Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kirsty-licious!
Kirsty MacColl's adventurousness led her to explore folk, rock, country, dance, Latin, and even hip hop music during an all-too-brief, largely unheralded career. This video collection contains an eclectic, representative selection of songs ranging from early work with the Pogues to her later fascination with Latin musical forms.
And the cinematic qualities of her...
Published on 19 Oct. 2005 by Dennis Petticoffer

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Was happy till I tryed to play DVD
I got what was to be Region 1 but will not play on any of the players I have put it in, so can't give more then one star to it.

I may have goten the wrong Region sent to me.
Published on 4 July 2010 by rainbowhead


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kirsty-licious!, 19 Oct. 2005
By 
Dennis Petticoffer (Orange, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kirsty MacColl: From Croydon To Cuba - the Videos [DVD] (DVD)
Kirsty MacColl's adventurousness led her to explore folk, rock, country, dance, Latin, and even hip hop music during an all-too-brief, largely unheralded career. This video collection contains an eclectic, representative selection of songs ranging from early work with the Pogues to her later fascination with Latin musical forms.
And the cinematic qualities of her lyrics are perfectly suited to video portrayal, acting as mini-soap operas. Not all the offerings in this collection are winners, but most are entertaining, since they feature many of MacColl's finest songs. The disk also contains a brief photo gallery and DVD-ROM section featuring memorabilia, hand written lyrics and web links.
For fans in the States, the only negative is that this DVD is in PAL format. While it may not run on most American DVD players, it should work flawlessly on the DVD drives of most PC's. It works fine on my 2-year-old iBook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kirsty at her best, 28 Jan. 2010
By 
M. Abel (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kirsty MacColl: From Croydon To Cuba - the Videos [DVD] (DVD)
A fantastic collection of all the videos to some of Kirsty's most wonderful songs. The songs are always great and seeing her actually singing them on screen is brilliant. 15 gems from a talent gone too soon, and a must-have for any fan. Buy this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kirsty macoll, 2 May 2012
By 
R. F. Mccarthy "mackeron" (liverpool uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kirsty MacColl: From Croydon To Cuba - the Videos [DVD] (DVD)
If you are a fan of kirsty, then this is for you, kirsty was a great artist, witty, and made a lot of wonderful, clever, songs . She was unique, so is so much missed, some of her songs have gone on to be classics, I personally watched this dvd from start to finish, I was enthralled, every track is great, there are no dull ones,I'm biased cause I love her anyway, but this dvd is definitive.

RIP Kirsty you were special
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars KIRSTY MACCOLL DVD -FROM CROYDEN TO CUBA, 19 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kirsty MacColl: From Croydon To Cuba - the Videos [DVD] (DVD)
Great dvd- very underated singer in fine voice and varied selection of her songs. Only 1 complaint- Theres a guy down the fish shop swears hes Elvis -not on dvd ! Very sad she died so young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kirsty MacColl: From Croydon to Cuba - the Videos (DVD), 23 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kirsty MacColl: From Croydon To Cuba - the Videos [DVD] (DVD)
An amazing collection. It is great to be able to see Kirsty animated. It is as though we still have her here with us. The title sums up her journey in life and music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Was happy till I tryed to play DVD, 4 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kirsty MacColl: From Croydon To Cuba - the Videos [DVD] (DVD)
I got what was to be Region 1 but will not play on any of the players I have put it in, so can't give more then one star to it.

I may have goten the wrong Region sent to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kirsty MacColl: From Croydon To Cuba - the Videos [DVD]
Used & New from: £18.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews