Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Day Yesterday, A New Guitarist Today
If you haven't heard Joe - I hadn't until three months ago - then you must do very soon by buying this. Joe is amazing. He embodies all the best aspects of guitar players like Stevie Ray, Jeff Beck, Robben Ford, Eric Clapton [ I said the BEST aspects!] and Rory Gallagher. If you look at his discography on Amazon, you will see that he's been around for a few years, but it...
Published on 4 July 2005 by R. Terry

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only here for the beer?
Joes playing is his magnificent best, I just wish he had chosen a better venue. It sounds like he was playing to a bunch of drunks who seem to be grooving to a different gig. Maybe there was mud wrestling next door. Great music, rubbish recording.
Published 18 months ago by Gi Forks


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Day Yesterday, A New Guitarist Today, 4 July 2005
By 
R. Terry "BlueBoyNG2" (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Day Yesterday: Live (Audio CD)
If you haven't heard Joe - I hadn't until three months ago - then you must do very soon by buying this. Joe is amazing. He embodies all the best aspects of guitar players like Stevie Ray, Jeff Beck, Robben Ford, Eric Clapton [ I said the BEST aspects!] and Rory Gallagher. If you look at his discography on Amazon, you will see that he's been around for a few years, but it was his brief tour of the UK earlier this year that has got him noticed. This album represents the best aspects of his live show, from the blues covers - Rory G, Free, Cream, Jeff Beck- to his own very original excellent compositions. This is pure showmanship at it's best. His guitar work is OUTSTANDING throughout.
Using the word 'covers' is a bit unfair really.When I first listened to this album I didn't look at the track listing, and didn't even realise they were covers straight away. Cradle rock is amazing - it's the first Rory cover I've heard played by anyone from across the pond. And when did you last hear a Free cover that wasn't Alright Now? We also have a short drum solo and a bass solo and a lot of light and shade throughout. It is pure rock and roll show from start to finish, and the pace doesn't let up.
This is well worth the money - give it a go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Live.........and very animated!, 14 Mar 2007
By 
J. M. Green "john94682" (Sutton Coldfield) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Day Yesterday: Live (Audio CD)
So, a couple of questions: Do you like great, live, guitar driven music? Do you like to rock? Yes?.......then GET THIS!

This man, Mr Bonamassa, was born to play live, just pity his poor mother having to get the Les Paul out too! Frenetic stuff from start to finish, it is an incessant barrage of great, driving rock and blues when you just wished that you could have been there on the day to witness it all in the flesh.

Joe has evidently been influenced by much during his tender years and, indeed has taken on board a lot from this side of the pond too. Evidence his rendition of Cradle Rock - apart from Rory Gallagher - name me any other guitarist who has attempted to knock this one out - and knock you out he does! Very, very entertaining and high quality too, just the sort of thing to broadcast to the world, and it doesn't stop there....not a single bummer on the album, the choice of material is wide as it is varied and showcases this guitarist to the max.

Just BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smokin' Joe, 3 Mar 2006
By 
Bluesdriver (Solihull, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A New Day Yesterday (Audio CD)
If you've ever listened to any rock music from the seventies, you won't find anything surprising here, because so has Joe Bonamassa - and he loves it. Apart from the covers of A New Day Yesterday, Cradle Rock and Steppin' Out, he quotes licks from, among others, Strange Brew and Won't Get Fooled Again. Imagine Cream if they'd formed post-Led Zep, or Rory Gallagher with a full range of distortion pedals and you'll come pretty close to the sound Joe conjures up. And despite being derivative, what a glorious sound it is. Here are eleven full-on heavy blues tunes each tooled-up with a screaming guitar solo. I'm not sure he adds much to the classics he covers; they tend to lose a little of their suppleness and subtlety in his hands, but otherwise this is a rollercoaster ride of an album. Stand out tracks are Walk in My Shadows, Trouble Waiting, If Heartaches were Nickels and the storming closer, Don't Burn Down That Bridge. It's worth noting that this is the live album, not the studio version, and there's not a wasted second on it, even though many of the crowd seem to have been there to whoop and holler rather than listen to the music. This is knock-down drag-out guitarslinging of the finest kind. Highly addictive and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only here for the beer?, 29 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Day Yesterday (Audio CD)
Joes playing is his magnificent best, I just wish he had chosen a better venue. It sounds like he was playing to a bunch of drunks who seem to be grooving to a different gig. Maybe there was mud wrestling next door. Great music, rubbish recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New day yesterday - live, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Day Yesterday (Audio CD)
Well, if I was impressed by the studio album - this live version of "A new day yesterday" is even better - fantastic stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early Joe but still the master shines through, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Day Yesterday: Live (Audio CD)
This is one excellent guitarist who is shown at his best in live CDs. This feels unpolished and because of that you get the live feel and all the excitement of his music. This man is probably the best guitarist around today. He is versitile and has a unigue style that demands you listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe B is 'god' ..., 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Day Yesterday: Live (Audio CD)
Wow, what a stunning album !!!

Each track is a classic, the sound is stunning, and the whole quality of the live performance shines through.

Anybody who claims to like guitar-driven blues-rock MUST add this to their collection. This will always be in my top ten CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Too hot to Handle..., 24 Dec 2008
By 
Rafal Szafran (London, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Day Yesterday: Live (Audio CD)
This live set was released as a dvd to accompany his second release, So It's Like That, which I think is brilliant, but overlooked. Anyway, the dvd show was magnificent. I prefer this live set to Nowhere in Particular from earlier this year. Joe seems hungrier to make the crowd realize who he is and his playing is more adventurous, or so it seems. Several years younger and playing with more raw power. It is a shame that there were several other songs that did not make the cut for the cd, including a great version of Are you Experienced and an absolute killer version of Had to Cry Today. As I mentioned previously, the dvd was included with the cd, I am sure that it was a limited edition release and that the So It's Like That cd does no longer include the dvd of this show. If you can find one, snap it up, great show and lengthy.
Turn It Up!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Full of Raw Energy, 7 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Day Yesterday: Live (Audio CD)
Early Bonamassa "live" as "Joe" rips through songs taking some cover songs to the cleaners, full of passionate guitar playing, and giving a great live show. Besides the originals there's a particular excellent version of "Jethro Tull " song " New day yesterday over 8mins long.One for the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joe Bonamassa, 10 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Day Yesterday: Live (Audio CD)
I'd never been into blues, but that changed when I saw Joe live. Joe's combination of blues and rock is so refreshing that it mesmerizes you from the very first moment. A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A New Day Yesterday
A New Day Yesterday by Joe Bonamassa (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews