Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars15
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2006
Having watched the Young Musician of the Year Competition in 2004 on TV, I felt that it was right that Nicola Benedetti was awarded the prize as she seemed to posess an outstanding musical maturity and understanding that is very rare in someone at the age of 17!
This disc is a great credit to her and all the effort and discipline she has put in to her career so far. The Szymanowski Concerto, which she played in the final of the Young Musician Competition, is a great piece of music that, like the rest of Szymanowski's work, deserves better recognition. She understands the concerto brilliantly and her technique is well suited to it as she plays the stratospheric high phrases incredibly naturally to the extent that alot profesional violinists can only dream of being so comfortable in the higher positions of their instrument!
I saw her at a concert in February of this year (2006) playing the Mozart G major Concerto with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and the thing that strikes you when you see her play is how natural and relaxed she looks with the violin as if the instrument was merely an extension of her body. I strongly recommend you see her live if you get the chance.
The other pieces on the disc are excellent and she is loyally followed by the LSO under Daniel Harding. The 'Play-along' Meditation track is a nice touch if, like me, you're a violinist who can only dream of playing with the LSO!! This is a great disc that is well worth having and the Szymanowski recording is , in my opinion, the best availible.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 December 2005
This is a fine CD. The Szymanowski compares well with versions by very experienced players (as Edward Greenfield's 'Gramophone' review acknowledged). It is atmospheric, full of colour and technically very assured. The pleasantly varied programme gives pleasure throughout, and I think it was appropriate to include a 'playalong' track - the Massenet Meditation - for young players (and older enthusiasts too!) to use. She is a good player and this is a good disc.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2005
I was lucky enough to be at the Usher Hall in Edinburgh when Nicola won the BBC Young Musician of the Year and on this album she easily matches the performance of the Szymanowski Violin Concerto. This is a piece which pulls you in and grabs hold until the gentle finish.
The othe highlight of the album is the Havanaise by Saint Saens, which is played beautifully.
Nicola has a long career ahead of her and I am looking forward to her next recording already. I am so please she has avoided the populist route. BUY THIS ALBUM you will not be disapointed
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
Five BLAZING Stars!! Award-winning Scottish violin prodigy Nicola Benedetti continues her rise in musical maturity and expansiveness with these dazzling 2006 performances. In her debut CD, the teen phenom displays awesome talent, patience, and determination in presenting one of her favorite award-winning programs, among other sterling performances. And she is BRILLIANT. Daniel Harding and the London Symphony Orchestra are no less brilliant in providing stunning support to this rising star. This is truly awe-inspiring, highly introspective music.

The 'Pieces De Resistance' begin with a sensational 10 minute "Havanaise in E for Violin and Orchestra" by Saint-Saens, which allows her to both show off her brilliant technique and produce bowed fireworks. This is followed by a blazing performance of the work which she performed when she won the BBC Young Musician of the Year award, a truly wonderful and complex Szymanowski "Violin Concerto No 1" with breathtaking support from the LSO. Also check out her spectacular 'soliloquies' during Chausson's "Poeme for Violin and Orchestra, Op 25", so exposed and so brilliant. The world premier of "Fragment for the Virgin", written by Sir John Tavener for Nicola is performed so poignantly as she shows her awesome control using the portamento technique. Look up prodigy in the dictionary and you may see "Nicky" pictured there. Highly Recomended! Five BLAZING Stars!!! Trivia: Nicola plays a 1751 Petrus Guarnerius of Venice violin.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
I first heard this lady during the young musician of the year contest which she won'
As soon as i got news of her recordings i set out to collect them.
Magnificent stuff
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
We saw a concert recently and she is a very talented and vivacious performer. This is a lovely CD and I anticipate many happy hours of listening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2011
Nicola Benedetti has to be the inspiration for all musicians who strive to be the best. This CD really shows how versatile Nicola is and many would love to have her feel for a musical instrument.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
Fabulous cd from Scotland'slovely young virtuoso
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
Being enjoyed by a young violinist in Australia
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
I really enjoyed this cd and I always enjoy hearing her playing the violin after I first saw her at Glamis Castle as o soloist.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£12.05
£13.25

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)