jun 2006
By 
S. Doyle (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: National Treasure [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
National Treasure is a fun, family orientated action adventure, nothing more, nothing less. All the usual bits are here, the romantic interest, the humourous sidekick, father-son reunion but even with all these common elements movies don't always work. This one does thanks to a fun plot and good chemistry between the actors. Not an intellectual challenge, just a couple of hours of enjoyment. Nothing wrong with that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dumbed down Da Vinci Code, 2 May 2005
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: National Treasure [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
"National Treasure" is probably the first of a string of films set to cash in on the "Da Vinci Code", "Angels and Demons", "Rule of Four" phenomenon that has set the world of paperback fiction alight over the past year or so. Like most of these novels , "National Treasure" popularises some hitherto arcane secret society knowledge and combines this with riddle solving ,treasure hunts and fast paced action sequences.To an extent it works fairly well; the film is entertaining and keeps your attention right to the end ,with the plot a sort of combination of the "Da Vinci Code" and "Rule of Four". However it could have been a lot better ;the cast of the movie were Hollywood "B" team and the choice of incidental music was inappropriate to say the least.While Nic Cage and Sean Bean were entirely convincing in their action set pieces,I thought both of them , especially Bean and his goons, were miscast as quick-thinking, puzzle solving historical scholars. They looked more like heavy-drinking brickies who would collectively struggle at solving the Daily Star crossword. No doubt a really stunning movie will translate the success and style of this paperback genre onto the big screen in the near future; something with the quality of say one of the "Bourne" films perhaps. "National Treasure" falls short of this standard, although it is an appealing enough movie and better than many recent thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable for what it is, 4 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: National Treasure [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
An enjoyable film, for all its pretensions. In the same genre as the forthcoming Da Vinci Code but about something more mundane, its good fun. There are amusing moments, largely due to the self-obsession of the characters, but on the whole, a pleasant film. Sean Bean, as usual, stands head and shoulders above the rest. Nice to see Nic Cage trying something different, although the role of an educated but intuitive fortune-hunter is probably not going to become his forte.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Lighthearted Adventure, 6 Feb 2007
By 
James Barke "Shiny New JB" (Derby, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: National Treasure [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
In a sea of movies that bog the viewer down with historical evidence, it's really nice to see a movie that's based on historical groups and events that accepts the fact it's purely fiction. Because of this, National Treasure presents us with an exciting, easy to follow old-school adventure movie with outrageous hidden clues and treasure maps that isn't bound to facts so much that it cannot be original. I would almost go as far as to say that National Treasure is Indiana Jones for the iGeneration. Nicholas Cage does an excellent job of playing the soft spoken hero and is supported by an excellent cast. It was refreshing to see a main character that wasn't all about explosions and dry-cool witted comments.

I sat down and enjoyed this movie from start to finish. This is a great family-friendly adventure movie (though there are a couple of moments that might be scary to small children) that is refreshingly light-hearted to the degree it can accept that a fiction movie is supposed to entertain. Recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real treasure, 7 Aug 2006
By 
Greg Farefield-Rose (Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: National Treasure [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
An excellent entertaining adventure starring Nicholas Cage as an obsessed explorer whose family have passed down an obscure clue to find a vast treasure. Like his forefathers (but unlike his weary father) Cage is driven towards finding this fortune. The first clue leads to him needing to "borrow" and examine the original Declaration of Independence from a museum and the City hopping, relentless adventure carries on from there...

National Treasure is Indiana Jones with the internet - a modern imaginative adventure where Cage and his cohorts are tracked by a rival explorer - the film's baddie played by Sean Bean. Despite the bad reviews often given to it by others, I think it is a superb, fast-moving and entertaining story which is a serious candidate for my list of Top 20 films of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Adventure/Thriller., 19 Jan 2008
By 
Katrina-UK (Stockport, Cheshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: National Treasure [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Basically if you love adventure/thriller/action films like the Da Vinci Code or the Indiana Jones films, you'll love this! Its full of action and suspense and there are loads of 'edge of your seat' moments, lots of mysteries to solve, and codes to break. There is also plenty of humour in it too, by Cage's sidekick played by Justin Bartha.

All in all, a great film. Can't wait for the sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Da Vinci Code, 5 Aug 2008
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
`National Treasure' stars Nicholas Cage as Ben Gates, a treasure hunter whose life-long dream is to find the treasures from the templar knights. A clue at the North Pole sets things in motion, and Ben must use his formidable cryptography skills to decipher puzzles hidden in the most unlikely places--one appears on the dollar bill, and another is on the back of the U.S. constitution. Ben's unscrupulous former partner (Sean Bean) and his gang of thugs are also after the treasure for selfish, evil purposes. A plot to steal the constitution sets off a 13-colony-wide chase with all the trimmings: cops going after the wrong man, the rescue of a cute female cryptographer (Diane Kruger) who tags along for the ride, along with Jon Voight who plays Ben's disapproving father.

If you're a fan of other adventure films like Indiana Jones then this is a film for you! It's like The Da Vinci Code but a lot more fun. From the opening scenes there are just so many fast-pace, clever and near-impossible action sequences that do not fail to thrill at all.

As well as the action there is plenty of comedy, mainly from Ben's side-kick Riley (Justin Bartha) who comes out with endless one-liners. There's also a good amount of history to be learnt so if young ones are watching this is a perfect way of learning a bit of American history whilst watching an exciting action film, how much of it is true however, I'm not sure!

The picture on this Disney Blu Ray is simply unbeatable - every hair plug on Cage's head have never been clearer! I used to own this on standard DVD and this Blu Ray picture and sound quality is ten times better.

Overall this is an excellent globe-trotting adventure that audiences of all ages can enjoy. Highly recommended for anyone after some breathtaking action sequences and witty script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable to Watch, 29 April 2008
This review is from: National Treasure [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I am a kind of person who has such a thirst for knowledge (in all branches) and discoveries, even for an adventure. And, this movie is an adventure and quite enjoyable to watch.

I have read a great deal on Masonic history as well the American history. And, there are bits and pieces of histories into this movie, but one cannot get the full understanding or knowledge of histories from watching this movie.

However, I found this movie to have a stretchy plot to which is not new, as it is typical. One would have to keep in mind that this is one of the Disney films, so this movie is suitable for kids as well enjoyable for adults. And, this film is more close to the line of the films, "The Da Vinci Code" and "Pirates of the Caribbean," or so I think.

Nevertheless, this film is fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A modern Indiana, 8 Mar 2008
This review is from: National Treasure [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
As a child I loved the Indiana Jones films and watching this film brought a wave of nostalgia over me - in fact I then ordered the Indiana Jones Trilogy!
This is a great film for all the family. No violence or bad language and full of adventure, conspiracy, action and humour. All our family enjoyed it and we range from 5-37!
Nicholas Cage was believable as the son in a family who have been ridiculed for their belief in a treasure dating back to the Declaration of Independence. His mission in life is to find the treasure and prove everyone wrong. Will he succeed? Watch and find out!
I can't wait to watch National Treasure 2: Book of Secrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars National Treasure, 27 July 2009
This review is from: National Treasure [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I loved this film and Nick Cage and Sean Bean are outstanding and bring this story to life, but then I am predudiced because although the story is fictional, it is based on the history of the Declaration of Independance, and Charles Carroll was my Ancestor who actualy signed the Declaration of Independence and put his address on it, even though he was a wanted man. The twists and turns of the treasure hunt keep you glued to the screen. Well produced and worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

National Treasure [DVD] [2004]
National Treasure [DVD] [2004] by Jon Turteltaub (DVD - 2005)
£2.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews