Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must see" film.
There is much negative feeling about Britain's Moslem community, more so perhaps in recent years, following the events of 9/11. The events of that day are the starting point for what happens in this film, where one Manchester family is is radicalised by the consequences of the implementation of the 'Prevention of Terrorism' Act. The central character, Yasmin, is a young...
Published on 2 Aug 2010 by R. C. James

versus
1 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ********** SILLY FILM - WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY ***************
I saw this film on TV and frankly it is silly and waste of time. Pure fiction trying to address real issues.

Don't waste your money; give it to a charity if you must.
Published on 13 Feb 2008 by Nazia Alibhai-Brown


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must see" film., 2 Aug 2010
By 
R. C. James (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yasmin [DVD] (DVD)
There is much negative feeling about Britain's Moslem community, more so perhaps in recent years, following the events of 9/11. The events of that day are the starting point for what happens in this film, where one Manchester family is is radicalised by the consequences of the implementation of the 'Prevention of Terrorism' Act. The central character, Yasmin, is a young woman essentially leading a double life; living a seemingly obedient Islamic life at home with her widowed father and brother, but regularly discarding it to also live a westernised life outside it. This begins to change when the family fall victim to the activities of the local police when their home is raided by them as part of an anti-terrorist sweep of the area in which they live. What follows is a disgrace; the police behaviour and attitude towards the Moslem community beggars belief and made me, a non-Asian and non-Moslem, both embarrassed and angry at what is supposed to be British justice. If the detail in the film has any accuracy at all, I can now begin to understand what motivates people to want to fight back, by whatever means they can. After five years away from the mosque, Yasmin returns to a more traditional Islamic lifestyle; her brother leaves the UK for Pakistan and, presumably, a terrorist training camp; the poor father left totally bemused by the events going on around him.
The film is superbly made, the acting is first class, and the film itself deserves a wider audience that it has probably had to date. If you want some insight in to what living as a Moslem and Asian in the UK is really like then watch this film, but beware, if watched with an open mind it will change your outlook too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Convincing acting, somewhat disappointing story, 2 Mar 2005
This review is from: Yasmin [DVD] (DVD)
Yasmin is a self-sufficient, assertive young woman, the daughter of Muslim Pakistani parents. Trying to lead the life of a mainstream British person at least on the outside, she relinquishes the hijab for modern clothes before she arrives to work, drives her own little convertible car, bought with her own money, and even dares stand up to her father. After September 11, she begins to feel a target of anti-Muslim sentiment, and some events beyond her control paradoxically lead her to a reconciliation with her religion. Archie Panjabi is utterly convincing in the lead role, and the movie is mainly worth watching for her performance. One feels an accumulating sympathy for her character. There is almost a documentary feel to the film, which tries to stay clear of taking political sides. I was somewhat disappointed with the story line, as in the latter part of the film the script seems to have given up on the idea of the protagonist's self-assertiveness, and while representing her as reconciled with both Islam and her father,the script just leaves her a much weaker woman than she was before. The film is too short both to properly consider how Yasmin would contine to function in the British social context, as well as to develop the character of Yasmin's brother, who goes off to join the war against the West.
As far as the technical side of the DVD is concerned, there is nothing to impress. The cast interviews are not proper interviews, but just a few printed pages that the viewer is to read onscreen. I found that disappointing, as I was looking forward to hearing Archie Panjabi talk about her character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great study in social realism, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yasmin [DVD] (DVD)
Well acted, well told and well shot; about time we had story-lines like this; I've taught it to my media and film class for several years now and it always inspires thoughtful responses. I like the lingering shorts of the locals around the neighbourhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow delivery, good condition, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yasmin [DVD] (DVD)
If I remember right, delivery was slow. But it's a great, little film and I love Archie Panjabi. It's pretty short though and it would have been better if you actually saw Archie in the interview but you just have to read it. It arrived in great condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Mar 2010
By 
K. Elvain "fan review" (Colorado) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yasmin [DVD] (DVD)
A great story and Archie Panjabi was wonderful. Highly recommend the film. It gives insite into the struggles that minorities face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply brilliant, 7 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Yasmin [DVD] (DVD)
it is importnat to stand back from Hollywood from time to time and touch base with the real world. Beaufoy has achieved a superb portrayal of a real world for some, to the point where I felt I was intruding. He takes the veil off British Muslim women and reveals a world of community, family and loyalty. It is the sort of film that writers need to study and stand back and learn from. It is also deeply moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD FILM, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yasmin [DVD] (DVD)
We couldn't say it is a master piece but it is a very illustrative film about the psycosis some events created in Western societies just a very few years ago. The performance of Archie Panjabi is really good and the one played by Syed Ahmed too. By the way, I wonder why we have only seen these two great actors in such a very little amount of productions. We can remark their performances in "East Is East" and "Bradford Riots" but I don't remember any other film with them. What a pity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film but too short, 5 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yasmin [DVD] (DVD)
Seen this DVD on Amazon and had never heard of it before. Bought and watched it and then was disappointed with the length. The main actress was in East is East and she is very good in both films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Archie Panjabi Excells!, 4 Feb 2009
By 
N. Forbes "Niky 88" (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yasmin [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this a couple of months back and all i can say is I wasnt dissapointed!The story is shown through the eyes of Yasmin who is played by the fantastic Archie Panjabi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ********** SILLY FILM - WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY ***************, 13 Feb 2008
This review is from: Yasmin [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film on TV and frankly it is silly and waste of time. Pure fiction trying to address real issues.

Don't waste your money; give it to a charity if you must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yasmin [DVD]
Yasmin [DVD] by Kenny Glenaan (DVD - 2005)
£6.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews