Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stargazing and Glorious!
WAAAH!! This is something else! I heard "Come In Out Of The Rain" quite by chance and immediately acquired this album and the Folly e.p. as soon as I could. I wasn't disappointed.
Lush, grand, mellow, warm, passionate, steeped in the last 40 odd years of melodic pop and rock music, these guys delight in drawing on all parts of that tradition to create a rich...
Published on 23 Jan 2006 by Number Six

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's bliss up north
One reviewer expresses incredulity that Engineers are not up there with Coldplay and Keane. The answer's simple: those two have better dynamics and more memorable songs and tunes (even if they don't actually say anything). Playing the Spot The Influence game, I heard Elbow meets Pink Floyd meets Surf's Up meets (when they get a bit bored of chilling)Mogwai. Promising...
Published on 28 Aug 2006 by JManley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stargazing and Glorious!, 23 Jan 2006
By 
This review is from: Engineers (Audio CD)
WAAAH!! This is something else! I heard "Come In Out Of The Rain" quite by chance and immediately acquired this album and the Folly e.p. as soon as I could. I wasn't disappointed.
Lush, grand, mellow, warm, passionate, steeped in the last 40 odd years of melodic pop and rock music, these guys delight in drawing on all parts of that tradition to create a rich sea of sound all of their own. Plangent guitars and soft keyboards sit easily alongside Eno-esque atmospherics and sweeping thematic orchestrations reminiscient of John Barry, with dreamlike vocals woven throughout. As Peter Hammill said: " garnish your head with whatever turns you on", lay back at let the music wash the pain away.
This album is so full, you can find as many influences, direct or tangential, as you care to look for, but you still won't be able to pin it down. Apart from the obvious, I can hear shades of the brighter face of Porcupine Tree, and hints of the sweet voice of Green Gartside. (And the cover art would look splendid on an old 12" gatefold sleeve!) Can't wait to catch them live, or for the next offering.
Never mind your shoes, this is aimed at the stars. Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 11 July 2005
By 
M. Wilson (Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Engineers (Audio CD)
Quite why Engineers aren't as big as Keane or Coldplay is an absolute mystery.
Songs like Forgiveness, Waved On & New Horizons carry a wonderful resonance and I think in years to come this album will be seen as the materpiece it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of 2005 ?, 9 Mar 2005
By 
nicholas elkin (82049 Grosshesselohe Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Engineers (Audio CD)
It's not easy to categorize The Engineers music, but if you're into mellow indie pop this cd is a must, in the vain of Thirteen Senses with beautiful vocals and lovely flowing music, i can only recommend this cd. Mind you it's tough knowing which track to play and in which order as there are too many stand out tracks, just sit back and enjoy one of the best albums to come out in ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sonic cathedrals, 25 Feb 2005
amazing!!album of the year-a must if u own records by talk talk,spiritualized or eno.highlights for me were "new horizons"(shades of brian wilson's 'til i die') and "one in 7"(talk talk gene-spliced with black sabbath)
loveit!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best debut in years, 4 July 2005
This review is from: Engineers (Audio CD)
I don't really know what to say about this album except it is the best debut albumn that I have heard in many years.
The music is very psychadelic and chilled out although I don't personally have to be in a chilled out mood to enjoy this cd. For me the album fits together very well with good songs throughout, none of which I have managed to get bored of yet(and that is after excessive playing).
If you want a cd that is a real treat on the ears then this is definately for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of 2005 ?, 9 Mar 2005
By 
nicholas elkin (82049 Grosshesselohe Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Engineers (Audio CD)
Having only bought this cd yesterday and after constant plays, would like to recommend it. Into Thirteen Senses, maybe Talk Talk you must buy this record, with so much fabricated music around let's hope that quality musicians are rewarded. Wonderful vocals and brilliant musicianship make this a must for all indie/real music fans. BUY..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somthing Different, 7 Mar 2005
This review is from: Engineers (Audio CD)
This album definitely takes a different road to British indie music as we currently know it. This is not a CD of cliched lyrics and predictable guitar riffs. Following the critically acclaimed 'Folly' EP was no easy task but 'Engineers' fits the bill. The album has re-worked versions of 'Forgiveness' and 'Come on in out of the rain' which sound refreshingly different from the originals. Tracks like 'just let's see' verge more towards electonica and folktronica where as 'thrasher' is much more like My Bloody Valentine. Each song is well crafted and multi faceted, their sound is rich and even though the tone is somber each song is calming and uplifting. Although the Engineers may not be at the forefront of a shoegazing revival, they are a pleasant change from the NME norms. Beautifully desolate.
If you like this try: Husky Rescue, Hot chip, and My Bloody Valentine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supremely talented, 14 Aug 2007
By 
S. Jordan "stevej2209" (Warrington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Engineers (Audio CD)
To watch these guys live is a real honour, only then can you really appreciate how they put this music together. Highlight of the show was a solo performance of Forgiveness as the final encore. I'm not reviewing the gig though but it does go some way to showing how memorable and effective this band really are. The album is diverse and anyone that owns Folly will see the progression of their music. New offerings are available through Myspace and I'm sure that their current work will live up to the first fulllength album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen with your feet, 30 Dec 2005
By 
This review is from: Engineers (Audio CD)
This is a massive album - maybe not in sales or hype, but in scope and ambition. Reminiscent of early Verve (when they were epic) and Air at their most blissful, this a music to listen to with your feet up, eyes closed and whatever you need to chill out close at hand. A future classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really solid album, 23 Jun 2005
This review is from: Engineers (Audio CD)
This is a really gorgeous album. The instrumentation is lush and dense and the melodies are soft and infectious.
It seems that they are getting labelled as a 'shoegaze' band -and I suppose there is some of that in there - but really, to me, they sound like classic British rock - like Pink Floyd, like Nick Drake, like Ride, like Talk Talk, like Coldplay.
There's no egos, no shouting to be heard, just solid songs (from the opener Home right through to the closing track One in Seven).
I cannot recommend this album enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Engineers
Engineers by Engineers (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews