Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic only because it was a first
Tomatoes gone wild consuming unsuspecting humans. Can our government find a solution before it is too late? And will that solution be worse than the red minus?

This is a high budget film but they pocketed most of the money so it would not be pretentious. It was filmed in San Diego, California; this will soon become the location of the avocado jungle of death...
Published on 22 Nov 2007 by bernie

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Look again ....It's not blood, it's tomato juice!"
Some cult films achieve legendary status for being 'so bad it's good', and others because they are gems of films which slipped under the radar of mainstream audiences. Despite sequels, spin off video games and an animated series which was quite popular in the '90s, this late '70s B-movie is still relatively unknown. It would be unfair to call it a bad film, it actually...
Published on 16 Jun 2011 by @GeekZilla9000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Look again ....It's not blood, it's tomato juice!", 16 Jun 2011
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Attack of the Killer Tomatoes [DVD] (DVD)
Some cult films achieve legendary status for being 'so bad it's good', and others because they are gems of films which slipped under the radar of mainstream audiences. Despite sequels, spin off video games and an animated series which was quite popular in the '90s, this late '70s B-movie is still relatively unknown. It would be unfair to call it a bad film, it actually contains some absolutely brilliant comedy moments and the deadpan delivery pre-dates the more popular "Airplane!" by a couple of years.

The premise is simple - tomatoes for a reason only hinted at towards the beginning of the film, are attacking everything around them and threatening humanity. The first tomato attack occurs before the main opening titles roll when we see a screaming woman recoil in sheer terror as a tomato bounces out of the sink and rolls towards her - it's a great tongue in cheek moment which sets the tone for the rest of the film. A series of ridiculous tomato related deaths soon follow, each one is brilliantly absurd and we never actually see the attack, just the sound effect of a tomato in full frenzy and perhaps the reaction of a screeching onlooker. There are pop culture references here with nods to Superman and one of the best Jaws spoofs ever when swimmers are 'attacked' by the least threatening looking tomatoes ever seen, bobbing around in the water.

For the first half of the film the script is genuinely brilliant, it is full of throwaway jokes and there are visual gags aplenty, some are quite subtle ("Steroids" breakfast cereal) but some are more obvious such as the improbably small meeting room where several officials meet to discuss how to deal with the tomato threat. Probably the best running joke in the film is the obviously dubbed Japanese scientist, a great parody of the bad seventies American dubs of Japanese films.

The second half of the film is less impressive and it does start to look as though the whole thing is running out of steam. A genius spoof of the B-movie genre turns into what it was satirising in the first place. The film contains musical numbers, and although they are amusing to start with, the novelty soon wears off.

In a nutshell: The first 45 minutes of this film represents some of the finest film comedy I've seen - silly literal humour which has been done since in better known films, but still not necessarily better than you see here. Attack Of The Killer Tomatoes sets up a completely implausible set of circumstances and commits to it for the duration of the film, if the quality of the humour was maintained into the second half then this would be an easy 5 star film, but you start to lose interest and find yourself hoping that the man versus tomato battle ends swiftly, one way or another.

It has to be said though that you're not likely to see another film where a tomato takes down a helicopter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic only because it was a first, 22 Nov 2007
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Attack of the Killer Tomatoes [DVD] (DVD)
Tomatoes gone wild consuming unsuspecting humans. Can our government find a solution before it is too late? And will that solution be worse than the red minus?

This is a high budget film but they pocketed most of the money so it would not be pretentious. It was filmed in San Diego, California; this will soon become the location of the avocado jungle of death. Many great actors wanted to play the main parts but they were turned down so that they would not out shine the tomatoes; David Miller got the position of Mason Dixon

This film is so innovative that you will see the themes used over again in many movies to come such as "Mars Attacks." Notice how real the media interviews are; they look just like what you see on TV News today, as they brow beat the victim. And how many times have you see the use of sophisticated music to squelch the savage beasts?

While watching this film a co-watcher took advantage of the situation and snuck up behind to roll tomatoes past me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Source Material!, 29 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. P. Bestall "PaulieB" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Attack of the Killer Tomatoes [DVD] (DVD)
This has to be one of the best B Movies of the 70's, a dumb daft film that invented a whole new genre of horror, Killer Fruit.

Featuring some extremely poor special effects, diabolical scripting and George Clooney's first feature film appearance, AOTKT, is must for any collector of bad films.

If you like the Man with Two Brains, King Kong Lives, The Killer Shrews or Night of the Lepus, you need to add this film to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Anyone for salad, 28 Mar 2014
By 
D. Laidlaw "nrg jockey" (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack of the Killer Tomatoes [DVD] (DVD)
This is not usually my sort of film but it's quite an amusing concept.It's a fun romp with large explosive tomatoes taking revenge on the human race. It's seriously tongue in cheek and there's nothing to offend but if you are in the mood for someting really odd this is the one to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic. B, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack of the Killer Tomatoes [DVD] (DVD)
Taken in context as a classic B movie cult classic, this is entertaining in a Cheddar cheesey way. Grab the popcorn and go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OMG - a freakin tomato is attacking me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 5 July 2011
By 
Jackiesmackie "Independently Different" (UK, Blackburn) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Attack of the Killer Tomatoes [DVD] (DVD)
There is only one reason to watch this film - it is down on record as being one of the worst films ever made...ever! With a budget that probably matches that of your weekly shop this cult movie makes you stop and think about what life would be like if the world was to end tomorrow, at the hands of mere tomatoes. I almost wet myself by the sheer wrongness of it, the worse it is the more you laugh. I wonder if that's where the genius lies?

5 stars - so bad it's good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A classic only because it was a first, 13 Oct 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Tomatoes gone wild consuming unsuspecting humans. Can our government find a solution before it is too late? And will that solution be worse than the red minus?

This is a high budget film but they pocketed most of the money so it would not be pretentious. It was filmed in San Diego, California; this will soon become the location of the avocado jungle of death. Many great actors wanted to play the main parts but they were turned down so that they would not out shine the tomatoes; David Miller got the position of Mason Dixon

This film is so innovative that you will see the themes used over again in many movies to come such as "Mars Attacks." Notice how real the media interviews are; they look just like what you see on TV News today, as they brow beat the victim. And how many times have you see the use of sophisticated music to squelch the savage beasts?

While watching this film a co-watcher took advantage of the situation and snuck up behind to roll tomatoes past me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great cult B-movie, 4 Mar 2001
By A Customer
this is the great cult b-movie!! you can`t see how much they were serious to make this movie.Cheap Make-up,special effects,acting,,, but they seem to be serious. it is,,,well,parody of "The Birs". The Tomatoes attacks people insted of the birds. I think I can say this is very much like American B-movie,I mean it could not be made by British people.I mean,it is just an American humor and nothing like British humor i guess. Anyway,if you like B-movie,stupid movie,buy it to add for your collection of B-Movie. by the way,there are Director`s cut of this movie,but I recommend this original version better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars birthday gift, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered it with his birthday money because he was crazy about killer tomatoes but now he hates this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attack Of The Killer Tomatoes [DVD] [1977], 12 Aug 2010
This review is from: Attack of the Killer Tomatoes [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched the cartoons as a kid and hearing about the cult status of these films, I thought I'd give the first movie a watch.
I like just about every film there is for whatever reason or thing in there and this is no exception. This movie has funny moments and quirky moments but do not be fooled, this comedy horror is no Evil Dead II.

Aside from the funny sit-around-a-table-and-discuss-the-problem scene, the Superman reference, the dress-up-as-a-tomato scene and the guy with the parachute, there isn't a lot in there that your casual viewer will appreciate, god knows why, but people are like that.

This is a film worth having and keeping though probably not worth displaying infront of Star Wars, Indy or Lord of the Rings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Attack of the Killer Tomatoes [DVD]
Attack of the Killer Tomatoes [DVD] by John de Bello (DVD - 2005)
27.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews