Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great that you can still get these!
Very nice discs, high quality product. So happy that you can still get these.
Minidisk works for me and I see no reason to use anything else.

Why Sony stopped making recorders is beyond me. Especially when I saw a Sony mini-system in the supermarket this morning which had a cassette deck, can you believe.

The casing of the discs is made from...
Published 11 months ago by din

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars All these good reviews - why did these not work for me
All these good reviews - why did these not work for me ? My Sony unit was recording ok until using these recently. First three discs seemed to record ok but played back with spasmodic gaps; most of track 1 missing; and one disc would not play anything. Very odd. Have checked recording using an old disc and works ok. Judging by other reviews may be I had a bad batch.
Published 2 months ago by PHILIP RUNDLE


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great that you can still get these!, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Neige 80 minute blank minidisc 10 disc pack (Electronics)
Very nice discs, high quality product. So happy that you can still get these.
Minidisk works for me and I see no reason to use anything else.

Why Sony stopped making recorders is beyond me. Especially when I saw a Sony mini-system in the supermarket this morning which had a cassette deck, can you believe.

The casing of the discs is made from fully transparent plastic, so you can see the disc inside.
The storage cases are from a softer plastic, that is 'frosted'. Very nice to the touch and you can still read labels through them.

The supplied labels are more than sufficient. Each disc comes with a pair of small labels and a pair of large labels. The large labels will cover most of the disc inside, but you can write more details. The small labels come in a blank version and one with dotted lines.
The large labels come with dotted lines in close and larger line spacing. There's also three of those rather useless tiny long labels that go on the side of the disc. Plenty for your labeling needs!

The seller is a very friendly guy from Japan that imports these directly into the UK. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much prefer these:), 12 July 2012
By 
Radiojock (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Neige 80 minute blank minidisc 10 disc pack (Electronics)
They're a few quid more expensive than another well-known brand I used to buy, but the sound quality is lovely. I use them to record radio progs and have never come across a problem with them. And, of course, they're Sony! All the MD player/recorders I use are Sony, so match 'em up is what I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not really budget, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Neige 80 minute blank minidisc 10 disc pack (Electronics)
Some consider these as more of a budget MiniDisc blank, but results belie that. There isn't a great deal of difference between the different makes of MD blank available, and all of the Sony products provide high quality. There are currently fewer and fewer MD blanks available and, with the final demise of Sony's MD hardware, these will undoubtedly become even more scarce over time. Get 'em while you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supeb quality, aesthetic looks!, 10 Mar 2010
This review is from: Sony Neige 80 minute blank minidisc 10 disc pack (Electronics)
For those who fell in love with MDs in favour of MP3s and ipods, these are must have mini-discs. They incorporate Sony's quality (as Sony used to produce really nice stuff in the old days unlike today) and aesthetic looks with a transparent casing (hence the name "snow").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain, 10 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Neige 80 minute blank minidisc 10 disc pack (Electronics)
These are a bargain for the music lover who bought into minidisc. Crystal clear sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Minidisc - my preferred medium for compact high quality recording, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Neige 80 minute blank minidisc 10 disc pack (Electronics)
Over many years I've used different branded minidisc media. Where I've bought packs of 10 or more, I've often found a disk that my recorders won't record. I've now been buying ONLY the Sony Neige brand for several years and have never had a faulty disc. I'm not a heavy user, using a little over two discs per month. Recently, orders (via Amazon) appear to have come direct from Japan but with no apparent delay in delivery time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the job!, 24 Feb 2009
This review is from: Sony Neige 80 minute blank minidisc 10 disc pack (Electronics)
For those of us who went down the route of minidisk, mistakenly thinking that an infinite number of minidisks makes more sense than a finite amout of disk space, Amazon remains one of the few places on the planet where we can still purchase said media. Suffice to say it's always better to buy big brand media rather than tatty generic. (An opinion that has been proved right year after year.) You can't get much better than the big S themselves. (Possible TDK!). They are just the thing for our ever widening radio-play collection (Radio 7 rules ok!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Service, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Neige 80 minute blank minidisc 10 disc pack (Electronics)
After ordering a pack of these Sony Minidiscs I got an email from the MD of the seller company from Japan, thanking me for my order, and it didn't seem to be a standard email ! What a wonderful personal service !

These discs work great on my Minidisc player, I have two different models made by Sony, and have only tried these discs on the older machine, and they sound really good. The newer minidisc machine should sound even better due to the later ATRAC version used. Minidisc is a very under-rated audio format system, and blows MP3 files out of the water for quality, even when you use the highest mp3 resolution at 320 kbps. Of course, you can record mp3 files onto these minidiscs too, and they will sound fine, but never as good as from vinyl or CD, as mp3's throw so much of the data away as compared to the other formats. OK, Minidisc is a lossy format too, but much cleverer design via Sony than mp3 files. which are pretty awful by comparison.

I may well order another pack of these Minidiscs in due course. I have never had a minidisc fail on me over the years, when making a recording or playing back, but cannot say the same for recordable CD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear Winner The Sony Niege, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Neige 80 minute blank minidisc 10 disc pack (Electronics)
Sony were the innovators with Mini Disks and after nearly 20 years it is great to still be able to buy blank recordable disks built to their exacting standards.
These transparent disks are still state of the art for many MD fans and they give excellent sound quality.
The latest supplies from Japan are fully up to any earlier Sony disks and seem more "musical" than some current alternative manufacturers.
These Sony Niege disks represent very good value for audio recording at just over £1 per hour at standard speed for music recording ( 50p or 25 p per hour at LP2 or LP4 - 2 or 4 times standard speed - for conversational voice recording, plays etc.).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original Sony Mini Discs, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Neige 80 minute blank minidisc 10 disc pack (Electronics)
Still available and at a great price, these little digital discs are still a great way to record from vinyl for digital playback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews