Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a dance epidemic... baby!
Electric Six are back with their second main-stream album and it's as good as... if not better... than fire. It is more of an up-tempo album than Fire and more political. The opening track "Rock and Roll Evacuation" starts as the album means to go on and is potential single number one. "Devil Nights" and "Bite Me" continue the catchiness("Bite Me" being the second...
Published on 15 Feb. 2005

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Killer, No Filler
Complete with a brand new evil generation, Electric Six are back with new opus "Senor Smoke" -- their successor to their top debut album "Fire". It has been two years since my friends first started screaming that they wanted to "take me to a gay bar". Although flattered, I must confess I hadn't the slightest clue what they were on about at first, but the disco stylings of...
Published on 19 April 2005 by disco_daveuk


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a dance epidemic... baby!, 15 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Senor Smoke (Audio CD)
Electric Six are back with their second main-stream album and it's as good as... if not better... than fire. It is more of an up-tempo album than Fire and more political. The opening track "Rock and Roll Evacuation" starts as the album means to go on and is potential single number one. "Devil Nights" and "Bite Me" continue the catchiness("Bite Me" being the second potential single). "Jimmy Carter" is a political ballad. "Dance Epidemic" is a slower version of what is most likely their next single from this album but both versions are great. We've already had the rockier "Radio Ga Ga" Queen cover and the novelty download-only "Vibrator", both excellent tracks. The next songs continue the catchiness of this album, with "Be my dark angel" being a stand out track. The album ends with the excellent "Future Is In The Future", an uptempo song with a catchy chorus.
Ignore the critics and buy this album - it's fantastic. All the songs are classic air-guitar songs that you can sing-a-long to and like Fire are all great songs. It's one of only a few albums that you can truly say there is no filler on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Senor Smoke - A Scorcher!, 27 Feb. 2005
By 
This review is from: Senor Smoke (Audio CD)
Dick Valentine and his band Electric Six are back with a scorcher of a second album, Senor Smoke.
Packed with 'singles' potential, Senor Smoke is a must to have in your CD collection. Recent release, Radio Ga Ga, and download only release, Vibrator, just don't do real justice to the album, and nowhere near touch on the rest of the explosive catchy tracks delivered with Mr Valentine's superb vocals.
The album bursts in to life with Rock And Roll Evacuation, and continues as it means to go on with a great mix of rock, disco funk and electro mayhem.
Including the opening track, other personal favourites are Be My Dark Angel, Dance Epidemic, Bite Me, Future Boys, Boy Or Girl? and Devil Nights. Followed closely by Future Is In The Future and Dance A Thon 2005. Jimmy Carter is a slow acoustic track, and on first hearing I was unsure about it, however, after listening to it again it really does grow on you. The Pleasing Interlude's 1 and 2 typify Mr Valentine's wry sense of humour. However, the only track that I don't really like is Taxi To Nowhere, (I believe that it was written back when E6 were The Wildbunch).
Senor Smoke is a cracking album. So go on immerse yourself in some really great music. Buy today, or regret it tomorrow! The album won't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as great as FIRE!, 1 Feb. 2005
By 
Adam Corcovilos "jediwookee" (Seminole, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Senor Smoke (Audio CD)
I was a huge fan of their album, Fire! and I was astonished to see that this album was comming out in the UK and not in the States, but I got to listen to it, and I was just as blown away as I was with their last album. They did a great job giving tribute to Queen with their cover of "Radio Ga Ga", and the catchy "Dance Epidemic" will keep you dancing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a dance epidemic!, 3 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Senor Smoke (Audio CD)
After nearly a year, Electric Six's second mainstream album finally gets a release in North America. Though slated by the critics in the UK, this is truly a fantastic album without any duff tracks. The album kicks off with the political track 'Rock and Roll Evacuation' and follows on with the disco-infused 'Devil Nights'. 'Bite Me', the third track, is a definite crowd-pleaser and 'Jimmy Carter' is their first true ballad, offering something different. 'Dance epidemic' is the star track on the title and deserves to win awards. 'Future Boys' and 'Dance-a-thon 2005' (slightly out of date now!) are followed by the fantastic three tracks of 'Be my dark angel', 'vibrator' and 'boy or girl?'. Their excellent cover of Queen track 'Radio Ga Ga', gentle piano ballad 'Taxi to nowhere' and the haunting 'future is in the future' bring the album to a close.
Ignore the critics and buy this album. You won't regret it. The best album of 2005... and now 2006!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Killer, No Filler, 19 April 2005
By 
disco_daveuk (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Senor Smoke (Audio CD)
Complete with a brand new evil generation, Electric Six are back with new opus "Senor Smoke" -- their successor to their top debut album "Fire". It has been two years since my friends first started screaming that they wanted to "take me to a gay bar". Although flattered, I must confess I hadn't the slightest clue what they were on about at first, but the disco stylings of Electric Six finally found me, and most of the nation.
With the chart success of "Gay Bar" and "Danger! High Voltage" in mind, there is a definite fear when approaching this release that they may simply try to rehash past triumphs. So many acts seem content to continually stock the industry conveyer belt with albums comprised of one truly original single and a plethora of filler, which makes "Senor Smoke" such a refreshing listen. Although this is unlikely to win any awards for artistry, it reflects a progression within the band that seemed wholly unlikely.
Electric Six haven't abandoned the disco funk that got them known, but have unlocked a willingness to push the boundaries of their music, here taking a darker and more macabre route to the charts with a variety of left-field turns. "Vibrator", the first track lifted from the album, is a slightly lifeless choice of a single though it jangles along with enough joyous enthusiasm to keep you interested, happily emphasizing the humour at the root of the band. "Devil Nights", on the other hand, is a supreme trip through acid infused pop funk, front-man Dick Valentine proclaiming it is "unlike anything we've ever done before."
On the whole, the album lacks any clearly defined singles but is propped up by a distinct lack of filler, almost every track maintaining a decent standard worth your time. There is also a great little gift from the band, aimed at their older fans but ready to be loved by all... a rather infectious and downright amazing cover of Queen's "Radio GaGa", that alone is cause to get excited and although you won't be sent into orbit by "Senor Smoke", you may still get a bit of sun stroke. No killer, but no filler!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same great music..., 19 Jan. 2014
By 
A KERSHAW (Horsham, West sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Senor Smoke (Audio CD)
I recently heard fire high voltage on the radio and finally found out the band electric six had done it.Ever since then i have been hooked bought the first album "fire" and really liked it. Then i bought this the second album and found i loved this album even more ! which contains a great cover of queens "radio ga ga " i really recommend you buy it if you already have the first album.You really won't regret it !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Warner I hate you!, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Senor Smoke (Audio CD)
I'm sorry, I attribute the negative vote only in the choices of Warner / Rhino to make it impossible to transfer the CD to my lap top and consequently to my i-pod!
Amazon should notify the customers of this feature when we buy the cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electric Six are back with their second album..., 25 Jan. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Senor Smoke (Audio CD)
Electric Six are back with the follow up to their excellent debut 'Fire'. The album consists of 13 tracks and 2 interludes and includes the recent top 40 single 'Radio Ga Ga' (a rockier, up-tempo version of the Queen classic), 'Vibrator' (a download single from October 2003, in a similar party style to 'Gay Bar') and 'Taxi to Nowhere', a classic track from when they were still known as the 'Wildbunch'. Another stand out track is 'Dance Epidemic' which follows in the same style as the disco-style 'Danger! High Voltage!' from the first album. The full track listing is as follows: Rock & Roll Evacuation; Devil Nights; Bite Me; Jimmy Carter; Pleasing Interlude Number 1; Dance Epidemic; Future Boys; Dance-a-Thon 2005; Be My Dark Angel; Vibrator; Boy or Girl; Pleasing Interlude Number 2; Radio Ga Ga; Taxi To Nowhere; Future Is In The Future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No Imposter !!, 7 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Senor Smoke (Audio CD)
After playing this a few times I'm inclined to think its every bit as good as Fire. It's certainly given my mate and I more great lyrics to quote at work .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Electric Six are funny, rocky and funky, 4 Nov. 2013
By 
K. Foad (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Senor Smoke (Audio CD)
An early album but just as much fun as their first and more recent albums.

If you like Electric Six, this needs to be in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Senor Smoke
Senor Smoke by Electric Six (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews